We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it so much we came again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Padre Burgos Castle Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Padre Burgos
Shanghai
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved it so much we came again”
Reviewed 8 July 2011

We first visited Padre Burgos in August 2009. We decided we wanted to have a great beach vacation in the Philippines without too many tourists. We found Padre Burgos and the information and amazing email responses we got helped us to decide to stay there. We stayed for three weeks in total. We loved this trip so much that we returned in April 2011 for another couple of weeks. The reason why we love this place is due to several things. First we have never before seen such a beautiful untamed reef right within one metre from the shore line. The aquatic life was so stunning it was breathe taking and we spent everyday snorkelling. This year we also added in sailing on the new yacht. Another reason why we love Padre Burgos is because we feel as though we have just stepped into an exotic guest house. It feels a lot like an English guest house in the tropics. David's Scottish charisma lends itself to this and when you combine it with Delia's Philippine influences it is a wonderful combination. The food is divine as well as the service that we received which was very personal and welcoming. All the staff were amazing and after each stay we felt as though we had new friends to return to one day.
Our children, two boys aged 8 and 14 love the aquatic activities along with the location of the place as well as being able to hire motor bikes, sail, snorkel and swim in either the beach or the private pool. The entire place is maintained to an extraordinary high level. We also loved receiving massages, manicures and any other service that David and Delia were only too happy to resource for us.
We are now planning when our next trip back will be. This place is ideal for families and people wanting something really special where you feel cared for and yet free to relax in the warm sun.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fourzippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    17
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
43
78
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

We went with a group of 5 to the Philippines and decided to go to Leyte for some diving but also needed a place where the 1 1/2 year old daughter of my friends would have fun as well.
It started with the booking. We did not know how long we were going to stay exactly but after a short call it appeared that the manager(also the owner named David) of the resort was very flexible and we agreed on booking a couple of days and only when other guests were putting in requests for a booking he would want a decision on what we were going to do. Fair enough. We doubted a little because there are cheaper places but when I am on vacation I don't want to feel like I am camping in a tent so the decision was not that hard and it is not that expensive.
The 24th of April we arrived at Tacloban airport and even though the plane was 1 1/2 hour late the driver was there as promised. It was a guy who knew his way around there which makes driving through the night a lot safer and faster even though the rain was pooring down.
Arrived in PBC(Padre Burgos Castle) after a long day of Tricycles Jeepneys,airplanes, the Padre Burgos transport was comfortable but nothing like when we arrived. Everyone was trying to help us get settled as quick as possible and when we sat outside 20 minutes later David's wife delia came out if we still wanted to eat something. It was 21.00LT and we only had a small bite on the way from the airport so we agreed. I am a professional traveller and was not expecting that much but....how wrong I was. Delia is an excellent cook in all styles of the world. I love cooking myself as well as my girlfriend but Delia surprised us several times and even then she sometimes apologized for things she would liked a little different perfectionist as she is in the kitchen. I don't believe they do michelin stars in the Philippines but she might get one if applied for.
The pool and the private beach are kept clean and kept private so you can enjoy being there without the place being crowded. Exactly the reason why they did not expand the property.
PBC looks very pittoresk and we had the room in the front tower. A circular very romantic room. The bed was a little short or me(6'5") but that's everywhere in the Philippines.
I also recommend one of the massages that can be arranged in the hotel. There is a professional masseuse that they call and we did book her twice both my girlfriend and I as well as our friends.
The service in the restaurant is great. When we were there we nicknamed them the Burgos Angels. Chris and Dianne are always there and make you wanting to stay there forever.
All in all we stayed 10 days and the only complaint I have is that time went too quick.
David,Delia and Burgos Angels...thanx for making this part of our vacation perfect even though we did not see the whalesharks...

Room Tip: Tower room. Roundshaped and very romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dbrt72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Bruno, CA
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

I had a 7 day 8 night stay at the resort with my wife. The resort was everything we had hoped it would be. It was very private and the staff was maximally attentivie without being obtrusive. We had a perfect blend of privacy and service. If you are not scuba oriented, this resort is excellent if you book in the off-season time of June through September. Best for a longer stay to offset the trouble of travel from Tacloban airport (which is actually the only downside of this resort). The rooms are clean and tastefully decorated and air-conditioned. The bathroom is roomy and bright with a full shower (no bath). We had the tower room which has a wonderful view of the ocean. There is a private beach with access to water sports such as sailing on a 13 ft hobie cat. We went sailing, but did not try the snorkelling which was offered. We enjoyed the 2 hour sailing for 2000 pesos (approx $50 US). The water in the bay is as warm as bath water, so you don't mind getting drenched. The pool is clean and situated so you can stand at the side and enjoy the ocean view (which is spectacular). The food is excellent. You can discuss your menu with Delia who can tailor the dishes to your preferences. The food is mostly local seafood of excellent quality. The portions are large (I'm sure you can ask for less of course). The continental breakfast is free, or you can pay for a traditional English breakfast for about $10 USD. Lunch is a la carte and items run from ($9 to $15 USD). Dining is either indoors or outdoors at your choice weather allowing. Mosquitoes are a minor annoyance, but were fairly minimal (avoiding mosquitoes anywhere in the Philippines is problemattic in any case). There is free internet access of modest speed, which was quite adequate for email. My wife uploaded hundreds of pictures to Facebook, so we were not complaining about the speed. The staff was wonderful and did their best to make our stay very enjoyable. The level of luxury and service I would say compared favourably to many of the better hotels I have stayed at. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who wanted to spend their honeymoon here.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank patrick_ca_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banff National Park, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

The place has an awesome view! Very beautiful place and quite....a perfect place to relax or to be with your someone special. We love their food alot! The staff are very friendly and accomodating. Excellent service all in all! The only downside we think is that the beach is not very kid friendly as there are sharp corals. We would love to come back, minus the kids this time!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joy12342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asia, philippines
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

I saw this online and was took note of all the positive reviews. It is a boutique resort where everyone quickly learns your name and your likes. The service is really nice, friendly and accommodating. When we arrived at the hotel it was near to dinner time and the hotel was well prepared for us - they even had our drink orders ready!

They operate a little differently in this hotel which is nice but different - Instead of having a complete menu, they will choose a few things and then offer several ways to prepare. All of the food that we had prepared was excellent.

The beach is very nice. . . Love the huge rocks that add privacy and the cliff staircase going down.

Room Tip: Just call and tell them what you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alwaysondroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Köln
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2011

resort is really nice, clean and has an amazing view and a beautiful little privat beach. delia is a marvelous cook! the food was so good that we did not try somewhere else. i guess it was a good decision because the food we tried on the rest of our trip was also very tasty but not that good. the girls are very friendly and nice. greetings to all of them!the only bad things on our vacation to padre burgos were the weather and the missing of the walesharks - unfortunately david and delia had no influence on this :-) Ok, maybe there was just one not so nice thing compared to european standard - we had to throw the toilet paper into the litter bin, but that is not unusual and you get used to it - so do not worry.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2011

Over all experience was excellent. top of the line resort, from the staff to the meals all 5star, but very relaxing atmosphere. after traveling to many resorts around the world this is the true paridice. David and Delia are great hosts and Ms. Dellia was an awesome chef.
Thomas Batt

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Padre Burgos
2.8 mi away
Sogod Bay Scuba Resort
Sogod Bay Scuba Resort
#1 of 3 in Padre Burgos
142 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Oriental Leyte
The Oriental Leyte
#1 of 1 in Palo
16 reviews
84.7 mi away
Z Pad Residences
Z Pad Residences
#2 of 21 in Tacloban
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
74.6 mi away
Ormoc Villa Hotel
Ormoc Villa Hotel
#1 of 4 in Ormoc
62 reviews
85.3 mi away
Ironwood Hotel
Ironwood Hotel
#1 of 21 in Tacloban
84 reviews
2.9 mi away
Peters Dive Resort
Peters Dive Resort
#2 of 3 in Padre Burgos
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Padre Burgos Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Padre Burgos Castle Resort

Property: Padre Burgos Castle Resort
Address: Tangkaan, Padre Burgos, Southern Leyte Province 6602, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Leyte Island > Southern Leyte Province > Padre Burgos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Padre Burgos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic family-run boutique hotel and PADI dive resort, with luxurious facilities and a friendly and intimate atmosphere. Superb location with great private beach, beautiful corals and stunning sea views. All guest rooms beautifully furnished and decorated, with air-conditioning and en-suite bathrooms. Guided scuba diving, snorkeling, swimming with whale sharks, dolphin watching, island hopping, sailing, kayaking,swimming pool, private beach, free Wi-Fi, bar and fine-dining restaurant. Local activities include land tours, caving, waterfalls, wild monkeys and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Padre Burgos Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Padre Burgos Castle Hotel Padre Burgos
Padre Burgos Castle Resort Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing