We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A super holiday”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kettleburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Kettleburgh Chequers
Ranked #2 of 2 Kettleburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Although difficult to find it was so well worth it. A beautifully appointed room away from the noise of the pub with the added pleasure of wild life - rabbits, moles and birds in an idyllic setting. The food was super and the owners and staff friendly and helpful. The locals made me feel welcome and if i return to Suffolk I would definitely want to stay there again

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Scarey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2013

My wife and I went to Suffolk to a vineyard wine tour and tasting, so I looked on the 'net to find accommodation nearby and found 'The Chequers', well. what a gem, a friendly welcome and we had been placed in the self catering suite on a B&B rate, as the other rooms were full, it was spacious, spotlessly clean and very well equipped, with a double bedded room and a twin/three bed room. There was a lounge/kitchen and a huge bathroom. The food in the bar was plentiful, well cooked, well served, piping hot and reasonably priced. There was a good selection of beers too.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhotogJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

As soon as you enter, you are greeted with the warmest of welcomes. It is always a delight and a pick you up if you have had a hard days work, and someone greets with you with a smile and is polite and nice. The food is what you would call... Great pub food. Its not dress up for dinner fine dining. where you expect to have small portions at big prices... and people wearing gloves give you a chilled salad fork. This is a Good Food, Good Priced, Great tasting Pub. Both the owners and staff are friendly, chatty, fun, attentive. In the winter this has one of the best country pub atmospheres going. And in the summer that Huge garden makes for the perfect words "beer or pimms :)"

Always good for a meal or a social drink regardless of the weather...

More importantly this place has atmosphere unlike some of the other local pubs which haven't quite understood the word "atmosphere"

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Superman118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We stayed here for two nights and loved the newly built chalet type rooms separate from the pub in the gardens. It meant we could come & go without disturbing people in the pub. Beds & room really comfortable. I had an extra z-bed for my 3 year old, he was very cosy, there was plenty of space in the room. Woke up early to a misty morning, pulled back the curtains and just watched the pheasants and squirrels running around. A slide in the garden was great for my son. A very relaxing stay.

Breakfast - amazing, very good full English with great local sausages. Loved it!

Really lovely hosts, the pub is cosy and I would definitely stay again when visiting relatives.

Room Tip: There are 3 rooms, a double, a twin & a 2 bed self catering room. All of great quality and stand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuzieManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We stayed 1 night for a family celebration.

Knowing it was an old village pub I was expecting a creaky old room but the rooms are lovely, modern and spacious. They are in a purpose built unit in the gardens of the pub, so lovely and quiet. Very clean, bright, spacious. Powerful shower and efficient heating.

Breakfast was good, the hosts were extremely friendly and flexible with regards to timings :)

Highly recommended and won't hesitate to return!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WardieFleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Arrived with a lots of fellow moped riders.
Ham eggs 'n chips. Premium quality ham. Two eggs fried to perfection. Plenty of chips. Beer in perfect condition. What more could anyone want?
Quick service in spite of sudden influx of large group. Credit cards welcome.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed here whilst attending a friend's birthday celebration (held in a private dining room in the Pub). The facilities were excellent and staff could not have been more helpful. The room had plenty of space and was equipped with TV, Tea making facilities, easy chairs and two folding patio chairs to enjoy the garden in better weather. An umbrela was provided for the walk to the pub (no more than 50 yards) in case of rain. The en-suite was well equipped and decent quality shower gel / soap was provided. The water was always hot with plenty of clean towels.

Room Tip: There are only 3 rooms, we had the double. There is a twin and a family room also but our room coul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank king9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Kettleburgh Chequers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kettleburgh Chequers

Address: The Street, Kettleburgh IP13 7JT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Kettleburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kettleburgh
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kettleburgh Chequers 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Kettleburgh Chequers Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing