We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique and memorable experience for children and adults”

Tenikwa Wildlife Awareness Centre
Book In Advance
More Info
US$18.29*
and up
Wild Cat Experience Tour
Ranked #2 of 14 things to do in The Crags
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Tenikwa grew from humble beginnings in 2002 when the owners started rehabilitating injured birds in a wooded shed behind their house. Today Tenikwa has grown to be one of the largest active Wildlife Rehabilitation Centres in the Western Cape, attending to a diverse variety of animals accepting both terrestrial and marine mammals and birds. Rehabilitating injured and abandoned Wildlife with the goal to release them back to the wild. Our centre rescue, rehabilitate and release between 250 - 450 wild animals annually. We work closely with nature/conservation authorities in our area, CapeNature, SANParks, BirdLife, and SANCCOB. Our Awareness Centre ensures that our Rehabilitation facilities are sustainable, funding the rehabilitation work and to raise awareness of the conservation issues in South Africa, Tenikwa offers various, programs throughout the day, catering for all ages and fitness levels with a focus on providing a conservation-based, informative tour. Guests learn about the indigenous wild cats of South Africa and why they are disappearing from our landscape.Species include African Wild Cats, Serval, Caracal, Cheetah, Leopard and Lions. The Tenikwa encounter is a great follow-on to a game reserve / safari experience; from viewing the cats at a distance to the opportunity to study these beautiful animals at close quarters. Tenikwa also has a Meerkat Meander where visitors can see Meerkats and Tortoises and there is also a variety of indigenous waterfowl, Blue Cranes and Marabou Storks to delight bird watchers. Tenikwa supports the upliftment of local communities through Eco tourism and is environmentally responsible. Entrance fees fund Tenikwa's NPO Wildlife Rehabilitation and Release Programme. Open 365 days a year. Amenities include a Tea Garden for light meals, Parking, Wheel-chair Friendly, Mothers Corner
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
“A unique and memorable experience for children and adults”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We visited the centre with our 7 year old son and we believe he was the first to attend the new 'Eco-kids' tour and gain a certificate there.
We all had a great time, the rangers were very informative, particularly when responding to questions. They bring the tour to life with some of the amazing facts, humorous stories and anecdotes not just on the cheetahs but some of the less well known animals like the Serval.
Although we had anticipated walking with the cheetahs, note there is a height restriction that limits it to larger children. On the day though, when we saw the cats, we could understand why!
Overall a really enjoyable, unique and informative experience; we'd love to go back.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,085
    229
    52
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“HEAVEN for animal lovers”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Monwa, our guide, was adorably gentle, knowledgeable, enthusiastic and perfectly matched for his career specializing in caretaking and preservation of these cats. He provides his visitors with an unparalleled experience and even gave us an extended tour because we were asking so many questions and enjoying our time with him! My husband and I went in the afternoon and booked a regular tour, but we were the only visitors there not doing a sunset cheetah tour. We lucked out and got Monwa's undivided attention as he took us around the grounds (even inside the fenced spaces for some species of cats like cheetahs!!). Monwa was so incredible, that he arranged for us to watch the caretakers feed the elusive and often unseen male leopard at the Tenikwa Wildlife Center. A truly unforgettable experience and helped us to tick off an often difficult "to do" while in S Africa: see a leopard!

The philosophy of this center is pretty incredible and a piece of rare and genuine altruism. The animals are NOT housed like they would be at a zoo with small spaces designed for the visitor's viewing rather than the animal comfort. In fact, this center is the opposite, which we LOVED! The caretakers and tour guides bring visitors into the cats' "home" environments and share knowledge about each species and their preservation plan and challenges. We were even told that the center is working toward acquiring some tigers or lions to help conserve, too!

Be sure to "thank" (TIP) your tour guide for their time as well as their love and protection of some of our world's most rare and misunderstood animals!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MLCarwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedgefield, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Visit Family Vogts”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Our guests were overawed by the Tenikwa experience. They enjoyed interacting with the smaller cats and appreciated the in depth knowledge shared by the guides. The photo opportunities were also appreciated.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cheetah Walk”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My wife and I absolutely loved our cheetah walk. I have done this before as well and I still really enjoyed our trip. To encounter these beautiful animals up close is amazing. You really feel their presence when you go on these walks. The cats were very relaxed and seemed very excited to go out on the walks. There is nothing better than having a Cheetah purr at you when you tickle them. The guides were with us at all times giving us facts about them and answering our questions. I really feel this is an excellent experience done in a safe and well managed way. These animals are impeccably looked after, and the team created an excellent awareness of how their natural environments are in danger or disappearing.

I already look forward to my third trip there.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A really good cause......”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Very informative, very friendly and well worth spending a half day here. We went on one of their first children focused tours which our 6 year old boy really loved.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tenikwa Wildlife Awareness Centre also viewed

Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
The Crags, Plettenberg Bay
 
The Crags, Plettenberg Bay
 

Been to Tenikwa Wildlife Awareness Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing