We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Shifen Old Street
from US$52.00
More Info
from US$35.90
More Info
from US$85.00
More Info
from US$100.00
More Info
Reviews (1,510)
Filter reviews
1,510 results
Traveller rating
573
686
231
16
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
573
686
231
16
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sky lantern railway track take pictures suspension bridge rice every hour the main attraction pingxi line both sides souvenir shops unique experience paper lanterns day trip ruifang station good luck food stalls peanut ice cream
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 1,510 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2019

I enjoyed my short visit more than I expected. The sky lanterns and suspension bridge where highlights I enjoyed the overall atmosphere. Would recommend and cant wait to go again.

Date of experience: October 2019
2  Thank Rose E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 October 2019 via mobile

With a single railway line passing through the old town, this place has its rustic charms, but unfortunately, it has become extremely touristy. This town survives on busloads after busloads of tourists pouring in, most of them feeling compelled to write well wishes on a lantern before floating it up to the sky. Each lantern is priced from NTD150 for a single color. This is indeed a thriving industry which has successfully capitalizes on local traditional culture.

Date of experience: October 2019
2  Thank HerbertC249
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 October 2019 via mobile

So many people making wishes in the lanterns and flying them up.
There are shops as well that sells small lanterns as souvenirs.
Best take the Tour buses if you want a hassle free journey.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank aybeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 October 2019

This area is very famous for 2 things: the train that passes in the middle of the town, and lanters. there is a big business around it. to enjoy it at its best, I suggest to go there close to the sunset, during the day it is not much of an experience.

Date of experience: October 2019
2  Thank throughmybackpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 October 2019 via mobile

We went to Shifen via the TRA at Taipei Main Station and we reached there around 4pm. The staff operating at the train station were very friendly and helpful. Lots of beautiful and obedient little cats! We didn't make it on time to see the Shifen waterfalls so we decided to take a stroll down Shifen and see the bridge. Shifen waterfall closes at 430pm and it takes about 30-45 minutes on foot to get there, so go earlier if you want to catch it.

We did the sky lantern, of course. Prices are all the same throughout the track, even for different vendors, so don't bother trying to find cheaper options. NT$150 for 1 colour, and NT$200 for 4 different colours.

We also tried the chicken wing that was stuffed with rice just a few steps away from the station. Tasted really good and the chicken was tender and nicely marinated. Has a peppery taste. Should try!

We also tried the peanut ice cream burrito. Should try too, but by the time we ordered, there was no more coriander (not that i wanted it, i hate coriander) so that's for you to decide!

The bridge we went on is the Jingan Suspension Bridge and it is a beautiful bridge, good for instagram photos!

Date of experience: October 2019
2  Thank rustically
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews