We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of Tamodi Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tamodi Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We found this gem on the internet and am pleased to say it is even better than the pictures online. Owen (the owner) was there to greet us on arrival and what a magnificent property he has created, the attention to detail was superb and our every need was meticulously carried out. The wine cellar a favourite with the ‘boys’. The staff were happy and professional. The only bad comment is that we had to leave, two nights wasn’t enough to enjoy this outstanding property.

Room Tip: All rooms spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helga P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
209
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

What a stunning place. Its tucked down a gravel path and you should be prepared to drive to and from town but its worth it. The rooms, the views, the staff...all amazing. You can see the love thats gone in to building this place. The finish and the decor is spot on!

We stayed for three nights in the honeymoon suite but wish we could have stayed for longer. Sitting out on our terrace at night was an experience, being from London, we've never seen stars like it! And I dont think I've ever eaten breakfast over such fantastic views!

Owen has got this place absolutely right in every way!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pmac125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bucks
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Our first visit to Tamodi this year and the whole experience was fantastic.The property is beautiful, carefully designed and built, with stunning views and very peaceful
Owen is a brilliant host, and the rooms he has created are stunning. His wine cellar is worth a trip on its own! and his breakfast lovely!
We visited the Cheetah lodge and Elephants nearby , so there is plenty to do away from the beach!
This is highly recommended, hard to beat, impossible to fault

Room Tip: dont worry, all fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beckybluecar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

It would be difficult to find a better place to stay than Tamodi Lodge. It is located in a most beautiful scenic setting and is very tranquil. The owners cater for every need and all the staff are very friendly and offer excellent service. Great breakfasts too. Highly recommended

Room Tip: All rooms seem to offer equal facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frankland2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We kicked off our honeymoon with 2 nights at Tamodi Lodge and it was absolutely divine! Starting off with a glass of wine, a quick tour of our room and the facilities, and absolute bliss for the remainder of the stay. The quietness is so overwhelming and soothing, a MUST after months of wedding planning or simply for extreme relaxation! Simply exceptional all round!

Room Tip: Any room is a great room! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacques258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Just spent 2 nights in tamodi lodge. A little bit of heaven. Fabulous accommodation, breakfasts, open fires, spectacular views! To top it all off, a wine cellar where you can choose your wine. Can't think of a bad comment! 2 nights just weren't enough!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beeret1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We just came back from our holidays in South Africa. We stayed in many excellent places during our 3 weeks vacation but Tamodi Lodge is exceptional by all means. The design of the place is amazing with attention to every little detail with breathtaking view from the room. The service is Superb, starting with a fine glass of wine and continues with all the little amenities at the room to make sure that your stay will be a paradise, and this is still not the end, The Breakfast is so delicious with large variety of almost everything, definitely the best breakfast we ever had

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monicaVini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Crags
11.5 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
533 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
548 reviews
11.2 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
722 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hog Hollow Country Lodge
Hog Hollow Country Lodge
#2 of 9 in The Crags
651 reviews
1.9 mi away
Trogon House and Forest Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamodi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamodi Lodge

Property: Tamodi Lodge
Address: Keurboom Heights, The Crags, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay > The Crags
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Speciality Lodging in The Crags
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tamodi Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamodi Lodge and Stables (luxury 4 star accommodation in Plettenberg Bay) was created by Lynne and Owen Johnston, their inspiration born out of a love for horses and the beautiful valleys of the Crags. This passion is reflected in the carefully designed main house and stable buildings. You will relax in the peaceful setting while looking out over indigenous forests, valleys and the Outeniqua Mountains. Two beautiful standard rooms are available as well as our luxurious honeymoon suite. The property forms part of a natural conservancy area and is also a working equestrian farm with a riding school. We provide a full breakfast, but suggest lunch and dinner at one of the fine Plett restaurants. Keurbooms beach is just 5 minutes away, where you can enjoy magnificent views over the bay while watching the whales and dolphins playing in the surf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Tamodi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamodi Lodge South Africa/The Crags

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing