We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Padre Burgos Castle Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Padre Burgos
Reviewed 2 December 2013

What can we say that has not been already said? We stayed at the Padre Burgos Castle two weeks after typhoon Haiyan and many friends at home advised us to cancel our holiday at the Philippines . We are so glad we didn’t. We took the ferry from Cebu to Hilongos and were surprised and happy to find no destruction and everything normal. For the first few days of our stay there was no power, but the hotel’s generator provided lights and air-conditioning at the necessary times.

David, Delia and staff were wunderful hosts and we felt like king and queen. Delia is an amazing cook and the half pension package was worth every cent. Diving was arranged with a nearby dive center and the reefs were perhaps the best we’ve seen ever. Dolphin watching and a trip to Limasawa Island is not to be missed. Our only regret is that there were no whale sharks during our stay. We must return!

Room Tip: Tower room is unique and romantic
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed in this little pieceful hotel for 10 nights and enjoyed every minute. David, the owner was extremely helpful; already in the planning stage he gave us good advice via e-mail on every question we had. He picked us up with his car from the ferry; he drove us to the dive shop every day (only a 10 minute ride). The guys from the dive shop (Peter's: highly recommended) drove us home each day. David copied us his last "real" postcard and mailed them home for us; unfortunately they did never arrive. The enthusiasm of his wife Delia for cooking shows in the delicious 3 course menus; she asked us every day for our wishes, likes or dislikes. They offer a decent selection of wines. The service girls were efficient and nice, as was the masseuse, who either massaged us on the lawn or in our room. David was very flexible and ambitious with regard to the tour arrangements and thus contributed a lot to our good memories. The only thing which we missed were comfortable mattresses on the sunbeds, but we were told they were ordered. It is a long long trip to Padre Burgos from Europe, diving is fantastic (we been at many places in the world) and if you appreciate individual service, personal and warm hospitality, tasteful accomodation and a quiet surrounding this is the place to visit on Southern Leyte.

Room Tip: We had the round room in the tower and thought it was an excellent choice, although the bed was a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunshineVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Where to begin?

Our stay with Delia, David and the staff at Padre Burgos Castle Resort was wonderful. We had a truly lovely time for the two weeks we stayed with them - the food, the staff, the service, the hospitality, the beach, etc, etc..... An absolute gem! We can only reiterate and endorse the positive reviews made by others - in a word, terrific.

Thank you for looking after us so well. We hope to stay with you again soon.

Rob and Gillian

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank RobTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013


David, Delia and all the staff were wonderful. Always warm, attentive and discreet- exceptional service. The food surpassed our expectations, the resort beach with house reef was great and the small town of Padre Burgos was really interesting. Day trip to Limasawa Island was a highlight.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I have to say this by far was the most amazing and wonderful trip I have ever had in my life. I was looking for a great hotel back in may and trying to find a place and the owner (David) personally contacted me and helped me out with booking his stay. A week upon check-in he contacted me again to make sure we were still arriving and offered us a few ideas on somethings we can do there. Upon arrival we were greeted by the staff with warm welcome smiles like we were family and showed us to our rooms where they bought us welcome drinks that were simply amazing in itself than we talked to Delia who took a very active interest in making our trip so amazing. The food she cooked was just amazing and had us coming back for more. The staff was amazing as well taking the time to make sure every need or want we had was handled promptly. The snorkling its self was amazing seeing some of the fish was amazing. I could go on and on bout this wonderful resort but the best advice is go for yourself and see. It will be like coming home to family. I know for certain me and my family will be coming back next year for a much longer stay than the time we spent. Thank you again for the great and wonderful service

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank desertexplorerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Padre Burgos Castle Resort is the best place to stay in Southern Leyte. We stayed here for 4 nights and it wasnt enough. We wish we could stay here longer. It wasnt plan to stay in the resort but it was the best thing we did. I called up that morning and luckily they have available room. This place is amazing. The view was breath taking, very relaxing, the beach is well maintain and the water is really clean. The girls in there were treating us like king and queen. Incredible service and the place was spotless. The owners are amazing and lovely people, David and Ate Delia are always make sure that we were comfortable and happy with everything. They come out to see us and talk to us every morning and at dinner time. Of course Ate Delia's home cook food was amazing. She was making special dishes for us to our taste buds. It was really nice of her. David always make sure we enjoy our stay. The activities was incredible. We didnt have enough time to do the whole day trip as we were visiting family. We only went on a half day trip to limasawa and it was absolutely amazing. We saw the dolphins, we went for a tour around limasawa island, had nice cooked lunch on the beach and and did more snorkelling, we had the best time. We wish we could do more activities but time was limited. I highly recommend this place and their activities. Thank you very much for making our stay unforgettable. Definitely coming back here in Padre Burgos Castle Resort on our next visit to the philippines.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank bserenio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We absolutely LOVED our stay at the Padre Burgos Castle Resort. We were made to feel really welcome from the moment we arrived. The food is AMAZING!! Everyday Delia discussed with us what we would like to eat and she made the most incredible mouth watering dishes. The service is excellent and absolutely everything is spotless. We enjoyed a whale shark snorkeling tour while we visited which far exceeded our expectations. We cruised with about 100 dolphins, snorkeled with a whale shark, had a fabulous bar-b-q lunch beach side, visited an island village and the site of Magellan's first mass in the Philippines, snorkeled some great coral reefs and a sunset cruise back to the resort! Everything was absolutely superb. I can't say enough good things about this place. It is a definite must visit. A bit out of the way but well worth the trip! You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Tower Room". It had a great view and was very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank Shannon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Padre Burgos
2.8 mi away
Sogod Bay Scuba Resort
Sogod Bay Scuba Resort
#1 of 3 in Padre Burgos
146 reviews
80.5 mi away
The Oriental Leyte
The Oriental Leyte
#1 of 1 in Palo
24 reviews
84.7 mi away
Z Pad Residences
Z Pad Residences
#3 of 21 in Tacloban
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
85.3 mi away
Ironwood Hotel
Ironwood Hotel
#1 of 21 in Tacloban
91 reviews
85.6 mi away
Hotel XYZ
Hotel XYZ
#2 of 21 in Tacloban
177 reviews
2.9 mi away
Peters Dive Resort
Peters Dive Resort
#2 of 3 in Padre Burgos
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Padre Burgos Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Padre Burgos Castle Resort

Address: Tangkaan, Padre Burgos, Southern Leyte Province 6602, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Leyte Island > Southern Leyte Province > Padre Burgos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Padre Burgos
Price Range: £53 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic family-run boutique hotel and PADI dive resort, with luxurious facilities and a friendly and intimate atmosphere. Superb location with great private beach, beautiful corals and stunning sea views. All guest rooms beautifully furnished and decorated, with air-conditioning and en-suite bathrooms. Guided scuba diving, snorkeling, swimming with whale sharks, dolphin watching, island hopping, sailing, kayaking,swimming pool, private beach, free Wi-Fi, bar and fine-dining restaurant. Local activities include land tours, caving, waterfalls, wild monkeys and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Padre Burgos Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Padre Burgos Castle Hotel Padre Burgos
Padre Burgos Castle Resort Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing