We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very comfortable room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shillingford Bridge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shillingford
Cwmbran
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A very comfortable room”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here recently when attending a family wedding. The room was really comfortable with everything you could want and although overlooking the car park was reasonably quiet. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: We would recommend having a room near the back of the hotel if you are a light sleeper as with the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Belpol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob C, General Manager at Shillingford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay over the wedding weekend. We look forward to welcoming you back at some point.

Kind regards
Rob Carr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    187
    147
    93
    91
See reviews for
84
336
5
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Used the pool as a non-resident this week. Despite the presence of somebody selling snacks, a number of unaccompanied teenagers were dive bombing into the pool. Multiple parents asked them to be more careful. One of them pushed one of my group over which resulted in injury, which 2 days later has now become a swelling. A call to the duty "manager" could only suggest that it was reported to the sweet seller at the time. Was the sweet seller a trained lifeguard? Does this pool meet regulations? Won't be returning to find out.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank impreza280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob C, Manager at Shillingford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am sorry that we did not meet you expectations during your visit to the hotel. as you know, we have corresponded directly regarding your comments and have come to a satisfactory conclusion.

Kind regards
Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shillingford hotels

Aberdeen
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

The following comments relate to a 2 night stay during late July 2014. Firstly, as mentioned in other guest reviews, the decor is without doubt a bit tired and most areas would benefit from being refreshed. On arrival we were pleased with the room allocated but the cistern was faulty. Perhaps the cleaner should have noticed this when preparing the room. We reported the fault and were quickly moved to an even nicer room with a stunning view of the river. Things do go wrong and the problem was dealt with quickly so we can have no complaints there. We inspected both rooms very carefully. Both were found to be extremely clean ie carpets, ledges, bathrooms. The bedding was crisp and fresh. Again the bathroom decor, bath surrounds and carpets were on the tired side but clean and therefore adequate. We have paid 3 times more for a similar standard of decor due to the image, name or location of the establishment.

All of the staff we encountered were exceptionally friendly, cheerful and professional. Whilst the choice of food on the evening menu was a little predictable, it was well presented, hot (which is not always the case) and tasty. Prices for food and drink weren't cheap but around what we would have expected to pay.

The hotel has a stunning location as mentioned by others. The outdoor pool was permanently occupied by happy families. Situated in a sunny location right next to the Thames, the hotel is ideally suited for trips to Oxford and Windsor. Whilst we do not question the views expressed by others, in our opinion this hotel offers reasonably priced accommodation. Based on our experience the hotel offers a high level of cleanliness and we do not compromise when it comes to that. It would be very sad if such a nice hotel suffered as a result of a few bad reviews. (We considered writing off the cost of the booking and going elsewhere after reading one recent review). In conclusion we would not hesitate to return and, if other guests had a similarly positive experience we hope they will voice this in reviews.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank BizAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob C, General Manager at Shillingford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay. Since your last stay, we have made many improvements including upgrading the quality of rooms and now having outsourced laundry for all the bedrooms providing a better standard throughout. Our breakfast is vastly improved not only in quantity but quality and consistency. We now have a new Lounge, bar and Patio menu along with a new Restaurant menu using as much seasonal and local produce as possible.

Kind regards
Rob Carr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ceres
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Like a lot of other reviewers I would say that the hotel has a couple of things going for it. It has a prime location on the banks of a lovely stretch of the Thames with grounds that go right down to the water's edge. It also has willing and friendly (mostly foreign) staff who appear to be trying their best in impossible circumstances.

We encountered several problems. Our room, which we paid £85 for, was not ready when we checked in. It contained a double bed but was clearly normally sold as a single. (There was only one bedside table and the room was equipped for one guest.) It took two telephone calls and two visits to reception to get the towels we needed, and the second cup and saucer we were promised never materialised. The receptionist was very apologetic but appeared run off her feet, doing several jobs simultaneously. Our room looked like it hadn't been decorated since the early 70s and the stairs and carpets in the public areas were decidedly grubby. We would have asked for another but it was a busy Saturday night and it was all they could offer.

Reviewers have complained that rooms at the front of the hotel are noisy. Well, so was ours at the rear. We were immediately above what I assume was either the kitchen's ventilation or refrigeration system. Whatever it was, it kept me awake much of the night. And if you think the front of the hotel looks shabby, you should see the back!

We ate dinner at the hotel. The man serving behind the bar was also expected to take orders for food, which slowed things down even though he was doing his best. My partner was reasonably satisfied with his steak pie, but I'm vegetarian and as the choice was severely limited I ordered a ploughman's in the belief that nobody could get a ploughman's wrong. Want to bet? A baguette had been filled with tiny cubes of sweaty, tasteless caterers' cheddar, a smear of pickle and some tired lettuce. Truly awful. I told the waiter I wasn't happy but no offer was made to rectify matters. At breakfast we just ate cereal and toast but the cooked items didn't look very appetising.

I remember my parents talking about the hotel, and several decades ago it was viewed as somewhere rather special. What a pity. There's no reason why it shouldn't be again but it will need a huge investment to bring it up to standard. This place needs a real shake-up. I felt sorry for the staff having to bear the brunt of customers' dissatisfaction.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JD3251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob C, Manager at Shillingford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am sorry that we did not meet you expectations during your visit to the hotel. Now that we are under new management, we are making strides into external and internal redecoration and improvements which are currently undergoing. We have had large improvements in our menu offerings for our Lounge, Patio and Restaurant. Since your visit, our breakfast service has vastly improved and in general receives positive comments and feedback.

Kind regards
Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

After reading the recent reviews, we arrived with trepidation as to what we might find.
I have to say we were pleasantly surprised that it wasn't as bad as we were expecting. We had room 49 which was clean, tidy and didn't smell of damp or anything. As rooms go, it was one of the biggest we have stayed in, and had a four poster bed! It was up a flight of stairs, so for those who are less able, the steps could be a problem.
The bathroom was big, but again, could use a few quid spent on modernizing it
I have to agree with a number of other reviewers that there are quite a number of small or minor issues which on there own could be over looked, but together drag the hotel down. The hotel could use quite a bit if TLC, and quite a few quid bringing the place back up to scratch.
Fortunately we had great weather, so sitting in the room with the patio doors wide open, with a cold beer, and lovely views over the river was great.
I suppose the ultimate question is would we stay there again? And I would say yes - but only if we got a good deal!
Breakfast left a bit to be desired as we don't like food left in hot plates for long times, and god forbid you put your bread through the toaster twice!
We did have an evening meal in the restaurant. It was rather nice! The menu choice was a bit limited, but enough choice for most.

Room Tip: Rooms 49, 50 and 51 have good location and views, but are up a number of steps if that's an issu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy2Swords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob C, General Manager at Shillingford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Since your last stay, we have made many improvements including upgrading the quality of rooms and now having outsourced laundry for all the bedrooms providing a better standard throughout. Our breakfast is vastly improved not only in quantity but quality and consistency.

Kind regards
Rob Carr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Having paid to "upgrade" to a premier room for a two night stay, imagine the surprise on arrival to be presented with a ground floor room facing a car park albeit with the river just visible. On seeing inside the room for the first time the smell of damp, torn wallpaper, large tear through the curtain, badly stained and worn faded carpet, filth behind the toilet requiring our cleaning it off and no towels with a double bed with sheets that had not been ironed or changed from last occupants was a joy to behold. Had we not been staying with another couple who are good friends with the same problems in their room we would have left for another hotel.
Imagine the surprise when two towels arrived which were still damp requiring changing for two completely different patterned and sized towels. Having brought the faults to the attention of the receptionist telling her the hotel was tired and dirty, she agreed it was!
It became apparent that a considerable number of the remainder of the rooms were let to workers doing night shifts who spent most of the morning before going to bed drinking from bottles in the car park and riverside before dumping them in the "fag bin"
The bedding was so bad we bought a duvet cover set whilst in Oxford to cover the filthy pillow cases supplied and cheap torn duvet for the second night. The bar is massively overpriced for cloudy draught drinks which indicate dirty lines, this from the author who was in a previous life a brewery technician,the breakfast on both days was just about edible as items from the hot self serve Bain Marie's were supplied ad hoc with warm food. The swimming pool was filthy,so cloudy that the bottom was not visible and the rest of the hotel decor and behind the scene services are dirty. I do not know whether this is a local staffing problem or a group issue but for what could be a prime hotel site on the river this as it is now is sadly lacking.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kimthompson44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob C, Manager at Shillingford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am sorry that we did not meet you expectations during your visit to the hotel. I was disappointed to read that we were unable to provide the service and quality that is demanded within the business. We have made some improvements within our bedrooms. We now have an external laundry company delivering fresh, clean, white linen on a daily basis. We also now have a new housekeeping team where we have seen a dramatic increase in cleaning standard throughout the building. Under the new management, we are also improving the quality of the product throughout, including redecoration externally and throughout the interior.

Kind regards
Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

What a pity the hotel does not match its position along the river bank. Clean and comfortable, with pleasant and helpful staff, but pricey (London Pub charges) in the bar and other elements that do not rate the charges made.
There are lots of small areas of concern, which when all added together lower the overall standard but when considered individually may seem irrelevant. It seemed to me that the managers have not been to a catering and management college and although that may seem hard, and there may have been reasons for the points in question, it certainly as not obvious?

Let me itemise them:-

I agree with some other reviews whereby other guests (obviously workers elsewhere) being loud and obtrusive when departing from the car park.
A disabled parking slot was furthest from the hotel entrance.
Notices showing the times for meals had not been proof read before putting up, and the breakfast entry was garbled.
We booked a twin room and were given a double that appeared not to have been prepared with the pillows looking as though they had been slept on and a phone in the middle of the bed.
On getting the proper accommodation, the linen was cream and so looked unwashed when compared to the duvet that was showing at the end of its cover.
Double headboard (or maybe even a large single) for twin beds.
Bed lamp was immediately above the middle of the pillow and prevented me from sitting up straight. Weird!
There was no bed valance, the fitted sheet barely fitted on to the mattress and the protector has not flat so it looked as though the bed had not been made properly. It all looked like a hostel!
Breakfast adequate, but the chef could not cook poached eggs - they were delivered partly broken and had little white on them - presumably left in the water where it had broken away from the yolk?
I didn't get the bacon I ordered but didn't mention this as I would have ended up with cold items had I waited, but other items were hot, well cooked, and tasty!
Toast (self cook) was underdone but there was a note prohibiting a second run through.
There was no fresh fruit.
Cereal was limited in variety, and left in large boxes on the buffet table. Dirty hands in there?
Coffee machine didn't work correctly, although did dispense hot water OK.
Orange juice not freshly squeezed.
Choice between butter and spread was not provided.

Overall a little below three star, even though they had a nice outdoor pool (seemingly only open weekends and limited hours) and lovely surroundings/river bank area. Some of the carpets were threadbare in parts.

What a pity - and as a number of other reviewers have said, it needs some money being spent - and the staff educated (those we met were very willing) in how to run a good hotel. The receptionist seemingly had to run off and make the beds in our case, but planning was obviously a dirty word.

Room Tip: Away from road and car park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob C, General Manager at Shillingford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I was somewhat disappointed to read that you did not have an enjoyable experience. Since your last stay, we have made many improvements including upgrading the quality of rooms and now having outsourced laundry for all the bedrooms providing a better standard throughout. Our breakfast is vastly improved not only in quantity but quality and consistency.

Kind regards
Rob Carr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shillingford
1.7 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wallingford
246 reviews
1.8 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorchester-on-Thames
696 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
The Swan at Streatley
The Swan at Streatley
#1 of 1 in Streatley-on-Thames
615 reviews
7.3 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
7.7 mi away
Milton Hill, Abingdon
Milton Hill, Abingdon
#1 of 1 in Steventon
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shillingford Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shillingford Bridge Hotel

Property: Shillingford Bridge Hotel
Address: Shillingford Road, Shillingford, Wallingford OX10 8LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Wallingford > Shillingford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shillingford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shillingford Bridge Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shillingford Bridge Hotel is located between Oxford and Henley, with beautiful views over a quiet part of the River Thames. The hotel boasts 40 comfortable bedrooms, ranging from Four Poster Rooms or Suites for those special nights away, to well-equipped single rooms, which are ideal for the business traveller. A perfect retreat; guests can enjoy the outdoor heated swimming pool throughout the summer months, plus delicious home-made food all year round. The River View Restaurant serves freshly prepared food and has panoramic views over the hotel's grounds as well as the banks of the Thames. The River Bar serves light meals and snacks, and even has an outdoor terrace with river views. The hotel has plenty of free parking, and Wallingford’s town centre is just a 5-minute drive away, while Oxford can be reached in 20 minutes by car. Windsor Castle is 50 minutes' drive, and Dorchester is less than 10 minutes away from the hotel by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Shillingford Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shillingford Bridge Wallingford
Shillingford Bridge Hotel Wallingford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing