We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best you can get in Kangra city” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel The Grand Raj

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kangra
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel The Grand Raj
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kangra
Certificate of Excellence
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best you can get in Kangra city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We were just looking for an average yet clean place for a day to keep our luggage as we had to leave for Mcleodganj and would only be coming back at night. This one didn't really look good from the street but we still decided to check it out since there were not too many options. It turned out much better than we had expected. Rooms and bathrooms were clean, there is enough space to relax/wait at the reception, very reasonable in terms of money. I have no idea about the food in the hotel because we had all our meals outside, but I would surely suggest a short stay at this place if you are planning to be in Kangra.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Swatiiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGrandRaj, General Manager at Hotel The Grand Raj, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for kind and generous words of appreciation for the Hotel and cleanliness . At The Grand Raj, we believe Guests like you provide true source of inspiration to Us. I am pleased to note that we were able to make your stay both enjoyable and memorable. We look forward to welcome you back and be of service to you in future.

Warm Regards,
Deshraj Jaryal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    28
    16
    3
    4
See reviews for
29
17
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

The hotel is located suitably in the heart of Kangra town for all types of tourists be they religious, adventure tourists, sightseers or laid back week enders ! The hotel rooms are extremely well furnished and housekeeping effective and efficient. However the rooms facing the road have lots of traffic sound pollution. The hotel chef cooks a very tasty spread of varied dishes served in the one and only restaurant of the hotel. The bar is tastefully decorated and well patronized. An additional major plus is that the hotel has adequate parking place. Over all the hotel provides full value for money

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor with garden view are the best, giving one a breathtaking view of the Dhauladhar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank surinder2706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGrandRaj, General Manager at Hotel The Grand Raj, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out valuable time and sharing your stay experience at TheGrand Raj Kangra. The team is delighted that we could make your experience memorable and our heartfelt gratitude for such kind words.

Warm regards
Desh Raj Jaryal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Basic room and faces a very busy noisy road. First room offered stank of stale cigarette smoke so refused this and was offered one next door which slightly better. Reception, bar and restaurant good but did not get what we ordered fir breakfast and this was probably due to the young waiter not understanding English. Food prices quite expensive anx this is probably as they need to recoup the costs if the inexpensive rooms somewhere. Didn't Lind the way the waiters hovered waiting to clear the plates before we had both finished. Bar was nice anx comfortable and offered good views of the snow capped mountains. No wifi available for the duration of our stay. Good cafe/takeaway directly opposite offering delicious Kati Rolls

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Luv-my-hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGrandRaj, General Manager at Hotel The Grand Raj, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review.
My sincere apologies for the room at the hotel was not to your liking. our standard rooms are road facing and has noise problem ,we are under process to put sound proof glass to get rid of this problem. . Your inputs on the room and other aspects of your stay are very helpful to enhance our services . You may also write to me at hotelthegrandrajgm@gmail.com
I request you to let me know when you are traveling to Kangra next ,please let me know in advance so we book a premium or luxury room for you which are Himalayas facing ,spectacular view and noise free. we would like to have you stay with us again and give us the opportunity to restore your faith.

Regards,
Deshraj Jaryal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

I had 1st floor room facing to the street. Room looked a bit outdated, windows were to corridor and view from corridor windows were to the street. It was quite noisy in the night and there was no proper heating. In Feb when the temperature was below 0 it was cold... Anyway it is ok value for the money and I would recommend to book a room with breathtaking mountain view. I could visit the hotel again. Bathroom was better than I expected.

Room Tip: Choose a room with view to the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGrandRaj, General Manager at Hotel The Grand Raj, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Madam,
Thank you so very much for your review.
My sincere apologies for the room at the hotel was not to your liking. As our standard rooms are in the old wing of the hotel, some of our rooms differ from others in nature. Your inputs on the room and other aspects of your stay would be helpful. You may also write to me at hotelthegrandrajgm@gmail.com
I request you to let me know when you are traveling to Kangra next as we would like to have you stay with us again and give us the opportunity to restore your faith.

Regards,
Deshraj Jaryal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

you can find much better and spacious rooms in kangra ... Hotel Laj and others offer better rooms than this hotel...also the service is lazy...the food is good but much overpriced.... Its location, close to the kangra bus stand is also another plus point

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashwani B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGrandRaj, General Manager at Hotel The Grand Raj, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I regret that the room at the hotel was not to your liking. I wrote to you to seek some information on your date of visit and the kind of room or the room number you stayed in. I am eager to get more information as it would help us work on improvements. As far as the price tag is concerned we have rooms starting from INR. 1190+taxes . our slogan is "Budget Hotel Star Comforts" and the comparison with Laj Hotel is unimaginable.
I request you not to write such fabricated reviews of any reputed hotel .
You may write to hotelthegrandrajgm.gmail.com or may call on 09218505500 to let us know more about you stay.
Regards

Deshraj Jaryal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

I m a business travller. Having involved in the hydro power power projects need to travel to hilly areas quite offenly.

I had been visisited almost all pats of Himachal expcept Kangra. I happened to be there between 12th Nov to 15th Nov and one of my customer has suggested this hotel.

I did not had a great expectation as Kangra was not a regular tirist spot and ,most of the tourist stays in Dharmsala. But after seeing the hotel I really stunned. Really tis hotel has been architected with a real sense of nature.

The hotel staff were very courtesious and food and bar was excellent. nfact this is the first time I extened ny stay for a day just to relax.

Infact this is the hiotel where in the IPL teams staysed during thoer matches in Dharmasala.

Great Experience ! and loking forward to stay there one more time and specifically in the Room # 112 where in you can wake up with a wonderful view of snow clad mountains.
Great expetrience

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spkumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGrandRaj, General Manager at Hotel The Grand Raj, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your review. We are delighted to read that the team was able to make your stay at The Grand Raj a memorable one. we are privileged to have you with us and looking forward to serve you even better in future.
Thanks once again for your words of appreciation ,It energies us do better.

Warm regards
Deshraj Jaryal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Good hotel with good food. Seems to be a renovated hotel and patch work finishing is not perfect. At entrance we felt like we were lucky to select this but rooms are bit disappointing with little space, cramped and old furniture. Centrally located and minutes distance from main bus stand. Good staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TSGandham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGrandRaj, General Manager at Hotel The Grand Raj, responded to this review, 30 April 2015
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Hotel The Grand Raj !!!!
Thank you for posting your review.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. I am glad you had a pleasant stay at the hotel
On your next visit we will endeavor to exceed your expectations in all aspects of service.
Please do give us another chance to serve you better in the future.

Warm regards
Satish angaria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kangra
8.6 mi away
Pink House
Pink House
#3 of 21 in McLeod Ganj
4.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
8.7 mi away
Fortune Park Moksha
Fortune Park Moksha
#1 of 21 in McLeod Ganj
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Exotica Dharamshala
The Exotica Dharamshala
#16 of 69 in Dharamsala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Dharamshala - The Sanctuary, A Sterling Holidays Resort
8.7 mi away
Spring Valley Resort
Spring Valley Resort
#8 of 21 in McLeod Ganj
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
8.4 mi away
Bella Heights
Bella Heights
#17 of 21 in McLeod Ganj
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Grand Raj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Grand Raj

Property: Hotel The Grand Raj
Address: Dharamshala Road, Kangra District 176001, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kangra District > Kangra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kangra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Grand Raj 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a three star facility hotel situated in the heart of Kangra city. Recently Kings XI Punjab team stayed with us during the IPL matches in Dharamshala. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel The Grand Raj Kangra, India - Himachal Pradesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing