We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise in the City”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Bougainvillea
Certificate of Excellence
Incline Village, Nevada
Level Contributor
366 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Paradise in the City”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

The hotel is in the middle of the city, in fact a residential area just off the business district. It is guarded. The outside is clean. Parking is fair but adequate.
As you enter the hotel you see a well landscaped and clean entry. At the desk you are greeted as if you are family returning home. The area is not large and spacious but very well designed and useful.
The rooms are spacious and very clean. We prefer those facing the garden. The garden is beyond spectacular and well manicured. Great to walk and just ponder. The pool is crisp and delightful. It also has a sauna. The restaurant is well staffed with consistent and well prepared dishes for a ll meals.
The hotel is situated where you could do numerous day tours from. We usually start and end our stay here. Wheter alone, a a couple oyr a family it is a enjoyable stay. The only negative is there are local dogs that at times bark. Though, in short it is a great value you will enjoy.

Room Tip: We prefer rooms facing the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    725
    216
    28
    7
    0
See reviews for
214
317
40
163
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Verona, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This property requires driving through very busy traffic area to find it but worth the hassle. The hotel is beautifully maintained. Beds comfortable and food excellent. The grounds are spectacular with beautifully maintained gardens. Very peaceful and relaxing. Staff were very professional and friendly. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Garden views worth the extra money. Front facing rooms have more traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

This hotel is immaculate inside and out. Each room has it's own patio, which is spotless. No dust or scratched furniture, Everything works just as if it were new. Spacious rooms with comfy beds and nice linens. There were original paintings/artwork all over the hotel and even in the rooms. They were framed nicely and all of them were so beautiful and interesting There are 10 acres of the most beautiful gardens filled with manicured lawns, water features, trees with lots of blooming orchids, and tropical flowers everywhere. These attract a variety of birds and butterflies. Beautiful pool with gym and sauna.So peaceful and relaxing. The dining room looks out on it's own garden with bird feeders and orchid tree. The food was wonderful and service great. All of the staff in the hotel were very attentive. This is a very good place to change US dollars to colones. They allow 200 US dollars a day per person to be exchanged at a very good rate. We had an early departure and so they provided us with a sack breakfast, which included a sandwich, apple, water and granola bar. Early morning coffee provided.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the gardens. Beautiful view and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColoradoOrchidgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I have spent significant time at this hotel and highly recommend it. The staff and owners are very special. They will make your trip a memory of a lifetime. The gardens of this hotel will put you into the most tranquil state of being.The pictures tell the stories. Beautiful swimming pool,tennis and workout room.
The hotel is located within the majestic mountains,which makes for a gorgeous sunrise and the best way to strait your day.
Very safe area for families while offering a variety of activities that will meet everyone's needs.
This is a family owned hotel that make sure you feel the warmth of the culture,which is so unique to Costa Rica.

Room Tip: The garden rooms are on back side and the sunrise is on the front side view of the mountains. It is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolwaldenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redbourn
Level Contributor
166 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Hotel was a sea of tranquility after a rather heart stopping drive through San Jose. Garden is a tropical park coupled with a wide variety of birds and was a great introduction to our Costa Rican birding holiday. Has swimming pool and great leisure centre. Food is fine and was normally buffet style. Rooms are large with most having balconies . Friendly staff with early morning coffee readily available. Suggest one ignores the hotel information sheet and it's security advice as it will scare one unnecessarily.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Redbournite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Excellent hotel on the outskirts of San Jose. We stayed for two nights at the start of our 3 week tour of Costa Rica. A taxi into San Jose costa around US$8 but, unless you are desperate to see it, spend your time in the hotel's extensive gardens which are so relaxing (especially after a long flight). There is also a very good pool for relaxing.

We only had one breakfast, as we left very early on the second morning. It was ok, but did not have the wide range we expected. The only eggs on this occasion were rather lukewarm poached eggs. Choice of bread was limited (but this was a theme throughout our stay in Costa Rica). We had dinner in the restaurant which was good, and prices were around the same as in the UK.

Possibly the only downside is the hotel's remoteness from other eating establishments, being in a largely residential part of the city.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden view room. As well as offering a nice view, these are at the rear of the hotel, aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dave-sabine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

With 8 acres to explore and near the airport, this hotel is a lovely place to overcome travel fatigue before exploring the rest of the country. It is a family-owned hotel and every corner seems to have colorful art, rock crystals, cultural artifacts. The stained-glass windows and lampshades add even more colour. After leaving a grey winter to stop here, it was a feast for the eyes. Service is very good and the food is very good although some dishes are better than others - we loved the 'typical dinner' of fish and rice and beans, but found the club house sandwich to be average. . Servings are large enough to split if you want to stretch your budget.

Room Tip: A room at the back is probably quieter although the hotel is next to a school and you will be up by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santo Domingo de Heredia
16.5 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 9 in Heredia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
10.6 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Chalet Tirol
Hotel Chalet Tirol
#2 of 9 in Heredia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#3 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,371 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
6.7 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bougainvillea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bougainvillea

Property: Hotel Bougainvillea
Address: Oeste de la Escuela Publica de Santo Tomas 100 m, Santo Domingo de Heredia 40301, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Santo Domingo de Heredia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santo Domingo de Heredia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Bougainvillea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 20 min from the airport / A hotel inside a garden. 10 acres of the most beautiful gardens in Costa Rica. Experience Costa Rica: Come stroll in our beautiful tropical gardens; enjoy the fragrance of Costa Rica's refreshing air. Relax in our cozy rooms and facilities where our friendly staff will be happy to assist you! Enjoy our country, stay at Bougainvillea: A hotel inside a garden. Restaurant, bar/lounge. Indulge your appetite at our restaurant and bar, which offers a delicious fusion of international and local cuisine. The tasteful decoration of our restaurant compliments our personalized service. Enjoy a view of our gardens which sets the perfect backdrop for an enjoyable breakfast, lunch, dinner, or afternoon tea. Other amenities include complimentary wireless internet access and free parking. Balconies: Take a moment to notice all the beautiful details that the nature offers to you in our balconies with a mountain or garden view. Green mountains, colored tropical flowers and energetic hummingbirds will welcome you to Costa Rica! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bougainvillea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bougainvillea Hotel
Hotel Bougainvillea Costa Rica/Province Of Heredia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing