We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff and Animals were great!”

Jukani Wildlife Sanctuary
Book In Advance
More Info
US$16.18*
and up
Jukani Wildlife Sanctuary Admission with Guided Tour
Ranked #7 of 14 things to do in The Crags
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Jukani is part of the South African Animal Sanctuary Alliance (SAASA) #PlettPredators #CragsCarnivores #HandsOffOurWildlife #SaasaVisit Come and visit Jukani which is the home of rescued predators and other wildlife where the focus is on conservation and education, specifically on the plight of predators both in captivity and in the wild all over the world.At Jukani you can see most of the larger cats such as lion, Bengal and Siberian tiger, jaguar, leopard, cheetah, puma, caracal and serval together with rarer species such as white lions and tigers and black leopard.The sanctuary is also home to other predators such as African wild dog, hyena, jackal, honey badger and zorilla together with other wildlife such as zebra, springbuck and raccoons. Our experienced and knowledgeable guides will take you on a tour of the sanctuary and introduce you to its inhabitants whilst offering a wealth of interesting and fascinating information regarding each of the species.A visit to Jukani is not just about viewing big cats, it is an informative experience at a sanctuary where the animal's physical and emotional needs are placed first and foremost. Unlike some other facilities, the cats here do not breed and cubs are not removed from their mothers to be 'cuddled' by visitors. These cubs often end their days as trophy hunter's prey. Jukani is a sanctuary, a place of refuge where the wildlife is treated with respect and protected from hunting and other dangers in safe and natural surroundings.The South African Animal Sanctuary Alliance, a non-profit organisation (PBO No. 200/060 667/08 NPO 008 - 464) is the sole custodian of all the animals at Jukani, and therefore their future is secured. Jukani is funded by means of responsible eco-tourism and strives to achieve an effective balance between conservation and economic reality.A restaurant and curio shop is also available together with disabled access and facilities.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Baby buggy parking
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Arrived for the 10am tour and at first thought it may be not that great as a lot of the animals were hiding under trees, it was hot. The guide Tom was very knowledgable and what we did see was great. Decided to go back for the 4pm tour as apparently the cats come out before feeding time. You can go in and out all day with the same ticket. Well we were not disappointed as they were all in sight and beautiful. Most walking up to the fence and almost posing for the photos. The animals are so well kept and look so healthy. The staff were really friendly and we thank them for a fantastic day. A must see while in Plett.

Thank Neish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (522)
There are newer reviews for Jukani Wildlife Sanctuary
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

428 - 432 of 522 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

This was an amazing experience. It has only just moved to its current location after 5 years of planning. The staff seem to really care about the animals and the ethos of the sanctuary. The guides walk you around between each of the enclosures. Our guide, Chantelle, was excellent. Very informative. Tours start on the hour, every hour from 9-4. We were very lucky as we were the only two when we took the 3pm tour. After a sunny day, it had just turned cloudy and the animals were out roaming and eager to be fed. We saw all the animals which wouldn't have been the case earlier in the day.

In retrospect I would have gone for a 4pm tour, just before feeding time.

Thank dj_vhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The team that run Jukani are super friendly, and our tour guide Chantelle was amazing. You get the sense that they truly love what they are doing, and really care for the animals.

The park has large, well maintained enclosures for the animals to roam, and you can see that all the big kitties (and the little one's too) are very well taken care of. If you'd like to see the amazingly beautiful big cats, many of which are in real danger of becoming extinct in our lifetime, visit Jukani. You won't be disappointed.

Tip: try to visit in the late afternoon close to feeding time. The cats are active and patrol the perimeters of their enclosures which will give you a good look at there's magnificent creatures.

Thank Shaan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerRoyalHickup, Social Media Manager at Jukani Wildlife Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Shaan M

Thank you for the wonderful review, we appreciate all reviews we get. I will make sure Chantelle get's to see it as well. It is always good for us to hear that our guides are truly doing great!
Thank you for visiting and hopefully we will have you and some family and friends visiting us again soon!
Kindest Regards
Vijver
Social Media Manager SAASA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Wow what a great experience my family and I had visiting Jukani!
From the moment we arrived we were welcomed by the manager Karin and the friendly staff.
The tour guide commenced the tour by sharing information on the creation of Jukani and the work it is trying to achieve having just moved from Mossel Bay to Plett, and the new superb larger area where they have created enclosures using the landscape benefitting from large established trees which creates a natural environment for these beautiful creatures.
Our guide Tom offered a wealth of information especially on the technical aspects of these creatures. He carefully answered all our questions and it was obvious how passionate and caring he was towards the animals and the environment.
Once again Thank you so much for a fantastic afternoon.
we will surely be visiting again!
warm regards, Lloyd , Trish & Hannah.

Thank KnysnaStays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerRoyalHickup, Social Media Manager at Jukani Wildlife Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear KnysnaStays

Thank you kindly for your review. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your tour with Tom! It is always good to hear people are enjoying our guides! I would also like to thank you for those amazing photos! Absolutely breathtaking - specially the one with the teeth showing.
Thank you for visiting and hopefully we will see you again soon.

Kindest Regards
Vijver
Social Media Manager SAASA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I visited Jukani the other day on a guided tour. I really was amazed at the way it has been setup. The guide that took us (cant remember name) told us alot about the animals. He seemed to have an almost personal relationship with alot of them. I learned things that I never knew and got a chance to see animals that I don't think I will have a chance to see in their natural environment. One of the only things that I did not see was the smelly pole cat??? At the end of the tour, there is a snake tent with alot of snakes, this is also setup very well and was impressed to learn that the backdrops are specifically designed with plants and terain from the origin of the snake. They really have taken alot of time and effort.
I visited with my fiance but I think this would be a great place to bring kids.

Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerRoyalHickup, Social Media Manager at Jukani Wildlife Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Lisa B

Thank you so much for the review. We appreciate each and every review. I am sorry you did not see the stinky pole cat but hopefully you will visit us again in the future and you will get to see him then.
I would personally like to thank you for the mention of our Reptile Enclosure "snake tent" as our CEO, Marketing Manager and Myself spend quite a few hours/days/weeks working on finding those back drops and it is wonderful to hear that it is appreciated.
Hope to see you visiting again soon.
Kindest Regards
Vijver
Social Media Manager SAASA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jukani Wildlife Sanctuary also viewed

 
The Crags, Plettenberg Bay
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to Jukani Wildlife Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing