We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent resort although time consuming to get to!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Padre Burgos Castle Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Padre Burgos
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1,577 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,278 helpful votes
“Excellent resort although time consuming to get to!”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

David and Delia are great hosts and the staff at this resort are fabulous.

The place is a lot better in the flesh than what is shown on their website or on tripadvisor. The place is immaculate and very well maintained. David completely rennovated this place from a shell. A real credit for the fantastic job done. It's not your typical hotel or resort. Very boutiquish if that's a word ;-)

The resort is located with great ocean views and a pool. Being a 5 room resort you won't have the crowds here.

We had room 1 which is located near the dining room. I believe this is one of the larger rooms. Expect to hear some noise of cutlery etc in the morning. If you want to sleep in ask David for one of the more quieter rooms.

No tv or fridge in the room but there is a shared lounge/tv room. Wifi is provided, is mostly good for surfing and emails but slows down depending on the number of users.

Delia cooks up some wonderful dishes. We opted for half board on 2 of our 3 nights and the culinary dishes provided were excellent. On the first night we let Delia surprise us with each course and we weren't disappointed. Make sure you try the Kiliwan-delicious. In fact all we tried was delicious.

My one and only criticism is that I guess it needs to be explained a little better that if you don't opt for the half board each night you are charged 1250 pesos pp as compared to the 1050 pesos pp. Because we had the half board for 2 out 3 nights we were charged an additional 800 pesos. Had I known this it would have made good economic sense to have opted for half board on all the 3 nights we stayed.

Weather wasn't kind to us as we had rain on and off and the whale sharks were also not around so we opted to go to Limasawa Island and saw dolphins on the way home. Weather was quite rough going home but we made it back safe just as the light was fading. David's banca is in very comfortable and in good condition.

Our stay inclusive of meals and transfers certainly wasn't cheap but PBCR does cater for that special market. Is also not easy to get to so expect to loose a good part of your arrival and departure day travelling to and from the resort. David does offer a reliable transfer service.

The resort is well worth a visit!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tommomelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea_Sun_Sand490, Owner at Padre Burgos Castle Resort, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback, which we really appreciate. And it is good to clarify what 'half board' means.

'Half Board' is a rate which includes our superb 4-course dinners as well as breakfast for every night of a guest's stay. The supplement for the half board package is currently 1,050 pesos per person per night, on top of the 'Bed & Breakfast' rate. The price of the same dinner 4-course dinner taken on an ad hoc basis is currently 1,200 pesos per person. (This price is itself a 10% discount from ordering each of the 4 courses separately.)

Your original booking was for Bed & Breakfast but you informed us in advance of arrival that you wished to upgrade to half board. On the 2nd evening of your 3 night stay, after a late and heavy lunch, you decided just to take a single dish from our 'light meals' menu rather than the full 4-course dinner. You therefore paid 1,200 pesos for each of the 4-course dinners you enjoyed on 2 nights plus the price of your light meals on the other night, because this worked out slightly cheaper than paying the half board supplement of 1,050 pesos per night for all 3 nights.

Regarding travel times, the beauty and attraction of Padre Burgos is that it is an unspoilt and remote area well off the mainstream tourist trail, but nonetheless offers a wealth of wonderful activities. Of course, such places are more time consuming to get to. It is, however, possible to schedule both arrivals and departures without eating up too much holiday time with travelling. The first morning flight from Manila or the first morning ferry from Cebu will both get you to our resort by 9am, while the late afternoon flights to Manila and the evening ferries to Cebu allow time for activities such as swimming with whale sharks, sailing, dolphin watching, caving, etc on your departure day.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and for your feedback, which helps clarify the issues around half board rates.

With very best wishes,
David & Delia Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    17
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
43
78
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

My family & I from Singapore chanced upon Padre Burgos when we were looking for a holiday in Philiphines. We were very impressed with David's prompt & informative replies which gave us the confidence to go ahead with our hoilday even after typhoon haiyan struck Norte Leyte. David was an excellent guide & friend providing us with informative information about whatever we wanted to know about Leyte!

Upon reaching the place we were warmly greeted by Delia and the staff. They made us feel right at home with their warm smiles and greetings. As a aspiring Chef myself I was very impressed with Delia's cooking and even manage to sneak into the kitchen for a quick peak! She puts so much effort in every single dish and never fails to wow us each time.

The staff of Padre Bugos - Jade, Janet, Jackie, Liezel made our stay absoutly memorable and wonderful. They take so much pride in ensuring that the entire resort is kept in pristine condition at all time. For example waking up 30mins earlier to ensure that all the beach chairs and outdoor garden was in perfect condition after a heavy downpour earlier in the morning. Their attention to detail is remarkable and we could not have asked for anything more.

My family & I are so thankful that we had the pleasure of being hosted by Padre Burgos Castle Resort & will be definetly telling our friends about wonderful expeience there. =)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevinSeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2013

What can we say that has not been already said? We stayed at the Padre Burgos Castle two weeks after typhoon Haiyan and many friends at home advised us to cancel our holiday at the Philippines . We are so glad we didn’t. We took the ferry from Cebu to Hilongos and were surprised and happy to find no destruction and everything normal. For the first few days of our stay there was no power, but the hotel’s generator provided lights and air-conditioning at the necessary times.

David, Delia and staff were wunderful hosts and we felt like king and queen. Delia is an amazing cook and the half pension package was worth every cent. Diving was arranged with a nearby dive center and the reefs were perhaps the best we’ve seen ever. Dolphin watching and a trip to Limasawa Island is not to be missed. Our only regret is that there were no whale sharks during our stay. We must return!

Room Tip: Tower room is unique and romantic
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed in this little pieceful hotel for 10 nights and enjoyed every minute. David, the owner was extremely helpful; already in the planning stage he gave us good advice via e-mail on every question we had. He picked us up with his car from the ferry; he drove us to the dive shop every day (only a 10 minute ride). The guys from the dive shop (Peter's: highly recommended) drove us home each day. David copied us his last "real" postcard and mailed them home for us; unfortunately they did never arrive. The enthusiasm of his wife Delia for cooking shows in the delicious 3 course menus; she asked us every day for our wishes, likes or dislikes. They offer a decent selection of wines. The service girls were efficient and nice, as was the masseuse, who either massaged us on the lawn or in our room. David was very flexible and ambitious with regard to the tour arrangements and thus contributed a lot to our good memories. The only thing which we missed were comfortable mattresses on the sunbeds, but we were told they were ordered. It is a long long trip to Padre Burgos from Europe, diving is fantastic (we been at many places in the world) and if you appreciate individual service, personal and warm hospitality, tasteful accomodation and a quiet surrounding this is the place to visit on Southern Leyte.

Room Tip: We had the round room in the tower and thought it was an excellent choice, although the bed was a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshineVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Where to begin?

Our stay with Delia, David and the staff at Padre Burgos Castle Resort was wonderful. We had a truly lovely time for the two weeks we stayed with them - the food, the staff, the service, the hospitality, the beach, etc, etc..... An absolute gem! We can only reiterate and endorse the positive reviews made by others - in a word, terrific.

Thank you for looking after us so well. We hope to stay with you again soon.

Rob and Gillian

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank RobTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile


David, Delia and all the staff were wonderful. Always warm, attentive and discreet- exceptional service. The food surpassed our expectations, the resort beach with house reef was great and the small town of Padre Burgos was really interesting. Day trip to Limasawa Island was a highlight.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I have to say this by far was the most amazing and wonderful trip I have ever had in my life. I was looking for a great hotel back in may and trying to find a place and the owner (David) personally contacted me and helped me out with booking his stay. A week upon check-in he contacted me again to make sure we were still arriving and offered us a few ideas on somethings we can do there. Upon arrival we were greeted by the staff with warm welcome smiles like we were family and showed us to our rooms where they bought us welcome drinks that were simply amazing in itself than we talked to Delia who took a very active interest in making our trip so amazing. The food she cooked was just amazing and had us coming back for more. The staff was amazing as well taking the time to make sure every need or want we had was handled promptly. The snorkling its self was amazing seeing some of the fish was amazing. I could go on and on bout this wonderful resort but the best advice is go for yourself and see. It will be like coming home to family. I know for certain me and my family will be coming back next year for a much longer stay than the time we spent. Thank you again for the great and wonderful service

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank desertexplorerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Padre Burgos
2.8 mi away
Sogod Bay Scuba Resort
Sogod Bay Scuba Resort
#1 of 3 in Padre Burgos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
85.3 mi away
Ironwood Hotel
Ironwood Hotel
#1 of 20 in Tacloban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
2.9 mi away
Peters Dive Resort
Peters Dive Resort
#2 of 3 in Padre Burgos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Leyte Dive Resort
Leyte Dive Resort
#1 of 1 in Malitbog
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
15.1 mi away
Caimito Beach Hotel
Caimito Beach Hotel
#1 of 10 in Maasin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
29.1 mi away
Dona Marta Boutique Hotel
Dona Marta Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hinunangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Padre Burgos Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Padre Burgos Castle Resort

Property: Padre Burgos Castle Resort
Address: Tangkaan, Padre Burgos, Southern Leyte Province 6602, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Leyte Island > Southern Leyte Province > Padre Burgos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Padre Burgos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic family-run boutique hotel and PADI dive resort, with luxurious facilities and a friendly and intimate atmosphere. Superb location with great private beach, beautiful corals and stunning sea views. All guest rooms beautifully furnished and decorated, with air-conditioning and en-suite bathrooms. Guided scuba diving, snorkeling, swimming with whale sharks, dolphin watching, island hopping, sailing, kayaking,swimming pool, private beach, free Wi-Fi, bar and fine-dining restaurant. Local activities include land tours, caving, waterfalls, wild monkeys and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Padre Burgos Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Padre Burgos Castle Hotel Padre Burgos
Padre Burgos Castle Resort Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing