We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Felt like Royalty at the Padre Burgos Castle Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Padre Burgos Castle Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Padre Burgos
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Felt like Royalty at the Padre Burgos Castle Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

It was a long 3 hour car ride journey from the airport at Talcoban to reach the remote and southern most part of Leyte where Padre Burgos Castle Resort was tucked away. But that was all soon forgotten once we arrived at the quaint and cosy resort of 5 rooms managed by husband and wife: David and Delia.

My partner and I enjoyed the dining area the most, overlooking the swimming pool with a spectacular view of sogod bay. In the mornings, we could see the sunrise while savouring an English breakfast spread, and in the evenings, we enjoyed beautifully and carefully prepared homecooked meals by Delia under a blanket of stars.

It’s a great hideaway to unwind though relatively pricey as compared to the other surrounding accommodation and by Philippines standard. But ultimately, the hospitality and quality service by David, Delia and the team are second to none, and indeed made us feel like royalty.

We hope to be back soon~

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aree_Fooy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    17
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
43
78
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

My wife & I spent three nights at the Padre Burgos Castle Resort as part of our honeymoon in the Philippines. This may well be the most luxurious place on Leyte. For a young, non-wealthy couple it was a bit of a splurge to stay there, but we got a very good value for our money. Before and after we made our reservations, David & Delia patiently and thoroughly responded to all our questions by email.

The resort is outside the main town of Padre Burgos on the southern tip of the island. A very quiet, secluded area. There are only five rooms in the resort so it is not crowded or noisy. The private beach is well-tended and has a nice reef of its own where you can go snorkeling. If there is a strong wind the waves may be a bit rough for those who are not used to swimming in the ocean.

We went on the whale shark tour (accompanied by David) and saw two beautiful whale sharks, then had lunch and went snorkeling at nearby Limasawa Island. On another day, we took a long walk around the Padre Burgos area and went up through the woods to a scenic peak. We also spent time on the beach, in the pool, and watching movies.

The multi-course dinners at Padre Burgos Castle are delicious, and David & Delia come to each table to check on the guests and chat. Given the distance to town (and the lack of good restaurants there) we recommend that you choose half board (i.e. dinners included, instead of just breakfasts) when making a reservation.

A couple caveats: the weather can be quite variable so be prepared for the possibility of wind & rain. It was rainy for about half our stay (perhaps not unusual in late Jan./early Feb.). Before you arrive, get sufficient cash to settle your bill from an ATM in a major city; Padre Burgos Castle charges an additional fee for credit card payment.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippines
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

from a tourist who lives in manila and familiar with the various tourist destinations within the city and around the country...padre burgos castle resort is a gem in the tourism of southern leyte and in the philippines...offering a beautiful beach and seascape, luxurious amenities, diving tours, whale shark tours, island hopping and snorkling tours...thanks to the owners who made me feel at home with their warmth and care...it's definitely in my "must-visit again" list...

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jobert_Philippines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

My wife and I spent 6 nights at PBC in January 2012. It lived up to all the expectations of excellent food, good service and comfort in a superb setting. We did the kayaking, snorkelling and also swimming with the whale sharks which were plentiful. It was an amazing experience.
There were little niggles at first impression. Like the drinking water, which comes free in many places, was not only charged but replaced if only partially consumed. There are little costs like hiring equipement for a few Pesos an hour or a day. Since this doesn't represent huge sums, and are not even so much in demand, one would certainly feel more welcome if these little costs would be included in the price of the room. Regarding the room nr. 3, it would be a good idea to fix half length curtains as we had 4-5 time a day people walking right behind our windows.
That said, it was a fantastic place and we would recommend without hesitation.

Room Tip: There is a tower on the 1st floor which is more private than the downstairs rooms which have paths c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
Level Contributor
148 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 520 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

Not too much to say about this place which has not been said better already. David and Dalia have certainly carved their own small utopia out of this remote corner of the PI- The PBC resort is simply beautiful and lacks nothing in quality and service.

The Best

Meals- Breakfast served whenever you wake up. Dinner & lunch are cooked to order and were always excellent and meticulously served.
Private Beach- Beautiful limestone formations and a full time attendant. Kayaking and snorkel gear available.
House Reef - Lots to see! Sea turtles, lionfish, clown fish and a lot of weird stuff I have never seen before. Snorkel the reef here first before booking an outside excursion.
Cleanliness- Flawless. Staff works round the clock keeping everything spotless.
Full Service Resort- There are only 5 rooms and David and Dalia will bend over backwards to accommodate your requests.

Annoyances

Price- Low by Western standards but stratospheric by PI standards. All extras outside the room price are similarly high.

There is a 4% surcharge for credit card use. Most hotels in the PI have abandoned this practice and even then most charged only 3%. This extra charge is especially problematic to overcome due to the large amount of cash which would be required to pay for a stay at PBC and the fact that the town of Padre Burgos has no cash machine. Be aware of this extra charge before booking.

Isolated location is not very close to town or other conveniences.

Suggestions

PBC is small and intimate- Absolutely ideal for couples- not so for other travelers. If you are on Leyte and have a Filipina honey-ko you are trying to impress, this is your place.

Book ahead! Only 5 rooms are available at this time but it looked like they may be expanding.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CaptainAmerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philfan_10, Owner at Padre Burgos Castle Resort, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
Thank you very much for your feedback, which we really appreciate.
We do indeed make a 4% surcharge for payment by credit card as stated in our booking Terms & Conditions. As not everyone reads the T&C's it is helpful also to highlight that point here.
VAT is included in all our prices and we do not add a service charge, so there are no 'hidden' extras.
We would be delighted if there were an ATM in Padre Burgos town and we continue to lobby the banks to provide one. But at the moment, the nearest ATM's are in Maasin City which is about 30 minutes drive from here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Manila
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

My spouse and me stayed at Padre Burgos Castle resort for nearly one week in September 2011. We wanted to spend a couple of days in a pleasant and relaxed surrounding but just as well to have the possibility for some activities. In short, PPC fullfilled all our expectations. The resort is beautifully set, quiet and secluded (rather like a private estate than a resort). The food (which is prepared according to your personal wishes) can match with any top rated restaurant in the Philippines. The owners Delia and David as well as the whole staff is very much dedicated to make you feel as comfortable as possible. Hence PPC is a perfect hideaway but not only! We enjoyed some of the best dives we had during the last two and a half years in the Philippines (PPC has a cooperation with an excellent, well run diveshop nearby), explored Southern Leyte's lush hills and laid back villages by motorbike and as the icing on the cake were lucky to have the unique experience of sailing with the resorts HobieCat among several schools of pilot whales(!). Alltogether a very perfect week and a place worth visting not only once!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

Our stay here helped ensured we had a great dive safari to S.Leyte. The husband and wife owners were very helpful and friendly both to us and our crew (we arrived by boat and moored inside their private bay). We are planning a return visit later in the year.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Padre Burgos
2.8 mi away
Sogod Bay Scuba Resort
Sogod Bay Scuba Resort
#1 of 3 in Padre Burgos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
85.3 mi away
Ironwood Hotel
Ironwood Hotel
#1 of 20 in Tacloban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
74.6 mi away
Ormoc Villa Hotel
Ormoc Villa Hotel
#1 of 4 in Ormoc
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Peters Dive Resort
Peters Dive Resort
#2 of 3 in Padre Burgos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
7.8 mi away
Leyte Dive Resort
Leyte Dive Resort
#1 of 1 in Malitbog
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
14.1 mi away
Caimito Beach Hotel
Caimito Beach Hotel
#1 of 10 in Maasin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Padre Burgos Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Padre Burgos Castle Resort

Property: Padre Burgos Castle Resort
Address: Tangkaan, Padre Burgos, Southern Leyte Province 6602, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Leyte Island > Southern Leyte Province > Padre Burgos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Padre Burgos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic family-run boutique hotel and PADI dive resort, with luxurious facilities and a friendly and intimate atmosphere. Superb location with great private beach, beautiful corals and stunning sea views. All guest rooms beautifully furnished and decorated, with air-conditioning and en-suite bathrooms. Guided scuba diving, snorkeling, swimming with whale sharks, dolphin watching, island hopping, sailing, kayaking,swimming pool, private beach, free Wi-Fi, bar and fine-dining restaurant. Local activities include land tours, caving, waterfalls, wild monkeys and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Padre Burgos Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Padre Burgos Castle Hotel Padre Burgos
Padre Burgos Castle Resort Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing