We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most enjoyable stay!”
Review of Marsh House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shillingford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Marsh House
Ranked #3 of 4 Shillingford B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Peaceful surroundings, charming property, bedroom very clean,comfortableand beautifully decorated. Patricia and Simon were welcoming and very helpful in recommending places for us Frenchies to visit in the area. Breakfast was superb. We would be happy to return for another stay in the future

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2011

I'm trying to think of what else you need to know, other than the title line?!
Nope, I think that's it. Lovely hosts, clean quiet room, child-friendly and a very tasty bespoke breakfast. Great stuff.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank ebrable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2011

We came to Marsh House without recommendation and considered ourselves very lucky to have found it. No one could find fault with the accommodation, the view, the breakfast and the welcome and the attention to every single detail.

Room Tip: The owners are charming and helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank herford17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2010

I had a lovely, comfortable stay, with very pleasant view from my room and excellent breakfasts. I hope to stay there again next year

Tony Richards

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyJTJ15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

We loved staying here and were very well looked after Great breakfast, friendly welcome and nice large bedroom with ensuite Thanks for a good nights sleep and so handy to Wallingord

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GregF020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

Everything about Marsh House was top class - from the first point of contact by email, right up to the moment we left.

We were attracted to the property after reading the details on the ‘Smooth Hound Hotel Guide’ website and the ‘Stay in Britain’ website - and we were not disappointed.

As we walked down the beautiful tree-lined private road, we were in awe of the property’s location. On arrival, we were made extremely welcome. Our room was stunning - very spacious and beautifully decorated with a superb bathroom.

Our beds were very comfortable and it was a joy to eat breakfast whilst overlooking the delightful garden and swimming pool.

On the morning of our departure, I was so grateful to be offered a lift to an appointment in the nearby village. It was an extremely kind gesture and very much appreciated. It gave me much more time to enjoy a delicious and leisurely breakfast.

If you favour peace and tranquillity in glorious surroundings; a superior property with a homely feel, and personal attention that is second to none, then Marsh House is for you!

Thank you both very much for a most enjoyable stay. It was a privilege to share your beautiful home.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TiggysMother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessi_Steffen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shillingford
1.9 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wallingford
251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shillingford Bridge Hotel
Shillingford Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shillingford
668 reviews
1.7 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorchester-on-Thames
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Little Gables Bed and Breakfast
Little Gables Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Crowmarsh Gifford
140 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Partridge Inn Wine Bar & Restaurant
2.1 mi away
The Coachmakers Arms
The Coachmakers Arms
#4 of 13 in Wallingford
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marsh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marsh House

Address: 7 Court Drive, Shillingford, Wallingford OX10 7ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Wallingford > Shillingford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Shillingford
Price Range: £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marsh House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marsh House is a large family house set in a private road in a peaceful, rural setting. As we have a maximum of 6 guests we are able to welcome everyone and give them our personal attention. All bedrooms have garden views giving a feeling of peace and tranquility. Many guests base themselves here for a holiday as there is fantastic walking and cycling along the Thames Path and has great transport links. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Marsh House Shillingford, Wallingford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing