We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK thanks”
Review of Antlers Lodge

Antlers Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Antlers Lodge
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed here for only a single night en route and quite enjoyed it. Think your experience will be highly influence by the specific accommodation you get - there are log cabins & two types of thatched chalets. We stayed in an oddly organised chalet where you have to walk outside to get to the kitchen - not that much fun on a very cold winter's evening.
The chalet is very basic but has all the essential amenities. It is fairly good value for money, but you definitely only get what you pay for. Staff are very friendly and helpful and it is a beautiful, relaxed environment.
All-in-all not much too complain about, but also not much to rave about - "average" is just about spot on.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the larger thatched houses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TsamayaSentle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

I booked a log cabin but when we arrived we were told that we'd been upgraded to a self contained flat - separate bedroom, kitchen, lounge and bathroom - with a view over the garden, pond and mountains. Wonderful.

The Crags is a great place to base yourself for a few days (as an alternative to Plet Bay and Knysna) as there is so much to do. We stayed here as we had an early start doing the cheetah sunrise walk - which was amazing.

Great place to relax....only downside was probably the decor looked a little dated and the bed wasn't as big or as comfortable as others we'd experienced on our trip but perfectly adequate.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piratepards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Antlers Lodge is a member of Cruise The Crags www.cruisethecrags.co.za and it is a very popular guest lodge because of its pricing. This lodge is low key, affordable, situated in a rural setting surrounded by trees, a lake and rolling lawns. Antlers boasts a chapel (for weddings and christenings), a tennis court, a Lapa (for functions, parties and such), and Antlers is home to the original Barnyard Theater - know known as The Barns. This theater show-cases local and foreign artists from musicians to stand-up comedians.

Antlers is a popular choice for families, school & student groups and those traveling on a budget. Don't expect room-service and a concierge here!

Try to meet the owners Vanessa and Douglas, they are awesome :-) Join them for a cold beer or glass of wine if you have the opportunity to do so.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaraMostert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I am writing to add to my previous words. Antler's has now built a Lapa, with a roaring log fire every night and really good conversation around the table! Once again, fourteen of us stayed there, and the staff could not do enough to accommodate our needs. I recommend Antler's Lodge for business or for pleasure, and certainly intend to keep going there on a regular basis.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

I recently spent five days at Antler's Lodge with a group of students, who immediately dubbed this their 'Top Billing' Experience. We loved everything about the Lodge. It is set in beautiful and peaceful surroundings, and is very close to Monkeyland, the Birds of Eden Park, and The Crags Elephant Sanctuary. It is completely safe, and has a feeling of being removed from the bustle of modern life. Set in beautiful, well-maintained and park-like surroundings, the Lodge is named for the fallow deer that are in a camp close to the area. We have never seen the stars so bright, nor such good views of the Milky Way - all with the naked eye. It is certainly a place that I shall return to again and again and again!

Room Tip: If you are elderly, or have difficulty walking longer distances than ten metres, ask for a room or a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: als je graag in de blokhut wilt logeren zou ik het vermelden per mail
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Marco H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Crags
4.9 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
274 reviews
3.8 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
84 reviews
5.2 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Moon Shine on Whiskey Creek
11.4 mi away
Rocky Road Backpackers
Rocky Road Backpackers
#5 of 9 in The Crags
115 reviews
8.4 mi away
Tarn Country House
Tarn Country House
#1 of 10 in The Crags
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antlers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antlers Lodge

Address: The Crags, Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay > The Crags
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Speciality Lodging in The Crags
Price Range: £25 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Antlers Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Antlers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antlers Lodge South Africa/The Crags

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing