We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kangra
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel The Grand Raj
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kangra
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Overpriced”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

you can find much better and spacious rooms in kangra ... Hotel Laj and others offer better rooms than this hotel...also the service is lazy...the food is good but much overpriced.... Its location, close to the kangra bus stand is also another plus point

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashwani B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGrandRaj, General Manager at Hotel The Grand Raj, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I regret that the room at the hotel was not to your liking. I wrote to you to seek some information on your date of visit and the kind of room or the room number you stayed in. I am eager to get more information as it would help us work on improvements. As far as the price tag is concerned we have rooms starting from INR. 1190+taxes . our slogan is "Budget Hotel Star Comforts" and the comparison with Laj Hotel is unimaginable.
I request you not to write such fabricated reviews of any reputed hotel .
You may write to hotelthegrandrajgm.gmail.com or may call on 09218505500 to let us know more about you stay.
Regards

Deshraj Jaryal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    28
    16
    3
    5
See reviews for
30
17
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

I m a business travller. Having involved in the hydro power power projects need to travel to hilly areas quite offenly.

I had been visisited almost all pats of Himachal expcept Kangra. I happened to be there between 12th Nov to 15th Nov and one of my customer has suggested this hotel.

I did not had a great expectation as Kangra was not a regular tirist spot and ,most of the tourist stays in Dharmsala. But after seeing the hotel I really stunned. Really tis hotel has been architected with a real sense of nature.

The hotel staff were very courtesious and food and bar was excellent. nfact this is the first time I extened ny stay for a day just to relax.

Infact this is the hiotel where in the IPL teams staysed during thoer matches in Dharmasala.

Great Experience ! and loking forward to stay there one more time and specifically in the Room # 112 where in you can wake up with a wonderful view of snow clad mountains.
Great expetrience

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spkumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGrandRaj, General Manager at Hotel The Grand Raj, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your review. We are delighted to read that the team was able to make your stay at The Grand Raj a memorable one. we are privileged to have you with us and looking forward to serve you even better in future.
Thanks once again for your words of appreciation ,It energies us do better.

Warm regards
Deshraj Jaryal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Good hotel with good food. Seems to be a renovated hotel and patch work finishing is not perfect. At entrance we felt like we were lucky to select this but rooms are bit disappointing with little space, cramped and old furniture. Centrally located and minutes distance from main bus stand. Good staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TSGandham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGrandRaj, General Manager at Hotel The Grand Raj, responded to this review, 30 April 2015
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Hotel The Grand Raj !!!!
Thank you for posting your review.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. I am glad you had a pleasant stay at the hotel
On your next visit we will endeavor to exceed your expectations in all aspects of service.
Please do give us another chance to serve you better in the future.

Warm regards
Satish angaria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajpura, India
Level Contributor
71 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Rooms of this hotel are average as compared to lobby and dinning area. Room size is quite small and this hotel is slightly overpriced as no other good option available. They also got a gym which remain closed all the time. Food was average.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaku78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here a couple of times...the best property in kangra...courteous staff led by the GM (Raj)...good food...very good bar...very close to Dharamshala ( 20 km)..very good view...centre of town yet a very quiet location..ample parking space..can compete to the best properties of Himachal...loved it..

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank anilmibs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dinanagar, Punjab, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

The hotel is centrally located, with ample parking space. Spacious room along with quality food is available. High end rooms have good mountain and park views from balcony. The sitting in rooms need to be improved, with more comfortable chairs or sofa and possibly large table as per room size. The toileteries provided need to be improved. In breakfast some more options, like fruit, south indian etc should be added. The included buffet breakfast hardly had any options. Restaurant service is also slow.

Room Tip: Choose mountain facing rooms, which are large in size and make you feel in moutain valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeepakAggarwalpunjab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGrandRaj, General Manager at Hotel The Grand Raj, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you for the kind review and your patronage towards Hotel The Grandraj Kangra. Guest feedback is of utmost importance for us as it enables us to understand their needs better and helps us improve. Please be rest assured that your feedback form is with me and I have also noted you valuable suggestions on improving our room furniture, toiletries and Buffet Breakfast will be taken into consideration . We do look forward to continued visits from you and the family.

Regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

Grand Raj

Very well located in kangra for folks heading towards Manali, almost on the way.
We reached by afternoon and had a quick checkin process.
Although the rooms were a bit small, buy adequate in all facilities.

Room : Decent yet a bit small
Room service : Excellent
Food : Good
Cleanliness and Hygiene : Good

Just one thing I found a bit odd was :
We had breakfast and dinner inclusion as per our package, reaching there we got to learn that there wont be any buffet set up, we wd be expeceted to order from the aa-la-carte menu with max of Rs 295 per head for dinner and Rs 255 for breakfast.
With the soaring high rates, didnt feel if we could fit in within the per person charge.

But to summarise, overall a decent hotel with Good food, for a stay like ours of 1N with that too half day in sight seeing was SIMPLY PERFECT.

Room Tip: Ask for bigger rooms as few are really small, suffocating and shady
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kapil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kangra
8.6 mi away
Pink House
Pink House
#3 of 21 in McLeod Ganj
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
8.7 mi away
Fortune Park Moksha
Fortune Park Moksha
#1 of 21 in McLeod Ganj
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
14.9 mi away
RS Sarovar Portico, Palampur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
The Exotica Dharamshala
The Exotica Dharamshala
#17 of 69 in Dharamsala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Divine Hima
The Divine Hima
#1 of 69 in Dharamsala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
8.8 mi away
Spring Valley Resort
Spring Valley Resort
#8 of 21 in McLeod Ganj
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Grand Raj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Grand Raj

Property: Hotel The Grand Raj
Address: Dharamshala Road, Kangra 176001, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kangra District > Kangra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kangra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Grand Raj 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a three star facility hotel situated in the heart of Kangra city. Recently Kings XI Punjab team stayed with us during the IPL matches in Dharamshala. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel The Grand Raj Kangra, India - Himachal Pradesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing