We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Bougainvillea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I was traveling with my son's soccer team and the service here is exceptional as well as the accommodations, concierge (Rebecca) and food! The hotel rooms are very spacious with wifi and they are surrounded by acres and acres of exquisite gardens, plus two tennis courts, a beautiful pool and a very up to date fitness room. They even brought in an extra bed for our boys so that there were 3 beds in one room, a nice option if you are traveling with your family and are trying to fit into one room! Check in with Rebecca and she will set you up with daily excursions, to the Poas Volcano, La Paz waterall, the coffee tour (very interesting), or with a driver who will bring you around and wait for you all for a very affordable price. The morning buffet that is included has lovely fruit, yogurt and always a warm dish. Try the coffee sponge, it's like American lattes but better. I look forward to returning!

Room Tip: The garden rooms are a little quieter and have beautiful views over the garden, I think they are may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovemyjava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,014)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

568 - 574 of 1,014 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2013

My experience at the Hotel Bougainvillea was outstanding! The hotel is absolutely gorgeous and an unreal deal for the rate. The restaurant has healthy, fresh, delicious meals. The service is impeccable at the desk and in the restaurant- Anthony is a great waiter. The room was exceptionally clean (very important to me because I am a neat freak). The garden was the most relaxing beautiful place to get my work done (wifi using laptop at a little table among the trees) and to take romantic walks. The gym and pool were nice too. I didn't swim but used the gym and was more than satisfied. I would definitely return and highly recommend this trip for family and friends. I used to travel extensively in the US for work and we almost always stayed at high-end hotels. This hotel was on par for sure but for a fraction of the price and with a phenomenal garden! Also, I was traveling with my partner and we were treated with respect and kindness.

Room Tip: I loved the garden view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tamarabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

The Hotel Bougainvillea was a beautiful stop after flying into San Jose and driving to Santa Domingo. The Gardens are wonderful and you would never know that you in a city of over 250,000. The rooms were large with Balconies over looking the grounds. There is a large pool, workout center and tennis courts, if the weather allows, in the middle of the Gardens. The Restaurant was pleasant and the breakfast buffet was bountiful. Fresh squeezed Watermelon and Pine Apple juice made our breakfast complete. There was a youth soccer tournament in town and a few teams were staying at the hotel. Got a little rowdy but boys will be boys. Coaches stayed on them and did not hear them once we sent to sleep. Hotel staff was amazing and most spoke perfect English. Who needs A/C when you can leave doors open and get breeze from garden and ceiling fan. No where in Costa Rica did we have A/C and really never needed it and we were there in June.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room on second or third floor with a Garden View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MIKE R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

If you want a hotel with beautiful gardens, this is a great one for you. Otherwise the rooms are old, the a/c 20 yrs old, carpets in my room had holes and overall was not very clean. The service is poor, the food lousy, and on top of that pricey. The pool was nice because I was the only one there, but I can't imagine a weekend there with more than 3 others. I'm amazed to see the reviews, because even when people point out all the bad things, they still say they liked it. I guess if I would have camped out in the gardens, then the gardens would have said it made u for all the other bad things, but this is a hotel, not a park! Costa Rica has MANY good hotels for the same price.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dcleer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBougainvillea45, Director General at Hotel Bougainvillea, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

We are quite surprised to read your review and would like to know more about your visit with us. Our restaurant is well known for excellent food, professional service, and reasonable prices – and is enjoyed not only by our hotel guests but also hundreds of our neighbors from Heredia such as yourself. Our maintenance and cleaning staff are outstanding, and – on the rare occasions that problems are brought to our attention – address whatever concerns arise rapidly and effectively. Many of our employees have worked with us for 20 or 30 years, having demonstrated a solid commitment to giving every Bougainvillea hotel and restaurant guest an outstanding experience. They are proud of the hotel’s reputation, and we are immensely proud of them.
If you are amenable, could you please share with us more information about your visit? We have no record of any complaints similar to yours. We have no air conditioners (old or new), and we are unaware of carpets with holes in them. Living as close to us as you do, your overnight stay here may have been for a special event – and we would like to find out why it was not as special as it should have been. If you would like, please let us know via private e mail your room number and the date of your stay so we can look into the issues you raise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We were on a large family (14) vacation, and this was our first stop in Costa Rica.
I loved walking the garden areas with my wife and taking pictures and observing the variety of foliage. The room was wonderful, and the patio balcony that looked out over the garden made for a great early morning view. Coming from Texas, I'm not used to no A/C...but the ceiling fan and cool air coming through the patio door was perfect.
The gift store is very nice with some unique treasures (and I'm not normally a fan of hotel gift stores).
Breakfast was memorable. I will say it was the best pineapple juice I've ever had, and the watermelon juice was also wonderful.
The teens enjoyed the pool and the workout facility.
Just a lovely and friendly place!

Room Tip: Don't know what the "other side" looks like, but the garden view rooms are incredible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Todd R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

My first impression of Costa Rica was this beautiful hotel! The garden area is absolutely stunning. The rooms were roomy. The lack of air conditioning was not even an issue in the summer time because the cool breeze coming through the window and the ceiling fans adequately cooled the rooms to a comfortable level.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HuttoKaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We stayed at the hotel on the recommendation of our tour guide, but it was the least favorite hotel for the whole trip. The Hotel grounds are quite nice with 10 acres of gardens to walk through, but that wasn't enough to offset a lousy restaurant. The prices were high even for hotel standards and the food quality poor. Several of the items on the menu were out for the night, even though it wasn't late. The server didn't know the menu, but had a bit of attitude. The food quality was poor. Breakfast the next morning wasn't any better. Unfortunately the hotel is in a residential area, so not a lot of other choices. The 'mountain view' room had a nice tree outside the third floor balcony, but no view otherwise. The road noise was quite loud all night long. Compared to the other places we stayed it didn't have the personal service, just a generic hotel.

Room Tip: mountain view rooms save $10 or so, but you'll hear traffic all night long
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chevalier1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBougainvillea45, Director General at Hotel Bougainvillea, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

Thank you for choosing Bougainvillea for your recent stay. We certainly try to provide the best service to all our guests and we are sorry to hear we were not able to deliver this during your stay. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced, we would have been glad to hear from you while you were staying in the hotel so we could make amends at that time.

We greatly appreciate your feedback and are actively working on the different issues you named.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santo Domingo de Heredia
6.6 mi away
Hotel Chalet Tirol
Hotel Chalet Tirol
#2 of 7 in Heredia
247 reviews
16.5 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,306 reviews
5.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Caria...
#2 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,826 reviews
10.6 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
890 reviews
6.8 mi away
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bougainvillea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bougainvillea

Address: Santo Domingo de Heredia 40301, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Santo Domingo de Heredia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santo Domingo de Heredia
Price Range: £106 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Bougainvillea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 20 min from the airport / A hotel inside a garden. 10 acres of the most beautiful gardens in Costa Rica. Experience Costa Rica: Come stroll in our beautiful tropical gardens; enjoy the fragrance of Costa Rica's refreshing air. Relax in our cozy rooms and facilities where our friendly staff will be happy to assist you! Enjoy our country, stay at Bougainvillea: A hotel inside a garden. Restaurant, bar/lounge. Indulge your appetite at our restaurant and bar, which offers a delicious fusion of international and local cuisine. The tasteful decoration of our restaurant compliments our personalized service. Enjoy a view of our gardens which sets the perfect backdrop for an enjoyable breakfast, lunch, dinner, or afternoon tea. Other amenities include complimentary wireless internet access and free parking. Balconies: Take a moment to notice all the beautiful details that the nature offers to you in our balconies with a mountain or garden view. Green mountains, colored tropical flowers and energetic hummingbirds will welcome you to Costa Rica! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Bougainvillea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bougainvillea Hotel
Hotel Bougainvillea Costa Rica/Province Of Heredia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing