We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hualien FarGlory Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel W(Ji'an)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Charming Motel(Hualien City)
View Hotel
Travel Road Hotel(Hualien City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
ShinyOcean Hotel(Hualien City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
CJ Hotel(Hualien City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spring Autumn Hotel(Hualien City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Shinge Hotel(Hualien City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,157)
Filter reviews
1,157 results
Traveller rating
762
302
74
13
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
762
302
74
13
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean parkhotel is locatedindoor pooltheme parkchinese restaurantsea worldmountain topbreakfast buffetfree wifiwonderful viewfriendly hotelriceone night staydining room tablesmall hillpackage dealgreat for families
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 1,157 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Hualien FarGlory Hotel is situated atop a hill in Taiwan, and is a pretty big facility. It is probably the nicest hotel at which I've stayed in Taiwan.

That said, the hotel oozes cheese (from the electronic grand piano playing in the lobby, which is on a 20-minute loop of old songs that will drive you mad after a couple of days). All of the decor is straight out of the 1960s, heavy on pinks and florals and odd wallpaper.

The gym isn't bad, with a pool area that has a large lap pool, a decent-size jacuzzi spa, and this weird kiddie pool area with a rock formation that looks like it should have a waterfall, but doesn't have a waterfall. They will make you buy a daggy swim cap to use the pool, if you don't have your own (that goes for kids too). There was an outside pool that was not in service when we were there.

Right down below the lobby is the area they use for breakfast buffets in the morning, and drinks in the evening. The breakfast buffet is pretty good: lots of selections of both Asian and Western cuisine. The evening drinks are a little harder to come by, as service levels are low.

The one danger I'd warn of is: the hallways are VERY loud, making it difficult to try and catch some sleep if you're going to bed early. Hualien FarGlory is large so it attracts a lot of tour groups; we saw said groups screaming up and down the hallways to each other, which was really annoying. You may as well stay up a bit later and grab a drink in the bar. You won't even have to ask the ghost piano player to "play it again, sam".

Room Tip: go to the end of the hallway or you'll have a lot of ambient noise
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank ladodgerone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
遠雄悅來大飯 店, 總經理 at Hualien FarGlory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2017

Dear Mr./Ms. ladodgerone

Thank you for choosing Hualien Farglory Hotel. We appreciated your staying as well as your kindly feedback. Your precious comments and advices will help us to promote our service quality. We deeply apologize for any unexpected service failure which disappointed you, and will carefully review all the problems to provide the better service.

Sincerely,
Emily Liu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The 5-star hotel in the area. Unfortunately, 5-star only means how much they charge you, it doesnt mean that they deliver the same quality of service. First, the facility is aged. You can see lots of vendors in hotel lobby which make the lobby a bit messy. Second, buffet restaurant is too small. You will be forced to eat somewhere else if too many hotel guest. Third, the sales representative in their Taipei office is very rude. Argu with customer on the pricing which was a mistake they made. Even try to thread us that if we insist to use coupon on Saturday, our colleague's coupon will be restricted the usable period (was none!!) It is ridiculous that they expect customer to bare their own mistake like this. Totally un-acceptable. I will never go back to that hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joshuah378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
遠雄悅來大飯 店, 總經理 at Hualien FarGlory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2017

Dear Mr./Ms. joshuah378

Thank you for choosing Hualien Farglory Hotel. We appreciated your staying as well as your kindly feedback. Your precious comments and advices will help us to promote our service quality. We deeply apologize for any unexpected service failure which disappointed you, and will carefully review all the problems to provide the better service.

Sincerely,
Emily Liu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The concierge services is very poor. Tell me that the fridge inside the room is of recycling type. I bought a chilled coke and strawberry milk in the evening. put inside the fridge. the next day, the coke was not cold and the milk turn sour. Horrible. Before i did the check in, was told my transportation to the railway was covered, when i check out they have the audacity to ask me to pay for the transport down. horrible.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SweeKiat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
遠雄悅來大飯 店, 總經理 at Hualien FarGlory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2017

Dear Mr./Ms. SweeKiat

Thank you for choosing Hualien Farglory Hotel. We appreciated your staying as well as your kindly feedback. Your precious comments and advices will help us to promote our service quality. We deeply apologize for any unexpected service failure which disappointed you, and will carefully review all the problems to provide the better service.

Sincerely,
Emily Liu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I was here for one night stay... though the view is great...but there are nothing much you could do... there are bus service to the theme park nearby..

their buffet is average.. not as luxurious as i thought.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank happydear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
遠雄悅來大飯 店, 總經理 at Hualien FarGlory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2017

Dear Mr./Ms. happydear

Thank you for choosing Hualien Farglory Hotel. We appreciated your staying as well as your kindly feedback. Your precious comments and advices will help us to promote our service quality. We deeply apologize for any unexpected service failure which disappointed you, and will carefully review all the problems to provide the better service.

Sincerely,
Emily Liu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This hotel is perched up in a hill so you get 365 degrees of Hualien and the ocean. I would recommend walking around hotel grounds to take full advantage.
The rooms are a bit dated. Decoration is a mish mash of things: tropical, fantasy (knights & princesses). It's like they want a theme but just go 1/2 way and not executing it fully.
The hotel lobby is very grand. But I think service is lacking. A few service people were joking around at the bakery and yelled down to another service person at the buffet restaurant. The staff is just not trained too well.
I had to do laundry and housekeeping did send small laundry detergent to my room. I thought that was very thoughtful.

Room Tip: ask for a renovated room (if there's any)
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sammyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
遠雄悅來大飯 店, 總經理 at Hualien FarGlory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2017

Dear Mr./Ms. Sammyc

Thank you for choosing Hualien Farglory Hotel. We appreciated your staying as well as your kindly feedback. Your precious comments and advices will help us to promote our service quality. We deeply apologize for any unexpected service failure which disappointed you, and will carefully review all the problems to provide the better service.

Sincerely,
Emily Liu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews