We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel in Kangra”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel The Grand Raj
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Kangra
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A great hotel in Kangra”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I spent a night here before flying out of the airport. It's a great hotel, a nice peaceful refuge from the main street below. Not the best looking hotel from the street, however once you go around the back it's great. Staff, room and food was all great.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGrandRaj, General Manager at Hotel The Grand Raj, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a great feedback and rating us high on your list. Your recommendation for The Grand Raj means a lot and the team and I also look forward to having you back with us.

Regards
Desh Raj Jaryal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    31
    16
    3
    5
See reviews for
31
17
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We travelled from Shimla to Manali and dharamshala before landing in Kangra. Since we didn’t find desired hotel in Dharamshala and we also thought to avoid back tracking, we decided to stay second night in Kangra.

It’s a private property in city, on main street. Since hotel has a porch area and sufficient parking, feeling is better otherwise it would have become a roadside hotel. In any case all night we heard noise of traffic passing bye, specially because corridors are open and facing road. There is no wall, glass or shield. Its good from point of view of ventilation but at night, noise is too much to bear

We had booked standard room which turned out to be very small. These are actually couple room so we found it cramped with two small kids. There is no place to keep an extra bed but we had to squeeze in somehow, the roll away mattress.

we ordered tea for room service and they sent an unclean cup with a tablespoon for stirring (pic enclosed). There were small things like these to take care of to improve overall impression of hotel

We wanted to have local food so we looked for restaurant but could not find anything interesting so we had dinner at hotel. Since dining hall was full, they immediately suggested and arranged seats in garden on first floor with large TV. It was good food but service was extremely slow. We don’t complain because we saw hotel was full and they had to bring food from restaurant to terrace on first floor.

It was better of all hotels this far. Had TV & effective AC in room so we slept well.

Room Tip: Avoid road facing rooms as all night noise from traffic passing bye Get garden facing rooms instead...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SudhaGupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGrandRaj, General Manager at Hotel The Grand Raj, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. The intangible aspect of quality of service is of extreme importance in the hospitality industry and I apologies for having served your tea in unclean cup.a stern action has been taken for the same.I would like thank you for liking our food and other aspects of the hotel.

Regards

Deshraj Jaryal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel at good location. Very near to Bus Stand. Walkable distance to Brijeshwari Devi Temple. Staff very cooperative. Always helpfull. Food was yummy and at very reasonable prices. Good place to stay with family.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sanjeevarora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGrandRaj, General Manager at Hotel The Grand Raj, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Guest,

A visit to Kangra cannot be highlighted without visit to Maa Brajeshwari Deviji Temple. The Grand Raj is just a kilometer away from The Historic Temple. We are pleased to hear that we were able to make your stay enjoyable and you liked the food that our Chefs had prepared. Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us and the Trip Advisor Community.

Warm Regards,
Deshraj Jaryal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We were just looking for an average yet clean place for a day to keep our luggage as we had to leave for Mcleodganj and would only be coming back at night. This one didn't really look good from the street but we still decided to check it out since there were not too many options. It turned out much better than we had expected. Rooms and bathrooms were clean, there is enough space to relax/wait at the reception, very reasonable in terms of money. I have no idea about the food in the hotel because we had all our meals outside, but I would surely suggest a short stay at this place if you are planning to be in Kangra.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Swatiiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGrandRaj, General Manager at Hotel The Grand Raj, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for kind and generous words of appreciation for the Hotel and cleanliness . At The Grand Raj, we believe Guests like you provide true source of inspiration to Us. I am pleased to note that we were able to make your stay both enjoyable and memorable. We look forward to welcome you back and be of service to you in future.

Warm Regards,
Deshraj Jaryal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The hotel is located suitably in the heart of Kangra town for all types of tourists be they religious, adventure tourists, sightseers or laid back week enders ! The hotel rooms are extremely well furnished and housekeeping effective and efficient. However the rooms facing the road have lots of traffic sound pollution. The hotel chef cooks a very tasty spread of varied dishes served in the one and only restaurant of the hotel. The bar is tastefully decorated and well patronized. An additional major plus is that the hotel has adequate parking place. Over all the hotel provides full value for money

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor with garden view are the best, giving one a breathtaking view of the Dhauladhar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank surinder2706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGrandRaj, General Manager at Hotel The Grand Raj, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out valuable time and sharing your stay experience at TheGrand Raj Kangra. The team is delighted that we could make your experience memorable and our heartfelt gratitude for such kind words.

Warm regards
Desh Raj Jaryal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, England
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Basic room and faces a very busy noisy road. First room offered stank of stale cigarette smoke so refused this and was offered one next door which slightly better. Reception, bar and restaurant good but did not get what we ordered fir breakfast and this was probably due to the young waiter not understanding English. Food prices quite expensive anx this is probably as they need to recoup the costs if the inexpensive rooms somewhere. Didn't Lind the way the waiters hovered waiting to clear the plates before we had both finished. Bar was nice anx comfortable and offered good views of the snow capped mountains. No wifi available for the duration of our stay. Good cafe/takeaway directly opposite offering delicious Kati Rolls

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Luv-my-hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGrandRaj, General Manager at Hotel The Grand Raj, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review.
My sincere apologies for the room at the hotel was not to your liking. our standard rooms are road facing and has noise problem ,we are under process to put sound proof glass to get rid of this problem. . Your inputs on the room and other aspects of your stay are very helpful to enhance our services . You may also write to me at hotelthegrandrajgm@gmail.com
I request you to let me know when you are traveling to Kangra next ,please let me know in advance so we book a premium or luxury room for you which are Himalayas facing ,spectacular view and noise free. we would like to have you stay with us again and give us the opportunity to restore your faith.

Regards,
Deshraj Jaryal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I had 1st floor room facing to the street. Room looked a bit outdated, windows were to corridor and view from corridor windows were to the street. It was quite noisy in the night and there was no proper heating. In Feb when the temperature was below 0 it was cold... Anyway it is ok value for the money and I would recommend to book a room with breathtaking mountain view. I could visit the hotel again. Bathroom was better than I expected.

Room Tip: Choose a room with view to the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGrandRaj, General Manager at Hotel The Grand Raj, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Madam,
Thank you so very much for your review.
My sincere apologies for the room at the hotel was not to your liking. As our standard rooms are in the old wing of the hotel, some of our rooms differ from others in nature. Your inputs on the room and other aspects of your stay would be helpful. You may also write to me at hotelthegrandrajgm@gmail.com
I request you to let me know when you are traveling to Kangra next as we would like to have you stay with us again and give us the opportunity to restore your faith.

Regards,
Deshraj Jaryal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kangra
9.2 mi away
Roshan House
Roshan House
#1 of 7 in Kangra
11 reviews
9.2 mi away
Fortune Park Moksha
Fortune Park Moksha
#1 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
408 reviews
9.1 mi away
Pink House
Pink House
#4 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Exotica Dharamshala
The Exotica Dharamshala
#21 of 77 in Dharamsala
206 reviews
7.0 mi away
Mount View Hotel
Mount View Hotel
#34 of 77 in Dharamsala
66 reviews
20.1 mi away
WelcomHeritage Taragarh Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Grand Raj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Grand Raj

Property: Hotel The Grand Raj
Address: Dharamshala Road, Kangra 176001, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kangra District > Kangra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Kangra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Grand Raj 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a three star facility hotel situated in the heart of Kangra city. Recently Kings XI Punjab team stayed with us during the IPL matches in Dharamshala. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel The Grand Raj Kangra, India - Himachal Pradesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing