We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Tree Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Trogon House and Forest Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Unique Tree Hotel”
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

Trogon House and Forest SPA is a Unique Hotel completely built on the trees with a nice view in the Forest. There is a lovely Pool and the interior is an amazing. The owner and the staff are extremely Kind and helpful. Despite being a Little away from the City and all Kinds of Shop they succeed in making guests very happy. Apart from the view from the room into the Forest you can here all kind of birds, frogs and animals. It is really a unique boutique hotel in a very special setting. The only difficult thing is the road to this beautiful place. It is advisable to Drive very slowely and in the 1 gear unless you have an offroad car with 4 weel drive. Especially if it is raining a lot it can be an adventure to drive to the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anschwae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    74
    17
    4
    5
See reviews for
32
222
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

I have been in a variety of resorts in SAf, EU, US. Trogon House is very special. It really is unique.

It is Carved out of or into the Tsitsikama forest. Mainly Full length glass walls and roofs, means you sleep in a forest, you shower against the forest, and if you wish, you have wooden screens for privacy. The furnishing of each room, the generous lounges, is ancient African or Asian, old elaborately carved wooden beds, tables. Chairs, pots, vases, carpets, wall hangings. Then there are Grand stone fireplaces, huge comfortable couches.

Eating outside at the pool looking into the forest is blissful. We enjoyed the sauna/whirlpool spa.....great as the sun sets. Nicci who has taken over from her sister Shannon is delightful and most helpful, as are her staff. This is five star luxury but in an isolated silent forest. That's what is so unique.

Two tips: driving up the challenging sand road, don't slow down alongside the monkey reserve fence. Lock your doors! There are long armed monkeys able to open car doors, run alongside you and steal. They are former Singapore monkey thieves.

Go to 'Enrico's' for a sunset supper. The fish is personally caught fresh every day. Red Roman was my partner's best fish meal in over a decade!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Leonard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nyon, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We spent 3 days of our honeymoon at Trogon House. What an amazing experience! The house is built in the forest and very stylishly decorated. We stayed in the Master suite in the main villa. (There is one guest room in this villa. The other villa, which is a replica, has 3 guest rooms. The two villas are separated by a 50m long boardwalk). The room was luxurious, a great size, and for once, exactly like the pictures on the website, and the bed was comfortable There are blinds on the pool-side of the room, which you can close for privacy, if other people are out on the deck, while all of the other windows look out directly to the forest (no blinds). We had breakfast and dinner out on the deck, with a fantastic view over the forest. The staff looked after us very well and were very friendly, and helped with our luggage which we really appreciated. We had massages and the spa experience in the forest spa (which had a hot-tub and sauna) with champagne and a lunch platter, which we would highly recommend. If you are looking for privacy and a stay in a high quality getaway, then this place is for you.

If I had to point out some negatives: The 1km gravel road from Monkeyland to the entrance is highly rutted and in some serious need of work.
No safe in the room.
While we had no incidents on our trip, we did wonder about security. While it is great to have the privacy, when the staff leave for the evening, you are alone in the lodge as there are no other guest rooms in the main lodge, and as the house is in the forest, naturally it is not gated.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maakie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

It is like a luxurious mansion in the middle of the forest.

Doted by several swimming pools, great living rooms and fabulous decoration. All walls and several roofs are made of glass so you feel sourounded by nature all the time.

I also took the spa, sparkling wine and the dinner. The spa was really amazing and the dinner was just ok. The breakfast was a little bit slow but also ok. The crew was very warm and polite.

Things I didn't like:

1.To get there you have go across a non asphalted path that is a little bit disgusting
2. No A/C
3. No wifi

Definetly I would go there again ;)

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Letizia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Trogon House is an idyllic honeymoon destination. The staff were very attentive and friendly. The area is full of activities, so the location is very central. I loved the fact that i was so close to nature but still had the luxury of modern living. The spa is an amazing experience because it's private and can be hired out exclusively.

I would definitely rate them a 5/5 because of their attention to details and spectacular service

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayesha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

Fantastic peaceful and relaxing. Pleasant staff. Enjoy the drive to the lodge. Unique experience showering so close to nature. You have to get here and try it out. Food good and the deck is ideal to have cocktails. Just bliss......................................

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knysna
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Trogon House is in the most idyllic place imaginable.

The staff was excellent and the food brilliant.

The area is full of amazing activities. The beautiful wild lief you wake up to and go to sleep with is really spectacular.

I would advise anyone to pay this piece of eden a visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Crags
8.3 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
552 reviews
13.3 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
538 reviews
13.0 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
371 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tamodi Lodge
Tamodi Lodge
#1 of 9 in The Crags
268 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hog Hollow Country Lodge
Hog Hollow Country Lodge
#2 of 9 in The Crags
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trogon House and Forest Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trogon House and Forest Spa

Property: Trogon House and Forest Spa
Address: Monkeyland Road/Animal Alley | PO Box 110, The Crags, Plettenberg Bay 6602, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay > The Crags
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Speciality Lodging in The Crags
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Trogon House and Forest Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trogon House & Forest Spa offers exquisite luxury, suspended in the tree tops of a forest reserve that stretches untamed along the Tsitsikamma mountains and beyond. Elevated into the tree tops, the lodges embrace the forest with see-through glass walls and sky-lit roofs, creating a true "nature forest" experience. What really sets Trogon House apart, is the absolute privacy and exclusivity in the midst of nature's pristine beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Trogon House and Forest Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trogon House And Forest Hotel The Crags
Trogon House And Forest Spa South Africa/The Crags

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing