We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Summer Break!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shillingford Bridge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shillingford
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Summer Break!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Disregard any negative comments on this site! The Shillingford Bridge Hotel offers an excellent location, beautiful river views from restaurant, bar and many rooms.
Okay, the decor could do with a re-vamp but the friendly staff, excellent service and menu more than made up for this.
We opted for the dinner, bed and breakfast offer and were very impressed by the quality and presentation of dinner and the choices available for breakfast. Excellent value for money.
All of the staff were pleasant and helpful from time of booking until departure.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob C, Manager at Shillingford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We feel that we improved even more since your last visit and look forward to welcoming you back,


Kind regards
Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    172
    137
    85
    82
See reviews for
81
309
4
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
redditch, Worcestershire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Upon reading recent reviews we were sceptical! But we loved it, it's just a little tired, did not bother us. We have come home today after a two night stay at the hotel. Loved the views and our room! Food was fantastic, this being evening meal and breakfast! Staff fab, especially the lady on reception who was most helpful with providing us with directions into Oxford yesterday! Shower not great, but did what I needed it to! if you want power showers go and book yourself in the Randolph in Oxford centre! The Thames was wonderful to look at with barges mooring up daily, the scenery was idyllic, so peaceful. Could not have asked for a better view from our room (we stayed in room 40). Upon speaking with the lovely receptionist she advised that the new owners were going to start vamping the hotel up! It can only get more lovely! Yes it's tired, yes there are cracks in the walls and there could be a more comfortable bed in the room (a little too hard for us) but we chose to overlook this and enjoy our stay, and did we ever! If you are looking for top notch 5 star go elsewhere and stop placing bad reviews against this hotel! A lot of guests checked out same time as us today, all different ages and not a moan or complaint did we hear!
We went into oxford yesterday, drive to park n ride takes no time, the hotel will give you a map! It's. £2.00 to park and £4.50 for two people return on bus! They run well into the evening! Do the tourist thing, go on the open top bus, visit all the sights (if time allows!) Oxford castle was fab, loved it! We are coming back next year to finish the sightseeing off, one day is not enough! We ate at the slug n lettuce by Oxford castle, food was fab and very reasonably priced too! Very attentive staff, a little too attentive, tip, do not try so hard! The uni's (they are everywhere!) were spectacular, there is CS Lewis Alice Shop, where Alice bought her sweets from! So much history. We fell in love with the place, we really did and cannot wait to go back. We will go back to shillingford bridge hotel, we may even book one of the bungalows just slightly away from the hotel overlooking the Thames. Please do not be put off by bad reviews, we have stayed in some 5star hotels, however you do not get the warmth you get at Shillingford Bridge Hotel. After a busy day of sightseeing you need relaxation and that's what we got! Thank you lovely receptionist, thank you to the lovely young blonde man who served us dinner on Friday night and thanks to Shiilingford Bridge Hotel, we will be back and look forward to the uplift! Rachelle n Paul Watts.

Room Tip: 40 is a good room, beaut views and no one above you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob C, Manager at Shillingford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We feel that we improved even more since your last visit and look forward to welcoming you back,


Kind regards
Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Deep in the heard of Oxford, lies Basil Faulty's spiritual home, in the form of The Shillingford Bridge Hotel.

We arrived by boat, so missed the 'Classy roadside frontage' (Joke) instead seeing a wall of 1970's Patio windows, and very little of consequence, other than pretty decent moorings.

The Grass was so long, we all had soaked trousers by the time we got to reception, which appeared to be unmanned, such was the scarcity of staff. By the time we stumbled upon somebody who could be bothered to man the Bar, we had ample chance to count the working lights, as you do...and realised that around 50% of the bulbs had in fact expired. The walls were jaded, floors shabby in places, and features wholly dated, to the point of being rather depressing.


This meant eating at the Shillingford was just not an option...as much as a free meal appeals (Because, lets be fair, you wouldn't want to pay for the inevitable sad results....)

Seriously, the best thing to do would be to close it immediately, carry out a major refurbish and grand opening, followed by a good marketing session to tell everyone the place is open for business, or simply knock it down and sack the pathetic remnants they call employees.

They should be ashamed of themselves...

Room Tip: The best rooms are probably a few miles away in other Hotels...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob C, Manager at Shillingford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Since this time last year we have changed hands and are now in a far stronger situation that previously so you will be able to turn up at the hotel and not find that it has shut down and condemned as you suggested, we are very much a thriving, advancing business under our new management company,

Kind regards
Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shillingford hotels

Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Everything you'd expect is in place (including free fast wifi), but it is all rather faded. Cracks in the walls, a stain on the carpet, feeble shower contribute to a somewhat run down feeling about the place. On the plus side, it was clean, quiet and the bed was comfortable. Breakfast freshly cooked and tasty, staff friendly and accommodating. Price was reasonable, but it needs some serious refurbishment before I'd rate it any higher than average.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ldrvwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob C, Manager at Shillingford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2015
Thank you for your review. We are undergoing improvements and intend to rectify these issues raised.

Kind regards

Rob Carr

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

We booked for a two night stay. The hotel is in a lovely location but the rooms are dated and bathroom needed a makeover. We had an evening meal on the restaurant and were very disappointed. The menu was limited and when the food arrived the potatoes were greasy and pork very fatty. The salmon was undercooked and when the waiter offered a dessert in compensation a chedseboard came along with grapes that were bruised and very limp. The cheeses were similarlu uninspiring and the strawberry trifles our friends chose could have been made by a child in their first attempt using angel delight and spray cream. The price of each meal was in the a la carte range but certainly not in quality. Breakfasts were similarly uninspiring with cardboard bacon and undercooked sausage.The staff are all very young and clearly used to customer complaints. I would have expected a manager to have made an appearance at some part of our stay. If this experience ia anything to go by he will proabaly be rewriting his CV.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMShillingford, General Manager at Shillingford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Now under new management with St James Hotels, we now have a Restaurant, Bar and Patio Menu which is proving to be very popular - we invite you re-visit the hotel to experience the vast improvements to the menu and its offering. This is also backed up by having a steady kitchen brigade in place,

Kind Regards
Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Have been to the Shillingford Bridge Hotel on many occasions, but this time felt it had become rather jaded and needing a fresh coat of paint, especially out doors. Needed some sort of flower arrangement and the cig buts removed. Had a ciabata which was very acceptable and the staff friendly , but when I had to use the loo, it was rather shabby, paper on the floor and lack of loo paper, which I did tell reception. The position of the hotel on the banks of he river Thames deserves better than this. Hope my next visit will show an improvement!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JACKIE P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMShillingford, General Manager at Shillingford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I agree, we are tired in areas but now under new management with St James Hotels, refurbishments have begun on the outside of our hotel, flowers feature regularly on our Reception counter to welcome all guests,

Kind Regards
Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

As many have already said, hotel in need of major refurbishment however we found staff very friendly and polite, the breakfast room was superb with lovely views over the thames and food was very good. Our room 14 again dated but clean and great views.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank almanzobasildon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMShillingford, General Manager at Shillingford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your recent stay at the hotel with the picturesque views of the river Thames. Yes, dated we are but now under new management, improvement plans are firmly under way,

Kind regards
Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shillingford
1.7 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wallingford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Swan at Streatley
The Swan at Streatley
#1 of 1 in Streatley-on-Thames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
1.9 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorchester-on-Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
7.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
6.8 mi away
Premier Inn Oxford South (Didcot) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shillingford Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shillingford Bridge Hotel

Property: Shillingford Bridge Hotel
Address: Shillingford Road, Shillingford, Wallingford OX10 8LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Wallingford > Shillingford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shillingford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shillingford Bridge Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shillingford Bridge Hotel is located between Oxford and Henley, with beautiful views over a quiet part of the River Thames. The hotel boasts 40 comfortable bedrooms, ranging from Four Poster Rooms or Suites for those special nights away, to well-equipped single rooms, which are ideal for the business traveller. A perfect retreat; guests can enjoy the outdoor heated swimming pool throughout the summer months, plus delicious home-made food all year round. The River View Restaurant serves freshly prepared food and has panoramic views over the hotel's grounds as well as the banks of the Thames. The River Bar serves light meals and snacks, and even has an outdoor terrace with river views. The hotel has plenty of free parking, and Wallingford’s town centre is just a 5-minute drive away, while Oxford can be reached in 20 minutes by car. Windsor Castle is 50 minutes' drive, and Dorchester is less than 10 minutes away from the hotel by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shillingford Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shillingford Bridge Wallingford
Shillingford Bridge Hotel Wallingford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing