We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not cheap, but good value”
Review of The Kingfisher Inn

The Kingfisher Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Kingfisher Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Shillingford B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 June 2011

We stayed here while walking the Thames Path - it's more of a guest house than a pub, so there's none of the disadvantages of staying at a pub. Comfortable, well appointed room, really good, home cooked, evening meal and breakfast. Affable host and excellent hostess/cook.
It is quite pricey - but so is everything around here : and we found it good value.

Room Tip: All good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chriswarthurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2010

Wow - this is such a lovely hotel.
From the moment we walked in, we were greeted by the owner and looked after incredibly well. The room was beautiful and cosy and the breakfast was the best full English I have ever had - with all eggs/meat etc coming from the local butcher.
I would absolutely recommend this hotel - it is like being at home. Just lovely.
P

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pollyanna12391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

We only stayed one night here, on our way to Heathrow, after holidaying in U.K.
Although unpretentious on the outside, it is very warm and welcoming inside, with pleasant, attentive host. The evening meal was an unexpected pleasure which left us wishing we could stay longer to sample more of the interesting and varied menu. Even our breakfast choice of a simple poached egg on toast was a delight.
Our room, the only twin room in the small 6 bedroomed inn, was a little on the small side (with the sloping ceiling, my husband had a few fights with the low beam!) However, it was very clean and the beds extremely comfortable.
The Inn is situated right on the road so, if your room is on that side, you may be disturbed by traffic, although, with the comfortable beds, we slept like the proverbial logs.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank warcop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2010

We were given the details of this hotel in a list by a friend whose Birthday party nearby we were invited to. Shunning larger hotels, we chose the Kingfisher and were not disappointed. From the initial telephone call to enquire availability, it was obvious that this concern was being run by people who are passionate about customer care and this initial impresion was reinforced when we arrived. The room was spotlessly clean and everything that you could require was provided. A minor niggle (save that this review be too fullsome in praise) was that the lead on the provided hairdryer was not long enough when plugged in, to see yourself in the mirror. A quick drink in the bar before our walk to the party - a very good pint, well kept Cornish Bitter. A very comfortable bed ensured a good nights sleep and the breakfast was perfectly cooked and very well presented, served in a charming separate breakfast room. We will certainly return to the Kingfisher to explore this area more.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Felltiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2009

Just back from a 1-night stay at the Kingfisher Inn. We stayed overnight during a very pleasant weekend spent hiking along the Thames Walk. On arrival we were warmly greeted and quickly served a much needed cooling drink after our long walk. Our room upstairs was freshly decorated and comfortable. The decor is clean and modern, probably not one for the Laura Ashley fanclub, but we liked it. Also appreciated were the coffee-making facilities and choccies, and the freeview digital TV.

The bathroom was large and spotlessly clean with the added bonus of a large bottle ofd radox - perfect for a soak in the bath after walking. Only slight issue was the lack of a shower attachment, but that's a minor inconvenience only.

We'd already decided to eat-in before we arrived as they're don't appear to be any other restaurants within walking distance. This was a good decision in any case as our dinner was very good indeed, and reasonable value for money. The dining area is basically next to the bar, and the atmosphere is much more of a bistro-type place (candles, soft music etc) than a country pub although you could just come in for a drink at the bar if you wanted to.

We did notice some road noise during the night, with the window open slightly open but were really too tired for this to be a big issue.

Finally, as others have said, the owner goes out of his way to welcome guests and was very helpful and chatty to us. How nice to see a hotel proprieter who really values this sort of personal service. Highly recommeded for a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2008

Stayed here in a twin room with a girlfriend as we were lunching at Le Manoir Aux Quat Saisons. Very welcoming and friendly host Alexis. Comfortable rooms with nice touches that you don't normally get in a B and B. Twinings Earl Grey Tea and Green and Black choccies, and bottled water etc. Nice toiletries in a good sized bathroom with good shower.

Comfortable beds and only slight road noise heard in bedroom. Excellent breakfast in the morning and great service. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bootreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2008

After a seemingly endless diet of chain hotels I decided to try a bed and breakfast this trip. I have no regrets at choosing the Kingfisher.

Admittedly, when I turned up my expectations of a country inn in a quiet riverside hamlet were temporarily shattered by the main road location and the slightly worn roadside exterior but once inside and welcomed by the extremely pleasant and friendly young couple who run the Kingfisher I felt immediately at home and the main road was not a problem in any way throughout my stay.

OK, there were a few times I had to keep reminding myself it was a B&B, especially when I saw the bathroom which was a little underlit and small, but in general the room exceeded my expectations with nice unexpected touches such as tea-making facilities, bottled water and a very good shower.

My attic room was modern but a little spartan (reminder: it's a B&B, Martin) but like the whole of the hotel, spotlessly clean with all furnishings in good condition and the bed gave me one of the best night's sleep I have had for a long time. Zero noise from the road.

I can't share in the superlatives some people have given the food but it was a nicely balanced menu giving a good choice of hearty meals as opposed to bar snacks and everything was well-cooked, of good quality and portions were excellent as was the price. However, local friends tell me the lamb dish will blow my taste buds so next trip for sure. The breakfast was substantial and of excellent quality.

With breakfast and free internet access included in the price, the whole package was excellent value. I will definitely stay here on future trips to the area and have no hesitation in recommending this friendly, well-run inn to others whether on business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TravelWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shillingford
0.5 mi away
Shillingford Bridge Hotel
Shillingford Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shillingford
675 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Coachmakers Arms
The Coachmakers Arms
#4 of 13 in Wallingford
69 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Partridge Inn Wine Bar & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#2 of 2 in Benson
92 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Kingfisher Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kingfisher Inn

Address: 27 Henley Road | Shillingford, Wallingford, Shillingford, Wallingford OX10 7EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Wallingford > Shillingford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Shillingford
Price Range: £69 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a privately owned and operated small hotel in Shillingford, near Wallingford. The village is by The River Thames in rural county of Oxfordshire. We look forward to hearing from you. Alexis & Mayumi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Kingfisher Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kingfisher Inn Shillingford, Wallingford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing