We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Villa!!”
Review of Clouds End Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kangra
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Clouds End Villa
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Second stay here.. this is more like home and we def come and stay here cause of all the warmth and the homely feeling, You are definitely treated like royalty and the food is exceptional. we stayed here for 2 nights and the feeling was exceptional. You could spend your time going to mcleodganj nearby or just do some nature walks as this place has a exceptional winding road. not so good views to speak of, but the stay makes up for it.
Sam and Chuttki are the two dogs that you would def like to meet there.

Room Tip: Go for the main cottages, ll make the stay more worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebjyotiDey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2013

Good things first - Caretaker Raghuvir. Other staff - warmth missing. Price. ummm.. that's all.

Here is the rest.

Rooms - your luck. What we got (3 rooms) were below average and you won't find pictures of these rooms on their website - else we'd have refused to book them. Calling such rooms heritage is a mere excuse - carpet, upholstery, fittings can and should still be cleaned, repaired and replaced - don't need to be as ancient as Kangra Dynasty itself. Honestly, when we complained - we were offered other rooms which were tad better - but the inertia of packing and unpacking held us back - specially when besides sleeping in the room, there was nothing else one can do in the hotel.

Food - except for aaloo parantha and probebly butter chicken - the royal cook was inept. 'Royal' kitchen lacks tandoor/bar-be-que. So no snacks possible besides Pakoras. At 5 degrees, the food served in your room comes in steel utensils - as they have only one casserole - which might be occupied when you are having your breakfast or dinner. So, have chilled poori or parantha or sabzi. Forget anything else beyond few North Indian dishes they can make.

Infrastructure - Heaters won't work or work partially, so room will never be comfortable unless you are inside the quilt. Complaints will fall on deaf ears. Bathrooms - no exhausts. When asked why - they say - "Some foreigners coming this time have asked for it. We'd put this time." Weird but true answer from a caretaker. Foreigners need exhaust in bathrooms. :)

Cleanliness is average-to-good somewhere. Beyond these basics, nothing else likeable. Poor guys don't even know how to arrange a bonfire, nor do they have a decent place for one.

New Year eve was as uneventful as possibly can be, courtesy Clouds End Villa, Dharmshala.

So, not a place to stay for a family holiday really. For a Solo stay, meditation, ascetic life - maybe try it. Don't really know what Good North Indian Food tastes like - maybe try it.

Room Tip: Ask for newer rooms on first floor near main house (i.e. kings house).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MohitMiglani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Stayed for about 4 days in June 2012, booked it coz of the excellent reviews on Tripadvisor. While the place is pretty decent, calling it excellent is going too far. And it definitely is not a heritage property.

We got 2 double rooms, both were of a good size. Clean, and maintained well. Bathroom was well designed and most importantly, clean. The staff was excellent, and took real good care of us. I think that is the best part of Clouds End Villa. Food is alright, nothing exceptional, though I can vouch for their dahi and breakfast paranthas.

The only thing that kind of ticked me off was that there is no 'view' to speak off. You can see the mountains through the trees, but nothing to write home about.

Room Tip: Pick the cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doonyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Excellent stay at heritage property. Food qulaity is very good and prepared food as per our choice. House keeping is very good. Mr. Raghuveersingh is very co-operative. Staff is very co-operative.

Send room photograph from net as a refernece at the time of booking to avoide any confusion in room type.

Very good garden.

Room Tip: Book family cotage with 2 bed room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jatin_1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

This is the most hospitable place I've ever stayed at. The staff was amazing and extremely helpful. It's just like being at home. Anything we asked for was done within minutes. Our stuff was lying around all over the house and we found it kept neatly everyday. There's not much to eat here other than fruits, eggs etc.
Eating in Cafes is the best thing to do anyway. I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Book the King's cottage to stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Devvaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Stayed in Clouds end Villa for two days and enjoyed a royal experience.My kids enjoyed the location and ambience.The rooms were very large and dining is very huge.Homely food and excellent staff.Believe and enjoy the experience

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Constantine70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

If you are on a long trip and have Dharamshala in your schedule, I recommend you stay at the CEV to recharge your batteries. For CEV provides a home like experience. We are a family of four and had booked Cottage with 2 double rooms / dining area.

The cottage had 2 bed rooms with attached bathrooms in each room. The cottage also had a living room and a small dining area. The living room overlooked the scenic locales of the hilly town.

The service was exceptional with a butler (Raju) taking care of our needs all the time. Raju was so sincere that I wondered if we still had people like him left in the world. There was no need to tell Raju our needs as he would automatically bring us tea, snacks and food with some kind of a sixth sense. The cook too needs mention, as the food was very home like, made with fresh ingredients and pure spices. There is however the need for some variety in cuisine as one could get bored with the north Indian fare on a long stay. It deserves to be mentioned that there was no limit on how big a portion would be and Raju would help size it as per our needs. As I said before do not expect a hotel like treatment, rather be prepared to be treated as if you were staying in a friends house.

Its possible to walk to McLeodganj via the back of the villa in approximately 30 minutes and the distance is around 2 kms. This is only for the younger lot as the end of this path is a wall which needs some effort to climb, although there are some bricks laid as makeshift steps. If not you could hire the hotel taxi which is also reasonably priced, as it is run by the hotels neighbour - Rajesh. Rajesh is very trust worthy and you can ask for any advice on the locality.

Things that need to be improved are the bathroom fittings and variety in breakfast. The flush in one of the bathrooms was not functioning and this proved to be inconvenient. It would be good if the hotel had a reception and a dining area with a buffet breakfast served every morning.

Room Tip: Go for the cottage or the suite if you like to have a great experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bijucyborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kangra
0 mi away
Udechee Huts
Udechee Huts
#2 of 27 in McLeod Ganj
263 reviews
0 mi away
Pink House
Pink House
#3 of 27 in McLeod Ganj
715 reviews
0 mi away
Fortune Park Moksha
Fortune Park Moksha
#1 of 27 in McLeod Ganj
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Raja ka Bagh, a boutique hotel
0 mi away
Hotel Maurya
Hotel Maurya
#9 of 18 in Kangra
10 reviews
0 mi away
WelcomHeritage Taragarh Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clouds End Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clouds End Villa

Address: Naoroji Road,, Kangra 176215, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kangra District > Kangra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Kangra
Price Range: £20 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at 'Clouds End Villa,' a sprawling 9 acre property with its own step field, gardens and forests. Cloud End was recommended in the Tatlers Travel guide 1993 as one of the 50 best hotels in the world. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Clouds End Villa Kangra, India - Himachal Pradesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing