We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lack of communication”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shillingford Bridge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shillingford
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We had booked here to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary as we had spent our wedding night here. On arrival it was very busy and it turned out that a wake was in progress. The problem was that everyone there was very merry and the bar and small restaurant was so loud it was unbelievable, I became very upset as I had planned this for my husband and I for a while and it was just ruined. We ended up going into Wallingford Town for a meal and returned byb9.30 and went straight to sleep. Disappointed was an understatement.
Room very roomy but to use the hair dryer meant the holder for it dangled by the lead and the kettle was placed away from the tray of milk and coffee - actually, it was placed on the bed side table.!
We will add to this in the morning once we have experienced the breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMShillingford, General Manager at Shillingford Bridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. After reading your review, I contacted you personally where we discussed the items raised in your review and collectively we have rectified these to your satisfaction. I look forward to arranging your return visit,

Kind Regards
Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (694)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

682 - 688 of 694 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

We have recently returned from an enjoyable 2 night stay at the Shillingford Bridge Hotel, as has been said in other reviews the hotel does look a bit tired in places and could maybe do with some redecoration but the staff were friendly, it is very clean, the room was a good size and very comfortable and it has a fantastic location on the banks of the River Thames. Access to Oxford was easy with a park and ride car park just few miles away. Our room was on the first floor with a pleasant view across the car park to the river. We ate both nights at the hotel and the food was good and reasonably priced. Breakfast had a range of cold food and also table service where you could order a full English breakfast or a selection of other hot dishes but for some of these you did have to pay a supplement.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swyo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMShillingford, General Manager at Shillingford Bridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We very much look forward to welcoming you back at some point in the near future to St James Hotels,

Kind regards
Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed one night here, the check in was fast by a very pleasant Spanish receptionist, however once past reception the rest of the hotel was dreadful. No carpets matched, some one wrote down stairs had been refurbished - really, where !!.
A red carpet in the reception area didn't match the awful, faded, thread bare patterned carpet in the restaurant. A thread bare blue carpet went up the stairs . Our room ( 12 ) was big enough but someone had sited the bed right by the window ( bed head fixed to the wall ) when there was plenty of room to put it in the middle of the room, the curtains must have been from the 80's. I've put better bed linen into the charity bags. the base of the bed was stained. The awful wallpaper peeling off the wall didn't help. The bathroom was again large, but the stained 'oil cloth' didn't help enhance, there was no where to store bathroom cosmetics, there were two sloping shelves we daren't use. However we had plenty of hot water but only thin off white towels.

On the positive, we had a lovely view of the Thames, although by the road, secondary glazing prevented traffic noise. We ate dinner in the hotel which was fine, breakfast is only served until 9am which we thought a little early. At 8.20am most of the cold buffet had run out and many guests came in after us, however the cooked breakfast arrived very prompt and was excellent. We found all the staff friendly and helpful.
Its such a shame this hotel has such potential just need some TLC and money to bring it up to standard. We would not stay here again unless it is upgraded.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swift33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMShillingford, General Manager at Shillingford Bridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you very much for your review. Yes, I agree that the product is dated and in need of some improvement. We are very much looking forward to this as we are now part of a new company, St James Hotels who have plans for investment and refurbishment,

Kind regards
Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Stunning location, lovely stay

My husband myself and our 3 year old daughter stayed here on the Monday we were welcomed buy a pleasant receptionist (didn't get her name)
Downstairs is really nice we were told they just had a refit and you can tell.
We went in to our room we had a stunning view of the river themes the room needs some tlc..

We booked in to the restaurant for 7.30 but went down at 6.30 as daughter was getting hungry the restaurant was shut so the bar it was but but it was more like restaurant service as the staff took your food/drink order at the table etc...
The food was absolutely amazing, could tell was fresh :-)

Scott the duty manager was a***** great service he was rushed off his feet to
Meggy (think that was Her name) also great service on the bar.

Breakfast in the morning was cooked to order and both staff on duty were lovely.

We had to ask staff for there names as no one was wearing a name badge


Would def stay here again in the summer and go for a walk along the river etc...

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kareng145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMShillingford, General Manager at Shillingford Bridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you kindly for taking the time to write a review. I was pleased to read that you felt all aspects of the hotel, especially the food side of the operation more than met you requirements,

Kind Regards
Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ludmila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Laurent-pub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: kies een kamer boven Nr 40
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jacques V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shillingford
1.7 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wallingford
255 reviews
1.8 mi away
George Hotel Dorchester-on-Thames
George Hotel Dorchester-on-Thame...
#2 of 2 in Dorchester-on-Thames
281 reviews
1.9 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorchester-on-Thames
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Milton Hill, Abingdon
Milton Hill, Abingdon
#1 of 1 in Steventon
1,188 reviews
7.3 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
9.9 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#3 of 4 in Pangbourne
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shillingford Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shillingford Bridge Hotel

Address: Shillingford Road, Shillingford, Wallingford OX10 8LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Wallingford > Shillingford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shillingford
Price Range: £69 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shillingford Bridge Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shillingford Bridge Hotel is located between Oxford and Henley, with beautiful views over a quiet part of the River Thames. The hotel boasts 40 comfortable bedrooms, ranging from Four Poster Rooms or Suites for those special nights away, to well-equipped single rooms, which are ideal for the business traveller. A perfect retreat; guests can enjoy the outdoor heated swimming pool throughout the summer months, plus delicious home-made food all year round. The River View Restaurant serves freshly prepared food and has panoramic views over the hotel's grounds as well as the banks of the Thames. The River Bar serves light meals and snacks, and even has an outdoor terrace with river views. The hotel has plenty of free parking, and Wallingford’s town centre is just a 5-minute drive away, while Oxford can be reached in 20 minutes by car. Windsor Castle is 50 minutes' drive, and Dorchester is less than 10 minutes away from the hotel by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Shillingford Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shillingford Bridge Wallingford
Shillingford Bridge Hotel Wallingford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing