We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unforgettable experience, with all of the personal touches to make it stay with us forever.”
Review of Jean de Saone

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montbellet
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jean de Saone
Ranked #4 of 4 Montbellet B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 April 2010

We stayed at Jean de Saone in the midst of a 4 month trip around the world. After the hustle and bustle of the previous European cities we had visited, this quiet, secluded B&B was a welcome chance to relax and recharge.

The B&B is located almost half way between Macon and Tournus (closer to Tournus), and is perfectly located for exploring southern (and some of northern) Burgundy. Macon was 30 minutes drive away, Beaune an hour and a quarter (when avoiding toll roads). To get to the house you take a small road several hundred metres off the main street, that takes you to the edge of the beautiful Saone river. The house feels isolated, even though it is only a 2 minute drive away from the nearest town!

The setting itself is a big french house (17th century we believe), which is seperated from the river only by a small road (and the necessary barrier to prevent people falling in!)

Caroline, our host, was immediately welcoming and helpful, giving us maps and ideas for day trips in the region. Any concern we may have had about language barriers from the B&B's website quickly disappeared. Caroline's English is excellent (although, modestly, she would never admit to this!) The room we stayed in (Chambre Gentiane) was perfect. The room was of an excellent size, well appointed with a large, comfortable bed (although if you like your beds very soft, you may be disappointed) and a wonderfully deep bath overlooking the river. Rooms were cleaned daily (when we remembered not to lock the house-keeper out!) with the lovely fluffy towels replaced.

Breakfast was croissants and bread, with coffee, tea and juice, a very typical French breakfast (although we were offered eggs). We ate dinner at the B&B on two nights of our stay. Both nights the food was exquisite, particularly on the second night when Caroline and her Chef served us Beef Bourgogne which she cooked especially for us after we were unable to find it anywhere else. Another highlight was the Chocolate Fondant, which made us regret all of the meals we had away from the B&B.

The B&B is a perfect place to relax, and explore both wine regions and castles. We recommend taking a walk along the lake and Ellipse the family dog will be more than happy to accompany you and provide you with much entertainment!

Before booking the B&B we did a lot of research, looking into many of the other offerings available - whilst we cannot say any other B&B would be better or worse than Jean de Saone (as we haven't stayed at them), we can say that if we were back in the region we would go straight back, which really to us is the best review we can give a place.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P-Gord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
There are newer reviews for Jean de Saone
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2009

We loved the hospitality and the quaintness of Jean de Saone. Caroline was so helpful and very charming. We ate there every night and it was delicious. I am vegetarian and they made a lovely dish for me. You can take beautiful walks along the River and our room had a view to die for. We drove to all the wineries which were so close and the castles, what can I say about them. Divine. Thanks Caroline.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAXbuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Bruno S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank ingrid1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
500dec, Propriétaire at Jean de Saone, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2015
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Parkeerplaats aan de achterkant van het pand. Uitzicht op de Saône.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
2  Thank Annick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
500dec, Propriétaire at Jean de Saone, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2015
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2015
2  Thank davidagnes2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montbellet
1.9 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Marande
Hotel Restaurant La Marande
#1 of 1 in Montbellet
27 reviews
2.8 mi away
Moulin de la Brevette
Moulin de la Brevette
#1 of 1 in Arbigny
125 reviews
10.9 mi away
Mercure Macon Bord de Saone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Moulin de Buffiere
Moulin de Buffiere
#1 of 1 in Montbellet
71 reviews
1.5 mi away
Chateau de Marfontaine
Chateau de Marfontaine
#2 of 4 in Montbellet
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jean de Saone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jean de Saone

Address: jean de Saone | Jean de Saône, 71260 Montbellet, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Saone-et-Loire > Montbellet
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Montbellet
Price Range: £70 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 kms from Tournus exit A6 number 27 a guest house full of character bordering the river Saône, 3 guests rooms authentically renovated with a magnificent vue over the river very quiet with balcony, you will enjoy the burgundy specialities at evening meal. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing