We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every dollar.”
Review of The Gong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Gong
Ranked #11 of 40 Pecatu B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worth every dollar.”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This hotel is really well located (despite what Google Maps was telling us - it is just around the corner from Blue Point Villas, Uluwatu), the staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was comfortable, and the food was great.

I wouldn't recommend it for a couples weekend away but if you are travelling alone or with a group then The Gong is awesome. Perfect for a surfing holiday - excellent value for money!

Room Tip: Friends stayed in the upstairs rooms and they said the beds were more comfortable up there. Also, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlynj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    22
    17
    7
    1
See reviews for
8
29
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The Gong is very nice with clean, cute and simple rooms. Perfect for low budget. Uluwatu beach and Padang Padang beach are a few minute motorcycle drive away.also the famous Pura Uluwatu temple is around. The Gong has a pool. Shower has cold water only.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna-Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

Only stayed one night, but nice guest house with pool. 10 minutes to beach and temple.

Good location for surfers, wifi is strong. Family is nice.

Only cold shower and fan, but I didn't mind.

Would stay there again, if you stay longer definitely rent a scooter! Very convenient.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timbel44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernie, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Good little cheap hotel near the surf ideal for surfers. The grounds are immaculate and well looked after as is the pool area and pool. The only thing I would have to say is don't stay here if you are after anything above a 2 star hotel as it is not that at all its just cheap, good location and friendly staff. The rooms are a little run down and don't expect a hot shower as most cheap places in Bali don't have hot water. Near a few good restaurants and the one around the corner upstairs of the mini mart has a great view and they do an awesome pizza.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shara May L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

The Gong is close to the surf break at Ulu Watu, and a friendly, happy place to stay.Staff all excellent people. Fan was enough to cool room down. Food was good, also pool. Only stayed a few days as planned, but if you are surfing and staying longer, it would be ideal. Free WiFi worked well. Transport onwards organised by The Gong was reasonable rate and good driver.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2013

the best place i could find in uluwatu!
the familie is so sweet and caring. stayed there for 10 days! when me and my friends left for a party the owner would come say goodbye and tell not to drink and drive! t
its a good place to travel solo because you meet a lot of nice people but is also a nice plays for families.
wifi works good swimming pool perfect and nice clean rooms! loved it! i will defently come back

Room Tip: the rooms in tha back (the old builing the call it) are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maximekater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed at The Gong as a group of 8. It's is a very welcoming resort. It rained ALOT while we were there and the main reception/restaurant area was basically a flood area but the owners were ever patient and calm and couldn't do enough to help us. Our rooms were dry though. The rooms didn't have a/c but the breeze and fans kind of helped.
The pool area is excellent and the bar is very close. The owners will come out and ask what you need and happily bring it to you.
All in all it was the service that was the real winner. Good food and great drinks. I recommend the 'Suckling Pig'.
Hopefully next time we go the rooms will have a/c and perhaps a bit of a revamp.
Stay here if you have a low budget, don't care much about the rooms but expect lovely hosts and nice food.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Theunkovichs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pecatu
1.2 mi away
Suarga Padang Padang
Suarga Padang Padang
#3 of 8 in Uluwatu
248 reviews
0.5 mi away
De Sapphire Cliff Villa
0.6 mi away
Uluwatu Cottages
Uluwatu Cottages
#9 of 62 in Pecatu
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
PinkCoco Bali
PinkCoco Bali
#1 of 40 in Pecatu
366 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tregge Surf Camp Uluwatu
Tregge Surf Camp Uluwatu
#2 of 26 in Uluwatu
51 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Point Bay Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gong

Property: The Gong
Address: Jl. Pantai Suluban, Pecatu, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Pecatu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Pecatu
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Gong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gong Hotel Uluwatu
The Gong Bali/Pecatu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing