We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Feels like being in the Jungle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hog Hollow Country Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Verwood
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Feels like being in the Jungle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

What a wonderful place this is. We arrived quite late in the day, and unfortunately we were oonly here for one night, we were all given a glass of champagne on arrival. Our rooms had their own private deck, with folding patio doors looking out over the "jungle" and the swimming pool. Biscuits were left in our room to feed the Monkeys but we didnt see any, probably because it was winter. Whilst were were having dinner, 4 course including coffee and petit fours set meal, the maids came in and turned down the beds, on the pillow was a liitle book bedtime story book, a chocolate and what a surprise "hot water bottles" at the bottom of the bed. Breakfast was lovely a wide choice we sat inside as we thought it warmer, but really should have sat outside looking out over the extensive grounds. Would recommend this hotel to anyone, and would certainly go back if we were in this area again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank downhillwesty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    507
    99
    30
    5
    1
See reviews for
92
422
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed in the villa for two nights, a free upgrade because our travel organization made a mistake earlier on our trip. What an amazing place! A home-baked cake was waiting for us, as well as a bottle of wine.
The staff is very friendly. Carmen and her colleague (I forgot her name, but she has the most amazing laugh I have ever heard) are the most amazing ladies. They do everything in order to make your stay as comfortable as possible.
The last morning at breakfast Carmen brought us a bottle of sparkling wine and apologized. We had no clue why, but she told us they forgot to turn the villa for the night the night before. We did sort of noticed that the lights were not turned on when we returned, but had already forgotten the next day.
We would most definitely come back next time. On remark though: of our party of four, one is extremely afraid of dogs. Personally I love them, but the dogs of the house next to the villa (the owners of the lodge?) were paying us a visit on numerous occations. They are very friendly, but not every guest appreciates this.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tessa079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton-on-Trent
Level Contributor
643 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

This was a delightful place to stay on our trip through South Africa. The staff were friendly and very, very attentive. The rooms take the form of separate lodges which are reached by some twisting pathways. Each room has an outside deck - ours overlooked the valley to the south. The view was stunning. We had dinner there each night (4 nights). This was a lovely treat and we were all (or mostly) seated round a large table - great for meeting new people and sharing experiences. The service was top class, and the food was out of this world. Before dinner, we all gathered around a log fire on the verandah for pre-dinner drinks and canapes. It was sheer magic.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerMar60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed for four nights at Hog Hollow and we loved it. The location is beautiful with panoramic views across the forest and mountains. The rooms are dotted around in the grounds and have private decks. Ours was set high above the ground, in the trees and you could even luxuriate in the bath and watch the birds and monkeys in the forest and the sun rising above the mountains! The food was very good and there is a choice of eating at the large table or at your own individual one. Breakfasts are cooked to order and there is an extensive buffet table of fresh fruits, cold meats, cheeses and fantastic home made preserves, breads and muffins. There are so many little touches that make Hog Hollow special - home made cookies and popcorn in your room, hot water bottles for chilly nights, a roaring fire on the deck, tasteful and attractive furnishings.The rooms are attended to regularly and the hosts have really helpful advice for activities in the area. We found that the Plattenburg Bay area offers lots of activities - there are circular walks on the Robberg Peninsula with stunning views. We watched seals and even saw whales while we were walking. The Ocean Blue whale watching trip was worth doing, we saw whales and dolphins. It is also possible to walk through the forest to Monkeyland, Eden birds and the Elephant Sanctuary from Hog Hollow - definitely worth doing. The horse riding is another lovely way to see the countryside and caters for all levels of riding. If you're feeling lazy, there's no need to go further than the pool side, again with the beautiful view across the valley, but the pool was very cold while we were there.

Room Tip: We had room 14 and it was large with a big deck and glass doors all across the width of the sitting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneGDartford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

we stayed at the Hog Hollow for 2 nights in September, the rooms were excellent, clean and well equipped, with a little fire to light in the evening if it was cool and a great touch by housekeeping to put hot water bottles in the bed whilst we were at dinner and short little story on hour pillow with a chocolate. Food was fantastic and a great selection, all of the staff were very helpful and provided a great service - nothing was too much trouble. We chose to eat both nights with all o the other guests and it was a great atmosphere and interesting to hear other peoples holiday experiences. The views from our room were beautiful looking out of the forest. I treated myself to a spa treatment which the therapist did in a little room over looking the forest - you couldn't get a better place to relax in. We are only sorry we stayed 2 nights, we will certainly go back again. Thanks to all of the staff for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

We happened across Hogs Hollow Lodge as we went horse riding on one of their drives - which was wonderful! Hot and tired we crashed at Hogs Hollow Lodge for lunch and did not want to leave! Sitting in huge armchairs with stunning panoramic views and splendid food, we only wished we had more time to relax and enjoy. We are already planning to return to stay in the lodge next time we visit the area!!

Room Tip: We only had lunch, did not stay for the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HazelJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

This was the best property we stayed in. Friendly staff. Rooms are amazing with private decks and stunning views. Lovely champagne breakfasts and we liked the option to dine at a large table to chat to other guests about the day. The restaurant terrace in the evening was beautiful with the fire, lights and comfy sofas for pre-dinner drinks. We did the forest walk from the hotel to Birds of Eden (fantastic) and The Elephant Sanctuary (worth a visit to walk with elephants). The walk requires a reasonable level of fitness but is worth doing. Lovely pool and terrace area overlooking the forest. If you're travelling from Port Elizabeth, Storms River is well worth a visit en route.

Room Tip: The rooms down at the front are the closest to the forest/hollow
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynK6012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Crags
12.8 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tamodi Lodge
Tamodi Lodge
#1 of 9 in The Crags
5.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.4 mi away
Trogon House and Forest Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hog Hollow Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hog Hollow Country Lodge

Property: Hog Hollow Country Lodge
Address: Askop Road | P.O. Box 503, The Crags, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay > The Crags
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Speciality Lodging in The Crags
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hog Hollow Country Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hog Hollow Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hog Hollow Country Hotel Plettenberg Bay
Hog Hollow Country Lodge South Africa/The Crags

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing