We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“outstanding service, romantice,peacefull.......” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Padre Burgos Castle Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Padre Burgos Castle Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Padre Burgos
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“outstanding service, romantice,peacefull.......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2011

Over all experience was excellent. top of the line resort, from the staff to the meals all 5star, but very relaxing atmosphere. after traveling to many resorts around the world this is the true paridice. David and Delia are great hosts and Ms. Dellia was an awesome chef.
Thomas Batt

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 420TBatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    17
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
42
77
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2011

The rather squashed and bumpy 3 hour ride from Tacloban to the Castle Resort in Padre Burgos was well worth our 4 night stay at PBCR. The owners, David and Delia together with their ample and friendly staff, took great pride in making our holiday at PBCR relaxing, luxurious and special in the peaceful & private paradise in Southern Leyte. The Resort was comfortable & clean and the food sublime (thanks to Delia who introduced Filipino delicacies to our discerning palate). The activities (such as sailing and kayaking) was well organised an fun, taking full advantage of the beautiful and almost untouched surroundings of the Leyte coast line, but remember to bring protective foot wear for the coral studded shores and lots of sun block or suitable clothing. If you are looking for a place to relax and unwind in the Visayas then look no further. PBCR is set in perfect surroundings, managed by friendly, professional and efficient staff, all offered at great value for money. We would certainly return to this perfect paradise in Padre Burgos. Outstanding!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhiteManWanderiNg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philfan_10, Owner at Padre Burgos Castle Resort, responded to this review, 28 April 2011
Thank you so much for your comments, which we really appreciate, and we are so happy that your experience was 'outstanding'.
Just a note on the transfer from the airport. Whenever it is possible we use the Resort's van which is a Toyota Hiace with a maximum capacity of 6 guests. When that is not available we use commercial vans, which are a similar size to ours but have seating for up to 14 passengers. Therefore, even when there are just 2 guests as in your case, the seats are less roomy than in our van. Unfortunately there are no commercial vans which offer as much space and comfort as ours, but they do have the advantage that they are able to transport larger groups of guests.
David & Delia Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2011

I decided to come in Leyte for 5 days of divings ( 6 nights in the resort ). I chose Padre Burgos Castle Resort for the quality of the service and I can say that I have been entirely satisfied .

For diving : there is no diving center in the resort but three diving center are close( less than 10 mn by car ) and the transfers are organized by the resort or the diving center.
The diving sites are good with a lot of sites allowing to dive one week without to dive the same sites and with a great variety of diving ( wall, muck dives,…)

The resort : there is only five rooms and that gives a family atmosphere.
The place where the resort is set up is very calm with a nice private beach.
The rooms are very nice and comfortable
All the staff is very helpful and they do all it is possible in order you enjoy your stay

The dinner prepared by Dalia are perfect and she proposes, every day, recipes according to your wishes and she allows you to discover the local cooking.

I travelled a lot and stayed in of numerous resorts, this one is for me excellent and tempts to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michel_P92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2011

We are lucky to go on holidays frequently and I personally like high standard. We've been to 3 hotels during this 2-weeks holidays in Philippines and this hotel was far the best! The place is really charming (though a long ride from the airport/ferry!), has a private and isolated beach so nobody is disturbing you (!). Rooms are spacious, clean and very comfortable. And I think there are 5 of them only which makes this place even more attractive to people who are looking for relaxation. The food is absolutely fantastic! The staff and the owners are very friendly and helpful, unlike in many other places where it takes ages to get what you're asking for.
Wonderful dive sites nearby.
The only (!) slight disadvantage were mosquitoes and the owners should handle that better as it was impossible to have dinner.

Room Tip: Get your own mosquito protectors! (creams etc.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DariaGa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philfan_10, Owner at Padre Burgos Castle Resort, responded to this review, 8 April 2011
Thank you so much for your comments. We are about 3 hours by road from Tacloban airport and also from Ormoc port served by fast ferries from Cebu. Other slower ferries to/from Cebu depart from Hilongos (1 1/4 hours from here) and Maasin (40 minutes away). Hilongos also offers daily boat services to Bohol.
We serve dinner outdoors when the weather is fine or in our naturally venitlated restaurant on rainy evenings. Mosquitoes are, unfortunately, an occasional problem, especially on very still evenings after rainy days as during your stay. We do our best to manage mosquitoes on these infrequent occasions by placing fans close to the dining tables and lighting candles. Using personal insect repellant is also very effective. Of course, we would love to eliminate mosquitoes from our outdoor areas completely, and we would welcome ideas as to how this can be achieved in these rural surroundings. In the meantime mosquitoes are an occasional irritant but dining either indoors or outdoors is exceptionally good and a highlight of guests' stays.
David & Delia Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu Island, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2011

My wife and I stayed 3n/4d as part of a dive safari.We think the hotel is great.
Food was excellent and timing flexible-this is important as we were diving and prone to leave/arrive at ad hoc times.Hotel is immaculate,clean and service prompt.
We particularly liked the attitude here,nothing was a problem.David arranged a local dive guide,tank fills and located diesel filling station for our boat.
We operate a non profit dive club and as such this cooperation is invaluable to our members.
We had a crew dinner party,no fuss or bother.
We will be back and this venue will be a featured dive location and resort for us.
I highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking for something a little 'special' in a resort.The personal touch makes this unique in a market full of packaged holidays.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil_ClubVera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2011

My family of four stayed at this resort for 4D/3N in early Feb 2011. We occupied two of the five rooms in this castle-styled resort, which is operated by David and Delia Warren and their staff. The rooms were very nice and clean and all the meals prepared by Delia were excellent. It felt like a first-rate Bed & Breakfast (that also included lunch & dinner). Everything was superb except for the weather, which was stormy for most of our stay and limited our outdoor activities (no whale shark watching or island hopping). Nevertheless, we had a marvelous time. (It was easier to have a good attitude since we had just enjoyed perfect weather for 5 days at a resort in Palawan.) The rain and wind were steady but there was no thunder/lightning; so we snorkeled twice a day even in the rain. The resort is near the southern-most point of Leyte Island and surrounded by large coral reefs on both sides. When the water was choppy on one side of the point, we simply went to the other, which was remarkably calm. The reefs were great fun even in the rain. This resort is remote, with very little else around. Because of its small size (5 rooms) and cozy feel, it would make a great location for a family or friends get-together or work-related function. You might be able to reserve the entire place for your group. Just be prepared for the 3-hour van ride from Tacloban, which is a scenic but lengthy drive. In my experience, the best places to visit tend to be remote and inconvenient to reach. This is one of them.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EastWest2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2011

3 day visit to S Leyte, Padre Burgos Castle Resort. Planned a short dive trip to S Leyte. Had a choice of several beach/dive resorts. After sending emails to the resorts of interest, Padre Burgos Castle was one of the first to respond. The big difference in responses ranged from generic responses to Padre Castle question specific response to my inquiries. PB Castle answered every questionl I had within 2 days of my email. I chose PB Castle. Although PB Castle is not a dive resort, they contract with several dive operations within 10 mins from resort. The dive operation I was booked with was S Leyte Sogod Dive Resort, anotther top notch dive operation with great diving right in front of the resort. PB Castle also arranged whale shark excursion with same operation.
PB Castle is alittle more expensive than the "dive resorts" but worth every penny. The place was very clean, rooms clean, beach was clean (crystal clear water, good for snorkling), swimming pool very inviting. Others that have reviewed PB Castle commented on the food served there, well they were right, the food was outstanding. Since we were traveling with 10 and 12 yo girls (filipinas) and were the only ones booked at the resort, food was catered to filipino taste. The food reminded me of "fusion" style cooking and everyone loved it, even the girls (the girls have never tasted that type of foods). All meal times were catered to our groups timeline and served first class, fine dining style.. Rooms were large with AC, hot and cold shower, no TV in room (TV in common area), very comfortable bed with soft comforter.
As for the scuba diving and whale shark excursions, PB Caslte will make all the arrangements and have tranportaion to and from the dive operators. The whale shark day was outstanding, as I was the only one booked and got to swim with 5 different whale sharks within a 3 hour time frame. Be aware that the dive operators have a minimum 4 paid customers for whale shark excursion. I paid for 4 (myself, spouse, 2 girls), so that's 4 paid customers..... and I was the only swimmer as the others were not...... All/any activity you are interested in doing, the resort will make all the arrangements.. . . Since I visit Leyte often, I will definetly be going there again.
Thank you David and Delia for a memorable time !!!! Hope to C U soon (maybe in May 2011)

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank davalanche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philfan_10, Owner at Padre Burgos Castle Resort, responded to this review, 3 February 2011
We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay and will be even more delighted to host your return visit! Thank you so much for your very informative comments and here is just a bit of explanation on a couple of points.
We have a satellite TV and DVD player in the common area, but do not provide them as standard in the rooms. We do have DVD players and TV screens for use in the bedrooms at a nominal additional charge - and we have a great selection of DVD's for complimentary viewing.
Seeing 5 whale sharks in 3 hours is, as you say, an outstanding experience. Whale shark tours with the dive shops are for a minimum of 4 people but they do put groups together so singles and couples as well larger groups can enjoy the tour. Of course, if you are the only client on a given day, and you are really keen to make the tour on that day, then you will need to pay 4 times the per person rate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Padre Burgos
2.8 mi away
Sogod Bay Scuba Resort
Sogod Bay Scuba Resort
#1 of 3 in Padre Burgos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
85.3 mi away
Ironwood Hotel
Ironwood Hotel
#1 of 20 in Tacloban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
74.7 mi away
Ormoc Villa Hotel
Ormoc Villa Hotel
#1 of 4 in Ormoc
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Peters Dive Resort
Peters Dive Resort
#2 of 3 in Padre Burgos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
9.7 mi away
Leyte Dive Resort
Leyte Dive Resort
#1 of 1 in Malitbog
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
29.1 mi away
Dona Marta Boutique Hotel
Dona Marta Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hinunangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Padre Burgos Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Padre Burgos Castle Resort

Property: Padre Burgos Castle Resort
Address: Tangkaan, Padre Burgos, Southern Leyte Province 6602, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Leyte Island > Southern Leyte Province > Padre Burgos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Padre Burgos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic family-run boutique hotel and PADI dive resort, with luxurious facilities and a friendly and intimate atmosphere. Superb location with great private beach, beautiful corals and stunning sea views. All guest rooms beautifully furnished and decorated, with air-conditioning and en-suite bathrooms. Guided scuba diving, snorkeling, swimming with whale sharks, dolphin watching, island hopping, sailing, kayaking,swimming pool, private beach, free Wi-Fi, bar and fine-dining restaurant. Local activities include land tours, caving, waterfalls, wild monkeys and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Padre Burgos Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Padre Burgos Castle Hotel Padre Burgos
Padre Burgos Castle Resort Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing