We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful lodges in a stunning location overlooking the forest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hog Hollow Country Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This was our last stop during our garden route experience and did not disappoint. Beautifully appointed, the individual lodges and the communal areas were stunning with views across the forest and lots of local artefacts everywhere. The staff were so friendly and helpful and the breakfasts were amazing. Evening meals were generally a set menu but with some flexibility which allowed us to try local dishes. The food and the service were excellent and the staff are clearly very committed to providing personalised, high quality service. There were so many nice touches including home made biscuits in the room, and a hot water bottle in the bed on return from dinner. It couldn't have been a better end to our holiday.

Room Tip: all the lodges look excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harold59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (697)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 697 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Hogs Hollow for 2 nights & from the moment we arrived Carmen & all the staff were very helpful & provided us with great info if the area.
The rooms were cosy & had a fire for yourself to light each night.
As Our trip was in the South African winter so they even put hot water bottles in our beds :)
So much to do at The Craggs
So do take time to plan,we visited the cat sanctuary & the elephants whilst also relaxing at Hogs Hollow
Would recommend & also visit again

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sianmarie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We had an amazing stay whilst on the Garden Route. From the welcome bubbly until our departure we enjoyed every minute of our stay - and would have extended it if possible. Although the temperatures were chilly, after dinner hot water bottles were in the bed and the fire in the room was lit, making it very comfortable inside. The turn down service also included chocolates on the pillow and a bedtime story, which was changed every night. Meals (breakfast and dinner) were delicious, and pre-dinner drinks allowed guests to mingle (if you wished to). The rooms were set far enough apart from each other to allow for privacy when sitting on the balcony admiring the view.

Although there was no wireless available, there was a computer for guest use. We bought some lovely pottery from the little store in the communal area. We would do the garden route again to stay at Hogs Hollow!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank JayandSee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed for two nights whilst on the Garden Route. The room we had was really large and comfortable. The bathroom was also large. We had a veranda overlooking a beautiful wooded area. Each room had its own walkway to its own door. The beds were turned down in the evening and a book placed on the pillow for night time reading. The staff made sure that we were well looked after. The Wi-Fi was only in the public areas, we were in the lounge area before breakfast using the internet and we were asked if we would like a drink of tea whilst waiting for the rest of our party to arrive for breakfast. The food was excellent, and was of really good quality. The kitchen was open and was spotless. Plenty of choice for breakfast, there was a buffet of cold items and the hot items freshly cooked. The evening meal was also freshly cooked. The ambience of Hog Hollow is really friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellerx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Wonderful stay, wonderful staff and some of the best hotel food I've ever tasted. Thanks to big Jo. So many wonderful memories. Thank you for making my 2nd trip to South Africa sooo special. Can't wait to go back. The accommodation is special. One night it was raining and we got back to our lodge to find a story on our pillow and a hot water bottle in our bed. A wee bit extra goes a long way.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lewis107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Spent two nights here on our Garden Route tour. Great welcome from friendly staff, lovely rooms, excellent food in really cosy dining room with big communal tables. A big fire to sit round outside for pre dinner drinks. Would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Beautiful place with very friendly staff. The cook was amazing, everything that we ate was incredible. Love the long table. The views were breathtaking and the boma and fire place in the room is just what you need on a cold night. A must visit for the Garden Route trip. Very good location.

Room Tip: Dont feed the monkeys.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diveena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Crags
7.9 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
596 reviews
12.8 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
568 reviews
12.6 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
802 reviews
8 mi away
Grand Africa Rooms
Grand Africa Rooms
#6 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
390 reviews
23 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hog Hollow Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hog Hollow Country Lodge

Address: Askop Road | P.O. Box 503, The Crags, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay > The Crags
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Speciality Lodging in The Crags
Price Range: £181 - £896 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hog Hollow Country Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hog Hollow Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hog Hollow Country Hotel Plettenberg Bay
Hog Hollow Country Lodge South Africa/The Crags

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing