We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and clean, and close to Peggy's Cove!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Dover
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
West Dover Harbour View Cottages & Guestrooms
Ranked #2 of 3 West Dover B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 July 2013

What a cute little two-bedroom cottage we rented after a gorgeous visit to Peggy's Cove.

We were warmly greeted despite the late hour of our arrival, and the accommodations were spotless, recently built/renovated, and comfortable.

The two-bedroom cottage we were given had rooms on opposite sides of the cottage, a small kitchen, and a great balcony.

So close to Peggy's Cove that it was worth the drive - we even went back to Peggy's Cove the next morning on our way out of town.

Definitely worth the stop.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2013 via mobile

So beautiful and clean, our room was hotel comfort at its finest and at so reasonable a cost. Enjoy a delicious breakfast and a spectacular vista from your front porch seating area or curl up in the wing chair with your book (snuggly blanket provided). Just a few minutes away from Peggys Cove....you'll want to stay :-)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abbycat47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We stopped here ready to settle in after a long day of city driving and sight seeing. We were in room 9 which is wonderfully decorated and had the feel of a b&b room more than a room at an inn. This is more like a motel setting with several cottages in the back of the property along with the main building/rooms closer to the roadside. The room was clean and very nicely decorated and painted, however had a slightly musty smell which we assume was due to it being closed up and across the road from the water front and salty air. Breakfast was adequate and there was a lot to chose from. In the morning we could hear quite a bit of movement in the adjoining room which may have been the kitchenette/office area or linen closet/supply room. All in all, this is a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wlhquilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

This property is in a very nice location with great views and good access to Peggys Cove. The staff seem friendly.
It wasn't obvious from the website that the cottages were actually duplexes, and had we known this we would not have booked. There was a large group in the attached cottage and we heard them walking around, closing doors, etc. They were nice people who were not doing anything outrageous and we all joked about what time we'd all be getting up, and how to avoid using our bathrooms at the same time.
The cottage had 2 spacious bedrooms with comfortable beds however the living area was small and cluttered (kitchenette plus dining table and a single recliner, plus a TV on a very high shelf that we found impossible to watch without hurting our necks).

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4states
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

My wife and I were unsure where to stay the night after visiting Peggy's Cove but found the Harbour View and really enjoyed it. The room was wonderful, all redone and modern. Very comfortable, the only issue was that we could hear the people in the room below us a little too clearly. To be fair we were warned that this could be an issue and choose the room anyway. The breakfast was very nice and the staff were wonderful and very friendly. We would certainly recommend this to our friends travelling in the area.

Room Tip: If possible get a room where nobody is above or below you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

All the previous good points are true. Keep away from Peggy's Cove with the two storey bendy buses carving up the road sides and filling the tourist centres! This gem is round the corner from Peggy's Cove. It has only a quiet road between it and the sea. the views are delightful and you can watch the lobster boats return with their catches from your room window. Breakfast, continental, had a huge choice, and the atmosphere was made even more welcoming by the two ladies who served it. They had a lot of local knowledge.

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BanburyCakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

The West Dover Harbour View was definitely a lovely place. The renovated property provided a lovely place to spend a night and it's so close to Peggy's Cove. The rooms are clean, simple, and quiet. We loved the staff - the owner was lovely and Audrey and Beulah were so nice at breakfast! The selection of homemade bread was a great way to start the day! We were so glad we chose a guestroom here - we enjoyed the quiet surroundings and our two visits to Peggy's Cove (slip over at sunset if you can). This is a hidden gem in a small fishing community. If you want quiet and simple place to stay, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ColoHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Dover
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clifty Cove Motel
#1 of 1 in Indian Harbour
156 reviews
Big Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Big Lake
43 reviews
Oceanstone Resort
#1 of 3 in Indian Harbour
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Dover Harbour View Cottages & Guestrooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Dover Harbour View Cottages & Guestrooms

Address: 7029 Prospect Rd, West Dover, Nova Scotia B3Z 3S9, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > West Dover
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in West Dover
Price Range: £54 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of one of Nova Scotia’s most picturesque fishing villages, Harbour View Cottages provides you with all the comforts of home while you enjoy the fabulous views. Sit back, relax, refresh your spirits and take advantage of the great beauty of our seascape. Take a stroll down to our ocean frontage, enjoy the shoreline or sit by the fire pit in the evenings. Our lodgings include: guestrooms, suites and 2 bedroom cottages. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing