We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful experience!!”
Review of The Gong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Gong
Ranked #11 of 40 Pecatu B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 May 2010

the gong is the bomb!! so happy this awesome accomm was suggested to me by fellow surfer friends... i love the energy here:)) the family is super relaxed and very inclusive - i've just returned from a beautiful hindu ceremony just outside uluwatu village. the restaurant here serves the most delicious food - one can taste its made with love... the internet cafe is convenient and fast speed:)) the rooms are basic, but clean and well-maintained. from accurate surf advise to scooter rental or cultural wisdom - here is always one member of this friendly family who will be able to assist... i highly recommend the gong for all budget travelers who want to feel home in bali!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank earth-child-ct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
There are newer reviews for The Gong
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2010

The Gong is rad. We stayed there for 3 weeks last year and it was sick. Winnie is really nice and has this heir of regalness about her. Her husband Carmoon is the man too and all their kids (range from 20's to young) are awesome. Their oldest son who is nicknamed the Long Gentlemen rips super hard and if my math is right became a new father in October or November. Great family to stay with and not spend hardly any money. Also their Gorengs are top notch, but their meat dishes aren't so good...for that go to the warangs above Bingin.

Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
Thank NickKub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2007

The Gong is an out of the way flop house for the surf set near Uluwatu...world famous surf break. Winnie is the proprietoresse, and cook and speaks great english. They are frequently full during the surf season (may-sept) I am not sure of the country code for Bali. Rooms are about $8 usd per night...our food and beer tab for two weeks was under $200. As far as one stars go, there are probably a one to ten scal eof one-stars...this place woul dtherefore rate a 9-one-star. Winnie will take great care of you. Good for a base camp. We stayed for two weeks, but kept our stuff there a number of nights while we went on one and two day jaunts around island. She also has scooter rentals for $5/day. Gas can be had locally out of glass jars for fairly cheap. There are also warungs to buy certain creature conforts. We will be back, but we will bring our own sheets and pillows next time. To find it, go to Uluwatu monkey temple (a main temple of Bali, so just about any one will know how to get there). Before entering temple parking area (indicated by attendant asking for parking fee) take the road leading to the right. Follow that road for about 1 km, and the Gong will be on the right hand side)

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jabe_000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Joris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
Thank mammamarty2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Julius6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank charlotay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pecatu
1.2 mi away
Suarga Padang Padang
Suarga Padang Padang
#3 of 9 in Uluwatu
291 reviews
0.6 mi away
Uluwatu Cottages
Uluwatu Cottages
#11 of 65 in Pecatu
169 reviews
0.4 mi away
Puri Uluwatu Villas
Puri Uluwatu Villas
#36 of 65 in Pecatu
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
PinkCoco Bali
PinkCoco Bali
#1 of 40 in Pecatu
391 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Point Bay Villas & Spa
0.5 mi away
De Sapphire Cliff Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gong

Address: Jl. Pantai Suluban, Pecatu, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Pecatu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Pecatu
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
The Gong Hotel Uluwatu
The Gong Bali/Pecatu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing