We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxurious” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hog Hollow Country Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hog Hollow Country Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Czech Republic
Level Contributor
137 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Luxurious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

We will never forget our experience here at Hog Hollow. If you have a "bucket list" Make sure this place is on it... enough said... you have to see it to beleive it.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunray7580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    503
    97
    29
    5
    1
See reviews for
91
417
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

We stayed at Hog Hollow for three nights. The location is outstanding with fabulous views of the valley and forest from your room, restaurant area and the pool. The rooms are individual African style cottages, they are very private and relaxing with outdoor decked areas with breathtaking views! Breakfast was amazing with so much choice! We enjoyed sundowners every evening prior to evening meal which we had on the boma deck, the three course meals were delicious and we enjoyed the company of other guests. There was a lovely pool where we enjoyed relaxing, watching the beautiful butterflies and listening to the sounds of the forest.The staff were all very friendly, efficient and helpful and made good suggestions on local attractions worth visiting. We visited Monkey land and Birds of Eden which we really enjoyed. We would definitely return!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drapmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

We stayed at Hogs Hollow for 3 nights. The hotel is in a fabulous location out of town with spectacular views. The room was spacious and just really gorgeous and secluded. We had dinner the first night at the hotel, which was a set 3 courses, this was the only downside as we had come from safari and were fed up eating. There was no option to have one course that I could see so we travelled into town to eat each night for dinner. For a hotel of this standard I would have expected them to cater for those who did not want to eat a set 3 course meal, which was quite expensive. There was communal tables for dinner but they offered us a table on our own in another part of the hotel dining area. The pool area was lovely and quiet, the views were still wonderful even lying around the pool. Service was great, on check out there was extra drinks on our bill which we not our they were immedicately removed when we queried it. The breakfast was great, brilliant selection and not massive portions which meant you could have a little of everything. Seems to attract an older crowd

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed at Hog Hollow for three nights during our honeymoon - and it was the highlight of a wonderful trip. The accommodation is unique - beautiful suites with excellent views, perfectly maintained and thoughtful treats - homemade cookies, popcorn, chocolates at turn-down. The food is fantastic - sumptuous breakfasts served outdoors on the decking overlooking Hog Hollow's beautiful countryside views. We had dinner both as part of the group dining and by ourselves on our last night there - both were thoroughly enjoyable for us and amazing value!!!

The Lodge itself is well located within easy reach of many of the wildlife attractions - we took an hours walk from Hog Hollow amongst the forest to reach the elephant sanctuary and birds of Eden. This was on the recommendation of the staff and we found it worked well for us - not too taxing but possibly not for everyone!

The staff themselves are a true highlight at Hog Hollow. Genuine and attentive people, nothing seems like any trouble and they seem to take a genuine interest in ensuring you've had a pleasant stay.

Hog Hollow was a truly memorable stay for us. We'd go back in a heartbeat!

Thanks guys,
Kevin and Caroline, Dublin, Ireland..

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolineMacD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

We spent 3 nights at Hog Hollow in early February and it was a lovely experience. The rooms are basically individual houses, with a big bed, a sitting area with a fire place, and a separate w/c and bathroom with tub and shower. They are clean, comfy, and quiet, with thoughtful extras. The turn-down chocolates left on our pillows each night were so tasty, and they provided drinking water, cookies, and popcorn. Best of all is that the rooms have large patios with a beautiful view of the valley/forest. There was no a/c but we never felt hot at night and the fan worked well. There was free wifi and a computer in the lobby area but we could not get the wifi signal in our room. Breakfast was a feast, with delicious hot options and also a buffet with yogurt, fresh fruits, pastries, and champagne! Every member of the staff was helpful and welcoming. They gave us maps for hiking and driving, and good restaurant suggestions. We had two dinners at the hotel, the dishes were creative and delicious and very reasonably priced. We opted not to join the big table with all the other guests and the staff was pleasant about our request. The pool area also has a great view onto the valley, and breakfast can be taken on the patio above the pool. The drive to Tsitsikamma was about 20mins and the same for the beach in Plettenberg. The Crags is a cute town to visit. The Mill is a great place to shop and support the local communities, and lunch at the Perppermill Café in the same parking area is an affordable and delicious treat. The tapas-style lunch at Bramon Wine Estate should not be missed!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olistina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

A really lovely lodge with huge suites, and a lovely balcony overlooking the forest. Meals were good- but be aware the lodge is quite a way from Plett so if you want to eat out its a bit of a trek after dark. The lodge is very well positioned for a lot of attractions though- birds of eden, endangered cats, elephants and the scenic sights of natures valley were all within a few minutes drive- as were lots of good souvenir shops. You would never be at a loss for something to do here!

Room Tip: We had 16 and 17 - both very quiet with lots of birds to watch from the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Parslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Very Interesting hotel out in the country,well away from Plettenberg Bay. Rooms unusual but comfortable. Views are to die for, and the whole experience was very enjoyable. One slight disappointment was that people did not share the communal dining one evening, prefering to eat outside

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kengreer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Crags
11.9 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tamodi Lodge
Tamodi Lodge
#1 of 9 in The Crags
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.4 mi away
Trogon House and Forest Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hog Hollow Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hog Hollow Country Lodge

Property: Hog Hollow Country Lodge
Address: Askop Road | P.O. Box 503, The Crags, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay > The Crags
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Speciality Lodging in The Crags
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hog Hollow Country Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hog Hollow Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hog Hollow Country Hotel Plettenberg Bay
Hog Hollow Country Lodge South Africa/The Crags

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing