We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Together with cheetahs in the forest”

Tenikwa Wildlife Awareness Centre
Book In Advance
More Info
US$18.29*
and up
Wild Cat Experience Tour
Ranked #2 of 14 things to do in The Crags
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Tenikwa grew from humble beginnings in 2002 when the owners started rehabilitating injured birds in a wooded shed behind their house. Today Tenikwa has grown to be one of the largest active Wildlife Rehabilitation Centres in the Western Cape, attending to a diverse variety of animals accepting both terrestrial and marine mammals and birds. Rehabilitating injured and abandoned Wildlife with the goal to release them back to the wild. Our centre rescue, rehabilitate and release between 250 - 450 wild animals annually. We work closely with nature/conservation authorities in our area, CapeNature, SANParks, BirdLife, and SANCCOB. Our Awareness Centre ensures that our Rehabilitation facilities are sustainable, funding the rehabilitation work and to raise awareness of the conservation issues in South Africa, Tenikwa offers various, programs throughout the day, catering for all ages and fitness levels with a focus on providing a conservation-based, informative tour. Guests learn about the indigenous wild cats of South Africa and why they are disappearing from our landscape.Species include African Wild Cats, Serval, Caracal, Cheetah, Leopard and Lions. The Tenikwa encounter is a great follow-on to a game reserve / safari experience; from viewing the cats at a distance to the opportunity to study these beautiful animals at close quarters. Tenikwa also has a Meerkat Meander where visitors can see Meerkats and Tortoises and there is also a variety of indigenous waterfowl, Blue Cranes and Marabou Storks to delight bird watchers. Tenikwa supports the upliftment of local communities through Eco tourism and is environmentally responsible. Entrance fees fund Tenikwa's NPO Wildlife Rehabilitation and Release Programme. Open 365 days a year. Amenities include a Tea Garden for light meals, Parking, Wheel-chair Friendly, Mothers Corner
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Hjortshoej, Denmark
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Together with cheetahs in the forest”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We (husband, 3 daughters 15 - 23 years and me) went to Tenikwa in july this year. We have bookes our tickets in advance without problems.

Our guide told a lot about the cats and their natural behaviour. Now we know a lot more about lepards, servals, cheetahs and wild cats and about threats against their survival. We went into the cheetahs fence - small children close to parents and with guides in front and back.

Afterwards we went on the sunset cheetahs walk. Not allowed for children under 150 m. It gave us the chance to follow these very elegant predators on their walk in the surroundings. Moving and then suddenly relaxing on the ground. We just had to be aware and follow (or release the belt....).

The guides was very informative and very good at making the rules clear and keep animals - and guests - relaxed

Later in july we went to safari and the informations we get in Tenikwa was very useful. We didn't see cheetahs in the Nothern part of South Africa neither in Botswana - så we were happy about our experiences in Tenikwa.

We did a mistake and didn't gave any tips to our competente guides - we hadn't get used to that South African system yet.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenikwa, Owner at Tenikwa Wildlife Awareness Centre, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your wonderful feedback about your visit and experience at Tenikwa. One of the advantages of seeing the cats at Tenikwa before a safari is to gain the knowledge but also see some of the more shy cats that you seldom see in the wild. Please do not feel bad about tipping our guides. Whilst they do appreciate a token of a job well done, in South Africa, tipping is not a pre-requisite, and we always share TripAdvisor feedback with our staff so that we can all grow and know how we are doing in terms of raising awareness in the general public. Thanks once again for the lovely review. Regards Mandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,085
    229
    52
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cheetah Walk and visit”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I went on the sunrise cheetah walk so it was a very early start. Despite this, it was a lovely day and the cheetah guides were very good at making the rules clear and keeping the animal relaxed. We had a great walk for an hour and a half with Duma, and he was beautiful. After the walk we fed Thandi and her brother and then were served a welcome surprise breakfast before going around the other enclosures. We saw both caracal and leopard, and went into the African Wild Cat and serval enclosures. It was a great combination of awareness and seeing the cats, which are well treated and in good condition, and the staff are very friendly.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank EDam9494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wild cat experience”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Being able to experience large cats, especially ones that are dwindling in numbers. It was good to learn that sanctuaries such as this are trying to keep the various species alive while they are being killed in the wild for senseless reasons.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DaveSwart1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great for tourists”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

If you are a tourist wanting to see some of our beautiful Cats, this is for you. I love the idea of rehabilitation and conservation and that is what Tenikwa stands for! all the "Cat Experiences' or 'Walk with the Cheetahs' are a bit too pricey for locals though.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank iamthedre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenikwa, Owner at Tenikwa Wildlife Awareness Centre, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Hi there, thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor regarding your recent visit to Tenikwa. You are correct in that our objective is wildlife rehabilitation and conservation awareness and the South African market is particularly important to us because we are the ones who can do something about our South African conservation problems. So it is disappointing to hear that you feel our programmes are too expensive for the local market. In determining what to charge for our programmes, we take into account that we need to pay a respectable salary to our staff, offer you a safe, informative experience with trained guides, give our animals uncompromised quality of life and veterinary care, not under-cut other facilities with cheap marketing campaigns to pump volumes of guests through, and at the same time fund a non-profit wildlife rehabilitation programme that puts many animals back into the wild each year. Everything, like in nature, needs to be in balance. Thank you for visiting our centre and allowing us to achieve these objectives. Regards Mandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I did the Crazee Cat Day, they treat you like royalty. The food was really great, the staff amazing, the facilities beautiful, the animals magnificent! Really an awesome day I will remember forever, one of a kind program they have and it is excellent! Worth every cent.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Samantha van der Westhuizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenikwa, Owner at Tenikwa Wildlife Awareness Centre, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for the feedback provided on your recent Crazee Cat Day all-day programme at Tenikwa. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the time spent at our centre experiencing not only the programs and amazing animals, but a little of the behind-the-scenes spirit that drives Tenikwa. We appreciate your support and hope you took back with you many happy memories and pictures of your day at Tenikwa. Regards Mandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tenikwa Wildlife Awareness Centre also viewed

Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
The Crags, Plettenberg Bay
 
The Crags, Plettenberg Bay
 

Been to Tenikwa Wildlife Awareness Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing