We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is a must see wild cat santuary” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tenikwa Wildlife Awareness Centre

Tenikwa Wildlife Awareness Centre
Book In Advance
More Info
US$18.11*
and up
Wild Cat Experience Tour
Ranked #2 of 12 things to do in The Crags
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Tenikwa Wildlife Awareness Centre offers your guests the opportunity for a close, safe, inter-active encounter with all of the lesser cats of South Africa, as well as Cheetah and Leopard. We guarantee sightings of African Wild Cat, Blackfooted Cat, Serval, Caracal, Cheetah and Leopard. The Tenikwa encounter is a great follow-on to a game reserve / safari experience; from viewing the cats at a distance to the opportunity to study these beautiful animals at close quarters. Tenikwa also has a Meerkat Meander where visitors can see Meerkats and Tortoises and there is also a variety of indigenous waterfowl, Blue Cranes and Marabou Storks to delight bird watchers. Tenikwa supports the upliftment of local communities through Eco tourism and is environmentally responsible. Entrance fees fund Tenikwa's NPO Wildlife Rehabilitation and Release Programme. Open 365 days a year. Amenities include a Tea Garden for light meals, Parking, Wheel-chair Friendly, Mothers Corner
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Potter Bar, Herts (near London), England
Level Contributor
359 reviews
142 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
“This is a must see wild cat santuary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Quite often when one visits attractions they are bland and run to a formula but this is clearly not how Tenikwa has been set up.

On arrival one gets a very friendly greeting and for safety they provide secure lockers where you can leave all the belongings except cameras so you are more free to e joy the guided tour.

Our guide was extremely friendly and knowledgeable and the good thing is they limit Numbers for a tour to very small groups so you do get to hear what the guide is saying and have a chance to ask questions rather than getting lost in a large group.

We started our tour and were shown a wide range of smaller cats and entered some of the enclosures. Then we moved on to larger cats including Cheetah's and went into one of the enclosures to up close and personal.

When we visited it was possible to book a group ticket to cover the Elephant and Bird Sanctuary and this meant you got to see the cats for free.

They also have a number of other animals one can walk round and see including Meerkats.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wacky the Wizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,016
    213
    48
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Informative guides and good choice of cats to see”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

The tour was very interesting, with loads of information about the cats, the guide was very nice (ours was Jerry), we could observe all the cats, the group was not too big (8 people).
I don't know why they have penguins and baboons, as they don't have much to do with the cats.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank tweetster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenikwa, Owner at Tenikwa Wildlife Awareness Centre, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you for your review of Tenikwa and I am really glad that you enjoyed the tour as well as our interesting South African cats that you saw. In response to your query as to why we also have penguins and baboons (and other species of South African Wildlife), whilst our speciality is on raising awareness about the declining populations of wild cats of South Africa and particularly the Lesser Cats that are found on the outskirts of suburbia and farm, we also raise awareness of other wildlife that so often comes into conflict with humans and as a result suffer from population decline or persecution. These are the species that we so often receive in our rehabilitation centre. For example, South Africa has lost 75% of its penguin population within the last decade and this rate of decline is unsustainable and mainly caused by things people do or have done in the past 25 years. At Tenikwa, we undertake Rehabilitation as well as Awareness. Rehabilitation is the quick win but it is costly and has minimal impact on populations as a whole. Awareness and changing people's behaviour is the longer term intervention that can prevent species dwindling down to genetically unviable populations like where the Cheetah is today. Conservation is a fascinating topic and what you learnt at Tenikwa is very applicable in your own country - wildlife all over the world is being compromised. Too many humans, not enough wild spaces left. Thanks again for taking the time to leave feedback. Regards Mandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Once in a lifetime experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Celebrating our civil partnership we booked a sunset cheetah walk. Being so up close with these amazing animals was humbling and an opportunity I'm glad we didn't miss. At the end, the staff toasted our recent nuptials with a glass of wine whilst the sun set over the park. Located near both kynysna and plettenberg bay it was easy to travel to.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SarahHarris2602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
108 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Lots of cats”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Our guide was fantastic and knew a lot about all of the cats as well as the baboons and meerkats. I think the tour is supposed to take about an hour but we never felt rushed and even went back to visit one of the cats to see if we could get a better view. We enjoyed getting close to the leopards.

When we arrived we asked if we could also do the lion walk but they were booked for the day. At the end of our tour, the woman at the front desk asked us if we still wanted to take the walk since there had been some cancellations. We really appreciated the fact that she remembered us and paid enough attention to ask if we still wanted to do the tour.

I wish there had been more cats to see. The leopard was hiding in the bushes so it was hard to see him. (Yes, I know - this is wildlife!)

Overall we felt that the service was good, the animals seem well cared for, and our guide was well informed.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank daisey_1_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton-on-Trent
Level Contributor
643 reviews
254 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Experience of a lifetime”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

We went to the centre expecting to see some cats. We were pleasantly surprised that we could actually (nervously at first) walk into the enclosures of the cheetahs, the wildcats and the servals. Our guide (Joel) was most informative and highly entertaining. We learnt a lot about these beautiful animals. We also went on the cheetah walk - that is something I never thought to experience: getting really close to the cat and actually stroking it. We felt that it was time and money well spent.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank GerMar60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tenikwa Wildlife Awareness Centre also viewed

 
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
The Crags, Plettenberg Bay
 

Been to Tenikwa Wildlife Awareness Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing