We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Healthiest reefs I have seen.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sogod Bay Scuba Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Padre Burgos
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Healthiest reefs I have seen.”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

A most wonderful and peacefull place to stay. The reefs are probably some of the most pristine in the Phillipines. We went to Dauin after our stay at Sogod and dived Apo Island. I would say the reefs in Sogod Bay are in better condition than Apo Island near Dumaguete.

The dive staff were very friendly and helpful and also took us muck diving from the beach and under the local pier for night diving. They assembled, disassembled and rinsed all our gear everyday.

The food in the resort's restaurant was varied and tasty and the beer was always cold. The resort has its own generator so power was available even in the blackout resulting from the Typhoo. Just a most wonderful relaxing stay with truly friendly owners and staff.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    34
    4
    5
    5
See reviews for
21
34
39
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

The resort was very relaxing and peaceful. Sunrises over Sogod Bay are spectacular. All the food was good, but I particularly enjoyed the spicy chicken adobo. They also have daily specials that are as close to fine dining as you’ll find in southern Leyte. Their gear was in excellent condition and, during my three weeks in the Philippines, they were the only dive shop that provided me a BCD with integrated weights. Between dives, I perused their library that included many books detailing the marine life around the Philippines and Asia. After each dive, I found myself wanting to identify and learn more about the tropical fish, sponges, and corals that populate the area, so having access to such a nice library was an added bonus. It was too early for the whale sharks, but I found the diving to be some of the best I’ve ever done and definitely worth the trip…even without the whale sharks. During surface intervals, they offered water, coffee/tea, and mango cookies. Upon arriving back at the resort, Annalyn met the boat and personally delivered everyone’s room key – great service. I found Ron and Phil, the managers at the resort, to be personable and helpful. They were both very professional and the same characteristic is manifested in their entire staff. While there, I met a nice Irish couple that has visited SBSR fifteen times and they keep coming back. It’s easy to understand why.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DT68DP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Sogod Bay Scuba Resort provided our school with an excellent diving expedition - from first contact just over a month in advance organising travel, accommodation, on line PADI courses, dietry requirements, run down on local services, health care and local charity work. Annalyn is totally 'on the ball' and can not be more helpful.
The resort has great facilities, very friendly and homely with excellent staff. All the resort staff work hard to ensure you have great stay. The food is all home cooked and there were no complaints from any of our group. Phil and Pedro the dive masters run a professional operation with well maintained dive equipment, providing fun, educational and very memorable dives. The local dive sites are incredible - i would certainly rate it over the Great Barrier Reef!
Evenings at the resort are relaxed, there are some local bars but for a school trip we enjoyed a game of pool or darts and just chilling out after a fun packed day.
Everyone in our group passed there Open Water course and had a number of fun dives too. I cannot recommend Sogod Bay Scuba Resort enough - thank you for a fantastic, stress free expedition! We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WG75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

this was one of the best holidays ever, the resort is very good, all are friendly, the dives sites just amazing.
The night dive at the pier in padre burgos is just amazing
The guides are very good, pawek, roberto, dave and the captain.i come back soon.
The food in the restaurant is very good also the girls who are working in the rezeption are very friendly,
The rooms are easy but clean and absolut enough

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Was there in July for one week. Small, quaint place with a spectacular setting. Service here is professional, warm and efficient. Annalyn handles all the Administration and she is amazing. Pedro the dive master is manages his team with skill and with all the attention to detail that is required. Diving there is some of the best I have ever done This place is a gem. Forget the negative reviews. Its made for divers who want to get off the beaten track. Rent a motorcycle from across the street and you are good to go !

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mejamboman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Just finished another 2 week trip at sbsr (15+ times).And as always everything was spot on from the diving to the food, rooms, dive guides, boat boys and resort staff.My 14 year old son Jake completed his junior advanced open water course and im very grateful to Pedro for the time and effort and professionalism he showed. For anyone wanting fantastic diving and a clean modern resort u cant beat sbsr. Well done to the owners and there fantastic staff. Me and Jake cant wait to get back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 227jonathan64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

On our last (now 9 times total) trip to Sogod Bay Scuba Resort (SBSR) everything was above the top of the summit of the best, again.
Nice weather and clear waters, as usual.
For scuba divers this is the place to visit at least once in the life.

Overall Sogod Bay is a diver’s paradise and SBSR is the place to stay in there.
Book your stay well in advance.
There are not too many rooms.

Thak You all.
We shall be back.

Room Tip: We prefer oceanfront rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Esa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Padre Burgos
2.8 mi away
Padre Burgos Castle Resort
Padre Burgos Castle Resort
#3 of 3 in Padre Burgos
144 reviews
82.5 mi away
Ironwood Hotel
Ironwood Hotel
#1 of 20 in Tacloban
84 reviews
81.9 mi away
Z Pad Residences
Z Pad Residences
#2 of 20 in Tacloban
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
82.8 mi away
Hotel XYZ
Hotel XYZ
#3 of 20 in Tacloban
157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peters Dive Resort
Peters Dive Resort
#2 of 3 in Padre Burgos
61 reviews
4.9 mi away
Leyte Dive Resort
Leyte Dive Resort
#1 of 1 in Malitbog
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sogod Bay Scuba Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sogod Bay Scuba Resort

Property: Sogod Bay Scuba Resort
Address: | Brgy. Lungsodaan, Padre Burgos, Southern Leyte Province 6602, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Leyte Island > Southern Leyte Province > Padre Burgos
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Padre Burgos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our accommodation has been designed with quality and comfort in mind. Since opening in February 2006 all of our guests have been impressed by the quality of our accommodation. Our cottages are equipped with air-conditioning and a fan and each cottage overlooks Sogod Bay, just a few metres from the shore.Similarly, the resort staff have all been hand picked to ensure that our guests feel welcome and our restaurant serves a variety of cuisines.Last, but certainly not least, the Sogod Bay Dive Resort is at the forefront of a number of environmental initiatives designed to maintain and enhance the local dive environment. Specifically, our resort is the sole sponsor of four recently established marine sanctuaries, three of which are within either walking distance or a ten minute boat ride of the resort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sogod Bay Scuba Hotel Padre Burgos
Sogod Bay Scuba Resort Padre Burgos, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing