We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little B and B”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Kingfisher Inn

The Kingfisher Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Kingfisher Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Shillingford B&B and Inns
Buckinghamshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great little B and B”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2008

Stayed here in a twin room with a girlfriend as we were lunching at Le Manoir Aux Quat Saisons. Very welcoming and friendly host Alexis. Comfortable rooms with nice touches that you don't normally get in a B and B. Twinings Earl Grey Tea and Green and Black choccies, and bottled water etc. Nice toiletries in a good sized bathroom with good shower.

Comfortable beds and only slight road noise heard in bedroom. Excellent breakfast in the morning and great service. Would recommend.

  • Liked — Comfortable accommodation and friendly owner
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bootreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    13
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
14
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South West France
Level Contributor
63 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2008

After a seemingly endless diet of chain hotels I decided to try a bed and breakfast this trip. I have no regrets at choosing the Kingfisher.

Admittedly, when I turned up my expectations of a country inn in a quiet riverside hamlet were temporarily shattered by the main road location and the slightly worn roadside exterior but once inside and welcomed by the extremely pleasant and friendly young couple who run the Kingfisher I felt immediately at home and the main road was not a problem in any way throughout my stay.

OK, there were a few times I had to keep reminding myself it was a B&B, especially when I saw the bathroom which was a little underlit and small, but in general the room exceeded my expectations with nice unexpected touches such as tea-making facilities, bottled water and a very good shower.

My attic room was modern but a little spartan (reminder: it's a B&B, Martin) but like the whole of the hotel, spotlessly clean with all furnishings in good condition and the bed gave me one of the best night's sleep I have had for a long time. Zero noise from the road.

I can't share in the superlatives some people have given the food but it was a nicely balanced menu giving a good choice of hearty meals as opposed to bar snacks and everything was well-cooked, of good quality and portions were excellent as was the price. However, local friends tell me the lamb dish will blow my taste buds so next trip for sure. The breakfast was substantial and of excellent quality.

With breakfast and free internet access included in the price, the whole package was excellent value. I will definitely stay here on future trips to the area and have no hesitation in recommending this friendly, well-run inn to others whether on business or pleasure.

  • Liked — Clean and comfortable
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything to not like
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2008

Stayed here on the recommendation of friends and it definately lived up to expectations. The room was very clean with a nice bathroom and the landlord was very friendy. However, the main reason we went was the food which was delicious, I had slow roasted lamb followed by a sticky toffee pudding- the best I have ever tasted!

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank ManchesterQuelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2008

A friendly, comfortable place 100 yards or so from the River Thames. Good central location but off the beaten path. Consider this for a base for day trips to sites in and around Oxford. Run by a husband-wife team. Very inviting pub, great food (_not_ pub grub). Made to order hot breakfast. Stayed only one night, would have stayed more but the schedule wouldn't allow it. A member of the Distinctive Country Inns organization. I stayed at three member Inns during the week I was touring and was impressed with them all.

  • Liked — The pub
  • Disliked — Nothing comes to mind
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bentleyj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2006

I have stayed here several times now. I have always found it excellent. The rooms are clean and roomy, the food is great, and it is a nice relaxing place to stay.

Road noise can be a problem if you're on the top floor which doesn't have double glazing.

  • Stayed April 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2006

We stayed at the Kingfisher Inn for one night while attending a birthday celebration in Wallingford. The inn has modern, spacious rooms that are also very clean. The absense of pictures on the walls gave the room a slightly spartan atmoshphere though in other respects the room more than met our expectations. The shower was of a high standard (Mira)and didn't require endless tinkering to keep it at the right termperature.
In addition, the breakfast was ample and presented with some finesse. The Kingfisher has a pleasantly furnished bar with some good quality beers. We found the proprietor to be welcoming and helpful, offering some useful tips about places to visit before we left the area.
We would certainly consider staying at the Kingfisher Inn again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiningDemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castleford, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2006

I stayed here as a lone business traveller and found the Kingfisher Inn to be a very friendly atmoshphere with lovely rooms. I was made to feel very welcome by the owners and really enjoyed my stay here. The food in the restraunt was all freshly home made and was fantastic as was the breakfast in the morning. Will definately be staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tigers01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shillingford
0.5 mi away
Shillingford Bridge Hotel
Shillingford Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shillingford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
2.2 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wallingford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
1.4 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorchester-on-Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Coachmakers Arms
The Coachmakers Arms
#2 of 13 in Wallingford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#2 of 2 in Benson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
2.9 mi away
Little Gables Bed and Breakfast
Little Gables Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Crowmarsh Gifford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kingfisher Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kingfisher Inn

Property: The Kingfisher Inn
Address: 27 Henley Road | Shillingford, Wallingford, Shillingford, Wallingford OX10 7EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Wallingford > Shillingford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Shillingford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a privately owned and operated small hotel in Shillingford, near Wallingford. The village is by The River Thames in rural county of Oxfordshire. We look forward to hearing from you. Alexis & Mayumi ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Kingfisher Inn Shillingford, Wallingford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing