We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Laurel Villa
Nearby Hotels
Look B&B(Yuchi)
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Doris Home(Yuchi)
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$348
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (283)
Filter reviews
283 results
Traveller rating
220
56
5
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
220
56
5
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmorning walkhis wifethe ownershuishe pierthe buswang familysun moon lakewarm hospitalitynearby hotelmilk teafamily roomsunrise viewhome cooked foodstreet noiseentire familyearly morningdrop off point
Filter
Updating list...
213 - 218 of 283 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2010

It's one of the best accommodation that I've stayed during my trip there last month. Friendly family and the rates are reasonable. It's so blissful staying there. Thanks again to Wayne and family!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wintzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Reception - very efficient, friendly
Family atmosphere - An extended family helping out to run this hotel
Food is good according to people around
Information is well provided before check in

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SUNMOON37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

We stayed in Laurel Villa in May 2010 (this is a bit delayed!). It was without a doubt the friendliest place we stayed in Taiwan and Wayne and his family do a fantastic job of making their guests welcome. After dinner one night we met Wayne and his son on our way back – they asked if we wanted to see some fireflies and took us on an impromptu night tour including night views of the lake, fireflies, the dam, tea plantations which we only accessible to him because his family lived within the grounds. Wayne was more than accommodating with us asking questions about his town and history of the country – all for free. It gave us much more than you could ever hope to get from an organized guided tour.
The accommodation itself was lovely – basic in terms of there being beds (which were very comfortable), bathroom with a bath, TV and a balcony but was pristine clean, so much so you are not allowed your shoes on in the room as the wooden floor is polished to a high standard. Great location, 5 minute walk from bus stop, right across from restaurants and ferry jetty and close to the start of walking trails. I would without a doubt recommend this place to anyone wanting a friendly welcome

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keoleary2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

We stayed for two nights here.
Booking was very easy by e-mail. Wayne was excellent in replying to e-mails and offering help and advice, not only for our stay at Sun Moon Lake, but also for planning our whole Taiwan holiday. He speaks and writes in English very well and the web site for Laurel Villa is really good.
It is a family run small hotel with Wayne's mother doing the food, I believe they grow their own vegetables too. We had breakfasts and an evening meal there which were all very nice. The hotel is very clean and felt very safe.
Wayne also has children who are very helpful and involved. If you want to know anything about what to do and where to go, the family will happily help you.
Laurel Villa really is very close to the lake, good walks, boat rides, places to eat and drink, I can't think that there could be any better place to stay at Sun Moon Lake.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnneMow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2010

5 Things I Love about Laurel Villa

i. Prompt response from the owner. I made a reservation at the very last minute and was immediately given a reply together with details on how to get the the place and tips on getting around Sun, Moon Lake.

ii. Excellent service. We took the bus to Sun Moon Lake from the Taichung high speed train station and the proprietor, Wayne Wang was there to receive us after a long journey from Taipei. The entire family (Wayne's wife and mum) were very helpful throughout our entire stay there. Yummy breakfast was served right on time.

iii. Nice rooms. The room given to us was impeccably clean and well-maintained. Old towers were placed under our luggages so as not to scratch the beautiful wooden floors. There are not many rooms here hence making the place very cosy and pleasant for staying.

iv. Perfect location. Laurel Villa is located right at the heart of Sun Moon Lake. You can catch a glimpse of the lake which is right across the hotel and you don't have to burn a huge hole in your pocket. Shops selling souvenirs, food stuff and food are located all along the hotel. Our room for 4 costs us just TWD 3,000. Prices however, differ on a Saturday or public holidays. The latter is being made known to us by Wayne which has even graciously asked us if we want to change our dates so as to avoid paying a higher price on a Saturday. That has totally won me over already.

v. Sun Moon Lake itself!! Wayne has taught us how Sun Moon Lake obtained its moniker. And how to truly appreciate the place and its beauty. Watching sunrise is a passe. Do wake up 1-2 hours before sunrise for the even more serene and beautiful view of the lake. It is worth the few hours of sleep loss.

Overall, it was a pleasant stay and the true hospitability of the local people made our stay even more memorable.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
1  Thank 3Gorgez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews