We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly good!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of JM-RN (Sweetie's) Pensionne House

JM-RN (Sweetie's) Pensionne House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Padre Burgos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
JM-RN (Sweetie's) Pensionne House
Ranked #2 of 3 Padre Burgos B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

Set up in the middle of the busy town of padre burgos,the pension doesn't quite stand out save for its relatively high facade. Everything looks normal outside and yet the rooms are surprisingly elegant inside. My room has a minimalistic design, queen sized bed, cable tv, curtains, a/c, and a hot
shower. All for a thousand pesos/night. Plus the rooftop has its own bar! ! It's a good place for backpackers, solo or small group.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank researcheronthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

The room is literally a backpacker's dream, at 1000php a night, the room has 2 queen-sized beds which can easily fit four persons. You get the usual amenities and a hot shower without any problem with water. Located at the center of town and near the port area, it is an advantageous jump-off point for whale shark watching, snorkeling and visiting the island of Limasawa. The staff is helpful and you can always ask Alan for directions around town. The dining area is on the roof deck and their servings are quite generous. It also serves as a bar at night. They can also arrange for a packed-lunch when you're out for your day activities. For your convenience there is a store located at the ground floor.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FrancisAguilar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

In a part of the world not known for guaranteed flushing toilets, hot water or even reliable running water, my air-conditioned room at Sweetie's (with hot water shower and flushing toilet) was a piece of luxury at an amazingly affordable rate. Around the corner from the multi-hire van stop with a view over the pier and just down the road from a friendly and experienced dive shop (True Blue Adventure Diving), this pension house is a great deal for anyone who wants to stay in town with local bars, restos, shops and market. As mentioned in the other review, the service is not great, but the room totally makes up for it. I thoroughly recommend Sweetie's as a place to stay for the independent traveller not looking for a resort that is isolated from the wonderful community in Padre Burgos.

To make a reservation, call Mick from the dive shop down the street, he can hook you up... +63-915-965-5241

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SeeJenSwim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

The building looks like an apartment and the pathway is as same as those building apartment. The dinning area is more like a canteen and the bar has minimal selection of cocktails. No room service!
But when you enter one of their room... you will be thinking "is this the right room"? It was large with 2 queen size spring mattress w/ really really clean comforter, blanket, towel, etc! And it cost only 1000pesos per night!!!
I think i had a better room than my friends that night thou they were staying in a quite fancy resort!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank TouristDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Padre Burgos hotels
0.0 mi away
Padre Burgos Castle Resort
Padre Burgos Castle Resort
#3 of 3 in Padre Burgos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sogod Bay Scuba Resort
Sogod Bay Scuba Resort
#1 of 3 in Padre Burgos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.0 mi away
Peters Dive Resort
Peters Dive Resort
#2 of 3 in Padre Burgos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JM-RN (Sweetie's) Pensionne House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JM-RN (Sweetie's) Pensionne House

Property: JM-RN (Sweetie's) Pensionne House
Address: Padre Burgos, Southern Leyte Province, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Leyte Island > Southern Leyte Province > Padre Burgos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Padre Burgos
Also Known As:
JM-RN (Sweetie's) Pensionne House Padre Burgos, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing