We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good resort, very good dive center, very good place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sogod Bay Scuba Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Padre Burgos
Certificate of Excellence
Philippines
Level Contributor
168 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Very good resort, very good dive center, very good place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

The resort is very nicely located just outside Padre Burgos on a very nice beach where it is good for snorkeling and swimming.
The room are simple but nice, even a book shelve inside the deluxe one.
Staff is welcoming and professional.
Food/drink is very good and that for a good price.

Dive center is well managed, nitrox is available, divemaster nice and professional. Did not check the rental gear as I have my own.
Dive site are very quiet and beautiful corals.

So all in all that's the place to stay in Padre Burgos even if you don't dive ;)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ride_and_dive_1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    33
    4
    5
    5
See reviews for
21
34
38
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

the accommodation was comfortable clean and close to the resort.
the views outside the room of the beach was beautiful and relaxing. I have never dived before and found the dive master Pedro professional and patient. The actual dives that i went on were beautiful with coral and fish.
accommodation was comfy and the menu extensive. I found the specials on the menus nice.
Went to karaoke which was fun. Both house staff and dive staff were very professional. Nice holiday would come again. oh thats right i have twice.!!!!

Room Tip: depends what you want. if you are diving everyday it is more convenient to be closer to the resort a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SueH1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed 11 nights at Sogod Bay Dive resort in Southern Leyte, Philippines between 23 June to July. The resort is a little piece of paradise, clean, friendly, simple, welcoming and provides the perfect place to dive some of the best marine protected areas in the world. The weather was 29-30 degrees every day and the humidity was about 80 %. The food was great particularly if you wanted to laze around having a rest and drink before hand, plenty of variety and local cuisine to try out.The staff are so helpful and friendly. They help you on with your dive gear, help you out of the water, they make you a cup of tea or coffee after the dive with some fruit or a snack. The staff take care of all the equipment and make sure you are safe and feel safe.The pricing is very economical, could not believe how much we could do well within our budget. My husband went on twenty dives and I did the PADI course including 10 dives and a few snorkels at age 53 years, and felt confident and very happy with the amazing teachers. I had never dived before! We stayed in room 2 which looked out to sea with a wonderful view, which we could see from our beds when having an afternoon rest. The rooms are air conditioned with overhead fans as well.
On our last night we tried out Karaoke at a local bar not far way for something different. Transport is available for tripping into town at Padre Burgos for a few pesos via motorbike tricycles, or open air small buses.
It is not a resort where there is a gym or sauna, it is mainly directed at diving and learning to dive in some of about twenty diving sites. We loved every bit of it, and were looked after so well by the dive masters and in house staff, couldn't recommend it more highly.
We saw so many colourful fish, coral and amazing marine life, nudi branches, cuttle fish, turtles, anemones and more.

Room Tip: Room 2 faces the beach, but all the rooms are so close to the beach it doesn't really matter,the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Therese H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sihanoukville, Kampot, Cambodia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

I can't recommend SBSR enough, after three or four visits I'm still counting down to the next time! Annalyn and the resort team couldn't be more helpful and welcoming, nothing is too much trouble. The food is great and the beach side accommodation has stunning views looking across to Panoan Island; sunrise is stunning. The real reason to visit though is the diving; some of the healthiest and most diverse coral reefs I've seen anywhere in the world (largely down to the great conservation work Phil and the team do!) Whether you like wall dives, deep dives or hunting around in the sand for nudibranchs and other little critters you'll find something here. The dive guides and instructors are fab and will go out of their way to ensure you get what you want out of your holiday; Pedro, Powex and Dave know their stuff! Keep up the great work guys and I look forward to seeing you next time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Rooms are simple but pleasant with a nice view on the beach. Quiet place to rest especially after a long journey from France!
Diving is wonderful and the diving crew is extremely nice and very focused on customers.
Food is ok but too expensive for the area. Not much to do around. I recommend this place for diving.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
204 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I was part of a small group that stayed at SBSR for four nights. Each day we used the resort's banca boat to find different reefs to snorkel. The resort is very simply laid out with several of its rooms with beautiful views out over Sogod Bay. The staff there is excellent, usually anticipating your needs before you do. For a small place, they have a very extensive menu and with some advance notice, served our group of 11 with no problem. Give it a try if you're in the area.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank sgitlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

I cannot fault the diving, catering or cleaning staff. I was met at the Maasin ferry terminal and driven to the resort. Annalyn met me at the door, followed by Pedro. While my dinner was being prepared Pedro and I went out to the dive where I extracted my dive gear from among my clothes. He then carried my bag along the road to my room in the annex. It may have been my 4th visit but the welcome was the best. The menu is suffient to cater for most people and nicely cooked. The diving is well organised and safe. Pedro and team know their stuff. I have had many great dives over the years.

Room Tip: The annex rooms are slightly bigger than the shoreline cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keithm248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Padre Burgos
2.8 mi away
Padre Burgos Castle Resort
Padre Burgos Castle Resort
#3 of 3 in Padre Burgos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
82.5 mi away
Ironwood Hotel
Ironwood Hotel
#1 of 20 in Tacloban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peters Dive Resort
Peters Dive Resort
#2 of 3 in Padre Burgos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Leyte Dive Resort
Leyte Dive Resort
#1 of 1 in Malitbog
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
26.6 mi away
Dona Marta Boutique Hotel
Dona Marta Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hinunangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
13.5 mi away
Caimito Beach Hotel
Caimito Beach Hotel
#1 of 10 in Maasin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sogod Bay Scuba Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sogod Bay Scuba Resort

Property: Sogod Bay Scuba Resort
Address: | Brgy. Lungsodaan, Padre Burgos, Southern Leyte Province 6602, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Leyte Island > Southern Leyte Province > Padre Burgos
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Padre Burgos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our accommodation has been designed with quality and comfort in mind. Since opening in February 2006 all of our guests have been impressed by the quality of our accommodation. Our cottages are equipped with air-conditioning and a fan and each cottage overlooks Sogod Bay, just a few metres from the shore.Similarly, the resort staff have all been hand picked to ensure that our guests feel welcome and our restaurant serves a variety of cuisines.Last, but certainly not least, the Sogod Bay Dive Resort is at the forefront of a number of environmental initiatives designed to maintain and enhance the local dive environment. Specifically, our resort is the sole sponsor of four recently established marine sanctuaries, three of which are within either walking distance or a ten minute boat ride of the resort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sogod Bay Scuba Hotel Padre Burgos
Sogod Bay Scuba Resort Padre Burgos, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing