We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best boutique hotels we have ever stayed in!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hog Hollow Country Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
East London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“One of the best boutique hotels we have ever stayed in!”
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We stayed at Hog Hollow for 3 nights and had one of the best stays in any guest house or hotel we have ever stayed in. Every staff member made us feel welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Our room had stunning views of the valley and had a wood burning stove and huge wrap around balcony with a swing chair. The doors were all hinged in a way you could fold back the entire length of the balcony and bath and open your room to the outside. There were two services per day to the room, one during breakfast and a turn down service in the evening including hot water bottles in the bed, they simply thought of everything. We had our evening meal each night at the communal table and this was a great way to meet other guests and find out about their journey’s and compare notes. The meals were always lovely and the selection of wines on offer was great. The breakfasts were wonderful with a huge selection of cereals and pastries along with daily special touches. The staff were always on hand to help with our daily itinerary and had very good knowledge of the local area. We also enjoyed their cat All Sorts who always seemed to occupy our laps and even spent the night in our room. The grounds are impeccably maintained and the pool area is stunning with incredible views. Getting the boutique experience right is no easy task and everyone at Hog Hollow made it seem effortless! We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cwharfcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    510
    99
    30
    5
    1
See reviews for
92
425
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
230 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

As the majority of the reviews say this place is outstanding, from the minute you arrive when staff greet you like old friends and nothing is too much trouble for them. The view from our room was fantastic. The food was excellent some of the best we had in South Africa and the communal dining was an excellent way to pick up tips about where to visit and see throughout South Africa.

A trip to Old Nick Village for some retail therapy is definately worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotchick2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Setting, staff, food and the hotel itself were amazing. So peaceful and relaxing. The staff make sure you have everything you need from catering to special diets to arranging and advising on the many activities in the area. Do go to the Monkey Sanctuary they deserve all the support they can get. Birds of Eden is also excellent.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
118 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Prior reviewers list so many of the reasons that make Hog Hollow unique. The combination of wonderful food, warm staff, stunning views and an overall amazing team make for an outstanding stay.

Staff do all in their power to ensure you have an enjoyable stay. A wealth of activities in the area are sure to keep you busy; Monkeyland, Birds of Eden, Tenikwa and the Elephant Sanctuary are just a few. Also be sure to stop by the 'Porcupine' cermics gallery for amazing, very original artwork.

I slept amazingly well, rooms are clean but not over the top luxe. Every one has a sitting area and a deck or balcony. Views from the main deck are breathtaking.

Communal dining was very enjoyable, impossible to make a wrong selection for dinner. Entrees were excellent, and they will cater to your preferences if neccessary.

An overall winner for sure!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Livetowander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2011

My hubbie and I stayed at Hog Hollow for 3 nights during our gorgeous 2 week trip to South Africa in Sept 2011. We were so so so sorry to have to go. We could have stayed forever!

On arrival, we were immediately taken by the gorgeous, relaxed surroundings. We were checked in and settled into our suite in no time at all and O MY the view was to die for! Right out over the jungle, not a single property to be seen, just trees and bush and the gorgeous birds of prey hovering over! The sounds were equally engaging, monkeys, birds, the sounds in the distant sancturaries at the Crags. It was just so so relaxing. Hot water bottles, sweeties and bedtime stories helped us sleep so so well before the cheeky monkeys woke us in the morning looking for company. They were hilarious!

Communal dining was gorgeous. We met some fab people and had great fun. Food was perfect-if you didnt fancy what was on the menu, you could opt for an alternative, but we were always happy to stick to the menu and it was excellent.

There is free internet usage available which is very quick and easy.

On our first night, we were invited for pre-dinner-drinks and canapes (as every night) on the balcony/terrace of the main house. We were so surprised to find, they had organised a local South African singing group and we sat by the fire in this gorgeous wilderness, sipping, munching and enjoying the entertainment from this fab group! That is a memory we will always cherish.

There is so much to do around Hog Hollow and the staff are so good to help you organise your day, whether it is active or relaxing, they have great suggestions and are only too happy to help out. We visited a monkey sanctuary, Teniqua (big cat sanctuary) and Birds of Eden, all very worthwhile trips and not far at all from Hog Hollow.

One particular activity we really enjoyed was a horseriding trek with Debbie, the owner which we had on our second last day, nice and early in the morning. Amazing start to the day! She has 4 (as far as we know) stunningly well looked after horses and she took us out, the pair of us, with her assistant, who was such a great guy, for an amazing "safari on horseback" around the area. It was delightful. Many may prefer just to walk (rather than trot, canter etc) and that is fine too but I would defo not shy away from this activity-it was so special, we even got to help feed the horses and brush them down after the ride (man do they care about their animals!) They are lovely gentle horses and I felt very relaxed right up close to them. Very trustworthy. My horse was Zak and he really was beauitiful.

Hog Hollow was the tops. Highly reccomend it!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusieTravz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We spent 12 days in South Africa to celebrate our joint 50th birthdays and silver wedding and stayed at Hogs Hollow for 2 nights before going on to safari in the Shamwari. As with ever body we met in South Africa, the staff at Hogs were fantastically warm and genuine.

The communal dining in the evening was fantastic with wonderful company and beautiful food. The breakfast on the terrace was fantastic especially with one of the staff on patrol to stop mischievous monkeys from stealing your toast !!!!

The rooms were huge and ours had a balcony hanging over the edge of the forest that disappeared into the valley. To top it all the room had a small woodburner for the chilly evenings.

All in all, a fantastic hotel in a beautiful location with tremendous people. What more can you ask for.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benger_beach_boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boerne, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Three couples stayed for three nights at this lovely lodge last week. The service was top notch. The rooms were wonderful. Two of our husbands ended up sick one day but the staff could not have been more accommodating. They made special meals for the ailing - soup, rice, etc. without making a fuss.

But one thing to note, the road leading to the lodge may be a bit intimidating. It seems you're driving to a back country barn but once you reach the lodge it's heaven.

The monkeys are entertaining but I think a bit annoying for the staff. One monkey jumped on our table while eating lunch on the deck and stole my sandwich. But the staff was quick to replace my stolen meal.

I highly recommend a staty at the Hog Hollow!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmbroseT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Crags
12.8 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#3 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tamodi Lodge
Tamodi Lodge
#1 of 9 in The Crags
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.4 mi away
Trogon House and Forest Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hog Hollow Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hog Hollow Country Lodge

Property: Hog Hollow Country Lodge
Address: Askop Road | P.O. Box 503, The Crags, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay > The Crags
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Speciality Lodging in The Crags
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hog Hollow Country Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hog Hollow Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hog Hollow Country Hotel Plettenberg Bay
Hog Hollow Country Lodge South Africa/The Crags

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing