We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
National Center for Traditional Arts
Open today: 09:00 - 18:00
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (473)
Filter reviews
473 results
Traveller rating
174
205
74
16
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
174
205
74
16
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews traditional arts shops selling traditional food national center diy activities young children worth a visit shopping street taiwanese culture for sale nice place high quality on display food inside cultural activities theme park wander around
Filter
Updating list...
131 - 136 of 473 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2014

If you have limited time, skip the museum halls and head straight to the street with quint shops selling handicrafts, old school toys such as wood spinning tops but hand painted in cute designs (angry bird, Doraemon etc), puppets in elaborate chinese opera costumes. Nice surprises, price reasonable, not your usual retail therapy which I find it fun and refreshing.

Date of experience: November 2013
Thank jol_hohoho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

We took a cab from 超评价度假别墅in Luodong to传艺中心. This place kept us sheltered from the rain and occupied for an afternoon. Arriving before noon, we caught the stage performance outside the temple which is adjacent to 7eleven and the foodcourt. Though we did not fully understand the performance, it was amusing. The foodcourt serves 铁路便当,卤肉饭,fried oyster, fried bee hoon and many other dishes at a slightly higher but still reasonable price. The performances are repeated throughour the day from 10am at regular intervals. The streets resemble those in 三峡老街and大溪和平老街. A lot of interesting things to eat, see, buy and take photographs. We did not cross the river to the park due to the heavy rain. We took 台湾好行冬山线to Luodong station and walk a few minutes to the night market

1  Thank IveeLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Tranquil because there is an open space with ponds where you can seat around and feed the ducks and see the day goes by. This was my kids' favorite spot. Across the bridge, there were walking paths for leisure walks in the gardens.

Traditional because we were entertained by traditional opera singing which my mom enjoyed and kids learnt something new besides ipad.

There are rows of shops selling chinese traditional toys, chinese brushes, lanterns, home wares and handmade soap, etc. We also caught a street performance of chinese traditional dances and stunts.

We spend about 1-2 hours in this place.

Date of experience: December 2013
2  Thank miniacorns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Visited the place with my family early Dec 2013. Spent half a day there, snacking on snack that used to be available in Singapore long time ago but not anymore.

Kids had a great time looking at 'old' toys. Mum enjoyed the traditional food.

Date of experience: December 2013
1  Thank TanCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

This is my 2nd visit, my first several years ago. We saw an exhibition that portrays the Chinese art form of lacquer. It's interesting to learn about the influence of other countries' art on China. There are places to learn about pottery, lacquer and others but the staff are not there. We saw a street performance that's filled with humour and skills. The center also has shops that sell specialty products and foodstuff. The entry fee is reasonable too. Visit before 11 am so you can catch the street performance.

Thank BobLum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews