We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very comfortable and pleasant stay, with sumptuous food.”
Review of The Kingfisher Inn

The Kingfisher Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Kingfisher Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Shillingford B&B and Inns
Oakville, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very comfortable and pleasant stay, with sumptuous food.”
Reviewed 20 September 2010

We only stayed one night here, on our way to Heathrow, after holidaying in U.K.
Although unpretentious on the outside, it is very warm and welcoming inside, with pleasant, attentive host. The evening meal was an unexpected pleasure which left us wishing we could stay longer to sample more of the interesting and varied menu. Even our breakfast choice of a simple poached egg on toast was a delight.
Our room, the only twin room in the small 6 bedroomed inn, was a little on the small side (with the sloping ceiling, my husband had a few fights with the low beam!) However, it was very clean and the beds extremely comfortable.
The Inn is situated right on the road so, if your room is on that side, you may be disturbed by traffic, although, with the comfortable beds, we slept like the proverbial logs.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank warcop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    15
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
15
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Epping, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2010

We were given the details of this hotel in a list by a friend whose Birthday party nearby we were invited to. Shunning larger hotels, we chose the Kingfisher and were not disappointed. From the initial telephone call to enquire availability, it was obvious that this concern was being run by people who are passionate about customer care and this initial impresion was reinforced when we arrived. The room was spotlessly clean and everything that you could require was provided. A minor niggle (save that this review be too fullsome in praise) was that the lead on the provided hairdryer was not long enough when plugged in, to see yourself in the mirror. A quick drink in the bar before our walk to the party - a very good pint, well kept Cornish Bitter. A very comfortable bed ensured a good nights sleep and the breakfast was perfectly cooked and very well presented, served in a charming separate breakfast room. We will certainly return to the Kingfisher to explore this area more.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Felltiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
342 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 547 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2009

Just back from a 1-night stay at the Kingfisher Inn. We stayed overnight during a very pleasant weekend spent hiking along the Thames Walk. On arrival we were warmly greeted and quickly served a much needed cooling drink after our long walk. Our room upstairs was freshly decorated and comfortable. The decor is clean and modern, probably not one for the Laura Ashley fanclub, but we liked it. Also appreciated were the coffee-making facilities and choccies, and the freeview digital TV.

The bathroom was large and spotlessly clean with the added bonus of a large bottle ofd radox - perfect for a soak in the bath after walking. Only slight issue was the lack of a shower attachment, but that's a minor inconvenience only.

We'd already decided to eat-in before we arrived as they're don't appear to be any other restaurants within walking distance. This was a good decision in any case as our dinner was very good indeed, and reasonable value for money. The dining area is basically next to the bar, and the atmosphere is much more of a bistro-type place (candles, soft music etc) than a country pub although you could just come in for a drink at the bar if you wanted to.

We did notice some road noise during the night, with the window open slightly open but were really too tired for this to be a big issue.

Finally, as others have said, the owner goes out of his way to welcome guests and was very helpful and chatty to us. How nice to see a hotel proprieter who really values this sort of personal service. Highly recommeded for a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2008

Stayed here in a twin room with a girlfriend as we were lunching at Le Manoir Aux Quat Saisons. Very welcoming and friendly host Alexis. Comfortable rooms with nice touches that you don't normally get in a B and B. Twinings Earl Grey Tea and Green and Black choccies, and bottled water etc. Nice toiletries in a good sized bathroom with good shower.

Comfortable beds and only slight road noise heard in bedroom. Excellent breakfast in the morning and great service. Would recommend.

  • Liked — Comfortable accommodation and friendly owner
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bootreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West France
Level Contributor
63 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2008

After a seemingly endless diet of chain hotels I decided to try a bed and breakfast this trip. I have no regrets at choosing the Kingfisher.

Admittedly, when I turned up my expectations of a country inn in a quiet riverside hamlet were temporarily shattered by the main road location and the slightly worn roadside exterior but once inside and welcomed by the extremely pleasant and friendly young couple who run the Kingfisher I felt immediately at home and the main road was not a problem in any way throughout my stay.

OK, there were a few times I had to keep reminding myself it was a B&B, especially when I saw the bathroom which was a little underlit and small, but in general the room exceeded my expectations with nice unexpected touches such as tea-making facilities, bottled water and a very good shower.

My attic room was modern but a little spartan (reminder: it's a B&B, Martin) but like the whole of the hotel, spotlessly clean with all furnishings in good condition and the bed gave me one of the best night's sleep I have had for a long time. Zero noise from the road.

I can't share in the superlatives some people have given the food but it was a nicely balanced menu giving a good choice of hearty meals as opposed to bar snacks and everything was well-cooked, of good quality and portions were excellent as was the price. However, local friends tell me the lamb dish will blow my taste buds so next trip for sure. The breakfast was substantial and of excellent quality.

With breakfast and free internet access included in the price, the whole package was excellent value. I will definitely stay here on future trips to the area and have no hesitation in recommending this friendly, well-run inn to others whether on business or pleasure.

  • Liked — Clean and comfortable
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything to not like
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2008

Stayed here on the recommendation of friends and it definately lived up to expectations. The room was very clean with a nice bathroom and the landlord was very friendy. However, the main reason we went was the food which was delicious, I had slow roasted lamb followed by a sticky toffee pudding- the best I have ever tasted!

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank ManchesterQuelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2008

A friendly, comfortable place 100 yards or so from the River Thames. Good central location but off the beaten path. Consider this for a base for day trips to sites in and around Oxford. Run by a husband-wife team. Very inviting pub, great food (_not_ pub grub). Made to order hot breakfast. Stayed only one night, would have stayed more but the schedule wouldn't allow it. A member of the Distinctive Country Inns organization. I stayed at three member Inns during the week I was touring and was impressed with them all.

  • Liked — The pub
  • Disliked — Nothing comes to mind
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bentleyj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shillingford
0.5 mi away
Shillingford Bridge Hotel
Shillingford Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shillingford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
2.2 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wallingford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
1.4 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorchester-on-Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Coachmakers Arms
The Coachmakers Arms
#2 of 13 in Wallingford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#2 of 2 in Benson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
2.9 mi away
Little Gables Bed and Breakfast
Little Gables Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Crowmarsh Gifford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kingfisher Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kingfisher Inn

Property: The Kingfisher Inn
Address: 27 Henley Road | Shillingford, Wallingford, Shillingford, Wallingford OX10 7EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Wallingford > Shillingford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Shillingford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a privately owned and operated small hotel in Shillingford, near Wallingford. The village is by The River Thames in rural county of Oxfordshire. We look forward to hearing from you. Alexis & Mayumi ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Kingfisher Inn Shillingford, Wallingford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing