We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treetop luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hog Hollow Country Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Treetop luxury”
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We loved this place! When you arrive the buildings don't look much but you soon realise you are looking at the back of the property. The rooms are fantastic with folding doors that open up to let you have open views over the tree canopy to the valley and mountains in the distance. Even the bathroom has folding doors and unspoiled views. It is like having your own little lodge with complete privacy (except for the vervet monkeys that might come to look at you from the trees or even on your balcony). The rooms were excellent with setee, beanbags, log fire and even a music centre with CDs. The bed is on a mezanine and very comfortable. Guests meet round the log fire on the balcony to mingle before dinner which is a communal affair unless you specify that you would prefer to eat alone. I have to say I was unsure if I would enjoy eating at a large table with people I didn't know but it was a great way to meet lots of interesting people and share their experiences so far on holiday. Many a tip was passed on to us and by us, anybody who chooses to eat alone is missing out! I would go back to Hog Hollow in a minute and the friends we were travelling with felt the same. We would all heartily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K4B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    513
    101
    30
    5
    1
See reviews for
93
429
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridgeshire, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

From the moment we arrived we knew this place was special. The staff were wonderful, so attentive, always knew your name and remembered everything - your food likes/dislikes, your favourite wine etc. The main building was beautiful, a huge table to sit at with the other guests, delicious food and drink, excellent service. Drinks by the boma on the deck were lovely. Breakfast on the deck looking out over the canopy of trees was fabulous.

We had the water tower room which was on 2 levels and had a partially glazed ceiling so we could lie in bed and look at the stars. Very pretty indeed and had every comfort we needed.

Plenty to do in the area, we had a fantastic few days stay and were sad to move on!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AuntyHeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

One of my highlights of the whole trip was staying at this bed and breakfast called Hog Hollow An Unbelievable place!!!! We had a cozy dinner in the main house and sat with other guests from all over the world at a famously large dining table. I could have talked all night with these people.. Its fun to hear about other peoples stories and adventures. Its close to Monkey Land
(a must) Don't try and find this place st night like we did, its kind of hard to find and can easily be missed while driving. The best part about it has a private county feel to it. The service was amazing and food was incredible. We stayed a night but would have liked to stay longer.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brittany R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

The accommodation at Hog Hollow is outstanding: beautifully furnished and decorated spacious bedrooms with woodburners and superbly comfortable beds (we didn’t come across one single uncomfortable bed in South Africa during our almost three-week stay) and our luxury suite came with a private terrace complete with hammock. The bathroom with terrific views out over the forest (no blinds or curtains necessary as it is not overlooked by anyone or anything) did not enjoy quite such a high standard of decoration as the bedroom, and felt rather too empty and spacious and cold (at least for the winter season and possibly because of the lack of curtains and blinds). The small wall heater was not really enough to heat it up efficiently, and we would have appreciated a heated towel rail as well as providing towelling dressing gowns and slippers.

There were plenty of lovely inviting cosy public areas to relax, read, have a drink, or chat to fellow guests – we were sorry not to have had enough time to do this as we wanted to get out and see some of the wonderful places to visit nearby, having been given excellent recommendations by the staff on how to make the best use of our time there. We particularly enjoyed our quite challenging walk through the forest to get to the Monkey Sanctuary, where we went on a very good walking tour with an excellently informed guide, but the highlight for us was just next door – The Birds of Eden Sanctuary, the world’s largest free-flight aviary, with a vast variety of the most spectacularly colourful species of birds, both big and small.

Breakfasts at Hog Hollow were to die for with all the usual choice of fare but also with interesting specials every day, served out on the Boma deck if the weather permitted, overlooking the forest. In bad weather, breakfast is served in the communal dining room, which is where we also had dinner together with all the other guests at one long table, an experience we thoroughly enjoyed, enabling us to share our day’s events with other guests. The quality of the food and the level of service at dinner were second to none, and we had three excellent meals there, although I imagine some people might prefer to have more choice in their daily set menu. There was a main course optional menu while we were there, but the dishes were very steep in price.

Hog Hollow has an exceptionally high quality of service and all the staff are attentive and will go out of their way to make your stay special.

We had a truly wonderful stay, but it should be mentioned that if we had paid the price advertised on their website, we would have found it really expensive – I think we must have been given some kind of special rate.

Sandra & John

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra_John_BCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We stayed at Hog Hollow for 3 nights and had one of the best stays in any guest house or hotel we have ever stayed in. Every staff member made us feel welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Our room had stunning views of the valley and had a wood burning stove and huge wrap around balcony with a swing chair. The doors were all hinged in a way you could fold back the entire length of the balcony and bath and open your room to the outside. There were two services per day to the room, one during breakfast and a turn down service in the evening including hot water bottles in the bed, they simply thought of everything. We had our evening meal each night at the communal table and this was a great way to meet other guests and find out about their journey’s and compare notes. The meals were always lovely and the selection of wines on offer was great. The breakfasts were wonderful with a huge selection of cereals and pastries along with daily special touches. The staff were always on hand to help with our daily itinerary and had very good knowledge of the local area. We also enjoyed their cat All Sorts who always seemed to occupy our laps and even spent the night in our room. The grounds are impeccably maintained and the pool area is stunning with incredible views. Getting the boutique experience right is no easy task and everyone at Hog Hollow made it seem effortless! We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cwharfcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
230 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

As the majority of the reviews say this place is outstanding, from the minute you arrive when staff greet you like old friends and nothing is too much trouble for them. The view from our room was fantastic. The food was excellent some of the best we had in South Africa and the communal dining was an excellent way to pick up tips about where to visit and see throughout South Africa.

A trip to Old Nick Village for some retail therapy is definately worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotchick2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Setting, staff, food and the hotel itself were amazing. So peaceful and relaxing. The staff make sure you have everything you need from catering to special diets to arranging and advising on the many activities in the area. Do go to the Monkey Sanctuary they deserve all the support they can get. Birds of Eden is also excellent.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Crags
7.9 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
547 reviews
12.8 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
530 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
242 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tamodi Lodge
Tamodi Lodge
#1 of 9 in The Crags
268 reviews
0.4 mi away
Trogon House and Forest Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hog Hollow Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hog Hollow Country Lodge

Property: Hog Hollow Country Lodge
Address: Askop Road | P.O. Box 503, The Crags, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay > The Crags
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Speciality Lodging in The Crags
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hog Hollow Country Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hog Hollow Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hog Hollow Country Hotel Plettenberg Bay
Hog Hollow Country Lodge South Africa/The Crags

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing