We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Grand Hotel Taipei(Zhongshan District)
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei(Zhongshan District)
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$200/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Just Sleep (Lin Sen)(Zhongshan District)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
San Want Residences(Zhongshan District)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 38% below average rates

The price you found is 38% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$212/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Miramar Garden Taipei(Zhongshan District)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Regent Taipei(Zhongshan District)
US$245
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Okura Prestige Taipei(Zhongshan District)
US$265
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$230/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Hotel Cozzi Minsheng Taipei(Zhongshan District)
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$110/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ambience Hotel(Zhongshan District)
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Reviews (344)
Filter reviews
344 results
Traveller rating
143
152
40
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
143
152
40
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice hotelseater sofafamily suitestaff spoke good englishjacuzzi bathdeluxe roommajor attractionsfree wifiminute walk from the hotelconvenient locationincluded breakfastchinese dishesblue linewalking distancehotel restaurantroom typesubway station
Filter
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 344 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2013

A beautiful smaller hotel in the heart of Tiapai. The service was impeccable, the room itself was beautiful, clean and warm and we loved the decor. The MRT is close by and taxis are everywhere and cheap. Thank you Evergreen, I hope to visit again one day.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Took Evergreen bus directly from TaoYuan Intl Airport to the hotel, only had to pay NT150 per person, travelling time about 1 hour. MRT Songjiang Nanjing station is also nearby.
Upon arrival at hotel, we were warmly greeted with friendly, helpful & efficient service. Had free upgrade to Superior Suite, free wifi, spacious room, clean, comfortable, beautiful furnishings with gold plated wash basins & jacuzzi bathtub, even had a fax machine, work desk, big sofa, fresh fruits & Welcome drink at the lobby lounge. All very well organised, that makes our stay very enjoyable & relaxing.

Buffet breakfast has wide selection of food, japanese, continental, you will be spoilt with too many choices.

If you enjoy good food, drinks, shopping & massage, all within short walking distance. Tried buying good french wine at Jointek Fine Wines, price is reasonable. Located at 1F, No.131, Sec.2, Chang'an E.Road, Zhongshan Dist. Relax and have a good foot massage, NT1000 for 60min at Dubai, located at No 105. Sec 2 Chang'an E.Road, Zhongshan Dist. A bit pricey, but very clean & professional, so it's really worth it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ongtay11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We had a very pleasant stay (3 nights) in this hotel. The room was comfortable and the staff was very kind and helpful. You can take the Evergreen bus from and to the airport. The location is good, close to the jade market (saturday and sunday) and antique shops.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hansgeluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

The hotel is an old style hotel. The decoration is in old style.
However, the hotel is very clean and convenience.
The bus stop to airport is just in front of the hotel and the MRT station is just three mins walk.
The service is excellent. Staff are helpful. The day I stayed in the hotel was a rainny day. Before we got off the taxi outside the hotel, the staff had already prepared to take an umbrella to welcome us.
I will recommend this hotel to all travellers.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs_Rightright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Taipei is a big city. A REALLY big city. Getting around will require the use of public transport. As such, you will want a hotel that is convenient to mass transit as opposed to within walking distance of the attractions. Somehow, the Evergreen Laurel hotel seems to pull off both.

The hotel is located in the Zhongshan district of Taipei. This puts it close to the Chiang Kai Shek memorial, in walking distance if you don't mind walking a bit. It is also a little further from Taipei 101 than what I consider walking distance. However, the hotel is close to the Zhongxiao xinsheng and the songjian nanjing stations of the Taipei subway, which can take you to most of the major attractions in the city. As such, the hotel is great for getting out and seeing what there is to see in Taipei.

As for the rooms, a poster on another website described this hotel as very Japanese in style and layout. After staying here for a few days, I can say that this assessment is spot on. So what is a Japanese style hotel like? Well, there is gold plating everywhere (even the sink bowl). There is also a control pad by the bed which controls all the lights, the AC and even the "Do Not Disturb" sign on the outside of the door. Even the toilet has more buttons than a commercial airliner. The furniture is also arranged in a different way as opposed to a standard US style hotel, an example is that the TV is not directly in front of the bed. Rather it is located in front of the two chairs next to the bed. There's nothing wrong with anything, just the Feug Shui is a little different so I didn't mark of any points for this.

What I did mark off a point for was the fact that I could not for the life of me figure out how to open the blinds on the window. I was on the 12th floor and had a decent view of the city from what I could make out in between the shutters. Eventually, I determined that the blinds could not be opened from inside the room as they were located outside of the window. For not letting me have control of the light level in the room, thats (-1) points.

Another point was lost at breakfast. The Japanese theme also carried over to breakfast as well with a large selection of noodles, rice dishes and other assorted asian breakfast items. While this was okay once or twice, it would have really been nice to have the option for something a westerner would have recognized as breakfast. Ultimately, I went out my next to last day there and managed to find a place that did pancakes so picky breakfast eaters may want to go elsewhere.

Other than these gripes, the hotel is fine. The staff are friendly and attentive, the gym is fairly well equipped with free bottled water and they provide a free ticket for the bus to the airport. Honestly, I wouldn't have stayed here if it was my choice but I'm not sorry that I did, either.

Final thought: Westerners may want to stay elseware, but if you do find yourself here, there's nothing really bad about it.

Room Tip: As the window blinds don't open, don't fret about getting a room with a view.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mr_cardholder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews