We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
United Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$308
US$296
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$74
US$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$182
US$161
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$195
US$156
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
San Want(Da'an)
US$105
US$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$181
US$162
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$131
US$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
US$155
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$97
US$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$85
US$81
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (333)
Filter reviews
333 results
Traveller rating
51
176
72
19
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
51
176
72
19
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssun yat sen memorial hallmrt stationgood eatswalking distanceeastern districtminute walkbusiness tripexcellent locationluxurious hotelfree upgradeexecutive roomrestaurants and cafesxinyi districtrooms are largeconvenience storecentral locationshopping area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 333 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2014

One advice: stay away from this hotel! Like other reviewers have noticed, the first thing that hits you when you enter is the smell of mold. That only continues in the room but then mixed with a sewage smell in the bathroom. Due to the single glass-hardly-closing windows, the street noise cannot be blocked from the room. Now that they are building the Taipei Dome, they work day and night. So if you like to enjoy an night filled with construction noise, this is the place to be.
If that wasn't enough, I did not have hot water to shower. Shall I continue? The carpets and sofa were full of stains, the toilet hardly flushed. I stay about 60-70 nights a year in hotel rooms, so I know what value for money can be: certainly not this one.
One positive note: the bed was soft and the staff is friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank F M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Actually, the overall of this hotel is good. It's just 2 mins walking distance to MRT. 10 mins walks to 101 tower as well as lots of local restaurants around the hotel. However, when I was check-in at 16:00, it is not a peak hour. There are 2 staff working at reception. I need to wait 15mins. for check-in. Need to improve.

Room Tip: Higher floor with facing the 101 tower
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raymond_Choi1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This was my 2nd stay at this hotel and will be my last. The attempt is to be eclectic but it fails miserably. 1st stay it was okay...I think it was on the cusp of less is more trend. The room was spacious and had a huge bathroom with claw tub and full shower. Since the location was good, I guess I overlooked the rest of the property. Plus I spent little time in the actual room.
This time I saw the hotel more clearly. The lobby is drab and boring. Wandering to the room there was a vacuum hiding behind a drape in the hall. You open the window to a slew of apartment windows...I had a claw tub with a shower attachment inside...it was perilous to try and bathe....I dreaded it and almost needed a small ladder to get in and out. The fan ran constantly and it seemed there was no control over the temperature. They had a water shut off for maintenance from 1 AM to 5 AM. That is not a big deal but since you don't sleep much in Asia it was just another minor annoyance. The funny part was they are greeting you and opening the door constantly (a nice touch) BUT when we were actually leaving and getting in the cab there was no one in sight to help us load the luggage. I am perfectly capable of loading luggage but the 2-3 man team just was gone:)
Breakfast was cold for the most part...
On the plus side, The check in staff was delightful and very helpful.

Room Tip: Not sure there is a good room but make sure you get a room with a separate shower
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This is my second time to visit the hotel. Both times are for business purpose.

Hotel is located next to Sun Yet-Sen Memorial Hall Metro station. You can find the hotel at the Exit A. For tourist, hotel location is good as Sun Yet-Sen Memorial Hall and Taipei 101 are very close to the hotel. There are a lot of food stores and restaurants within your 15 minute walking distance.

Hotel quality is fair. The staff is polite and helpful. The first perception is not good as hotel corridor is old and a little bit dark. The room is old but clean. There is enough space for room and bathroom. It is strange that the size of my room is triangle.

Wifi is available with unique password for each room. Wifi is not stable but you can use the wifi of next room as the password is easy to guess.

The breakfast buffet is okay. There are plenty of food including Western, Chinese and Japanese food. The food is not so warm when I have the breakfast at 8:30. Ham is good but don't expect too much on the food quality.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SquidHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

The first thing that hits you as you walk through the doors of this hotel is that it is depressingly dark and dingy and the overwhelming smell of mould! Even though we had pre-paid our hotel bill they asked us for a deposit of NTD $5000 at the reception which they said was in case we used the mini-bar or hotel laundry service. As you walk along the corridor to your room there is an unpleasant smell. The room is reasonable. It looks like it has been recently renovated, however the carpet was stained, the bedding had an awful odour and the wardrobe smelt very unpleasant. The bed was hard and lumpy and the view from the window was of rubbish bins!

The good points - breakfast buffet is nice, dinner was good too. It's near the MRT for easy transport and the lobby staff were helpful getting taxis for us.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, choose an executive room.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Queenbee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews