We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Enormous bookshop has something for everyone

Eslite has an enormous range of Chinese books, but it also has a good range of English books. You... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Jeffry B
,
Melbourne, Australia
(Almost) a Taipei icon

Eslite is an institution in Taipei, and this bookstore is probably the largest branch in Taipei... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
schmidtmg
,
Switzerland
Read all 314 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Xinyi District
from US$40.00
More Info
from US$180.00
More Info
from US$19.00
More Info
from US$52.00
More Info
Reviews (314)
Filter reviews
314 results
Traveller rating
179
105
20
9
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
179
105
20
9
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews english books book store book lovers department store nice book kids section branches in hong kong chinese language great design shopping experience open hours food court taiwan dollars shopping mall lifestyle stationary floor
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 314 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2018

I heard a lot about this place and it was so well reviewed, but I was extremely disappointed. I thought it would be a really good activity to take my kids on a rainy day in Taipei. We were just visiting the city and it was pouring rain. My kids are 5 and 2 (plus an infant). The kids section is TINY. All the books are in Chinese, so we just looked at pictures and there was only one small bench for everyone to share.

The restaurant was very overpriced and offered American sandwiches. The majority of the building was actually trinkets and shopping. A lot was breakable, so unfortunately, I didn't feel comfortable bringing my kids to any of the other floors.

I was really disappointed.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank CrabisGOOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

Eslite is technically a bookstore but sells so much more than that. There are a couple of branches but I highly recommend the Xinyi branch which is next to W Hotel and right in the heart of the shopping district near 101 Taipei Plaza. If you're looking for some jewellery, clothes and skincare, in addition to books, Eslite sells a mix of imported and local taiwanese brands. There's a cook book section which sells cute and quirky cooking apparatus, local sauces, tea and various cooking related products. Amongst the books are quirky sections selling lamps, souvenirs, cute stationary and beautiful Japanese lacquer table wear. The basement has a foodcourt selling a variety of food including bubble tea. The 4th floor has an amazing restaurant called Kiki that serves chinese food. I had the Dan Dan Mian and dumplings and they were the best I've ever had. Highly recommended if you're looking for a unique shopping experience in Taipei.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank NiccoleL2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

Eslite is famous in Taiwan for having 24-hour bookstores. This is an awesome extension of their good business - basically an entire mall with a few floors of bookstore as its anchor tenant. Love how the other stores like restaurants are nicely integrated within the bookstores, rather than the other way round.

Highlights other than the large and comfortable bookstore:
- an entire floor of children's products by different vendors
- possibly the best nursery room among Taipei malls?
- the famous Kiki noodles' only restaurant store is here!
- well-organized and classy selection of eateries in its basement

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank maryyeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

I have read about Xinyi store has a wider variety of items and true enough, the bookstore has items such as clothes, small household electronics, cafes, restaurants and of course lots of variety of books and stationery. A place worth visiting.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Di D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018 via mobile

There was a time when Eslite 24 hour bookshop at Xinyi was a blace where an english speaker could meet a fe.lower and chat while browsing a good selection od english language books. In the past few years, the selectoon of english language books have become scattered through the large store, dwindled in the selection of books available and quality of those books. The way the books are spread amongst chinese language books also makes them very hard to find.Sad to say it is no longer a place to always meet fellow travellers. If you are looking for english language books of any quality, they are quite honestly hard to find, but save some time and leave this bookstore until you are desperate.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews