We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Bird Watching in their beautiful gardnes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Bougainvillea
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Bird Watching in their beautiful gardnes”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Our family of four stayed here for our first night in Costa Rica. It was a very relaxing place after a busy travel day. We loved the gardens. The next morning my husband and I got up at 5:30 am after a tip from another traveler regarding the bird activity in the early morning. It was amazing the number of birds we saw. If you enjoy bird watching, this hotel is for you!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mexicomomoftwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    727
    217
    28
    7
    0
See reviews for
214
319
40
163
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Smith's Parish, Bermuda
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Like many other reviewers I can't say enough about how beautifully landscaped the gardens are here. My family of three stayed here the first night of our vacation and it was a great starting point, serene and beautiful after a half day of travel to get there. We spent our first few hours just walking around the lush gardens photographing the wide variety of plants, flowers and ponds. The swimming pool looked inviting too although we didn't partake.
The room itself was on the second floor with a balcony and lovely garden view and quite spacious, but I'm sure the beds are double size not queen (which when you are used to sleeping in a king bed can make quite a difference!). Luckily our young daughter was comfortable enough to sleep on the couch and my husband and I had a bed to ourselves. The room had a mini fridge and quite a large bathroom and sink/vanity area and closet. I was surprised that there was no air conditioning but as it turns out there was no need as the temps at night were in the 70's and the slatted windows allowed for a nice breeze.
The only complaint we had is that the shower temperature would alter from hot to cold to hot on its own. The food wad pretty good, as it turns out my husband had one of his best dinners in our 8 day Costa Rica trip here (he had the fish), the rest of our meals at other hotels just average or below.
So all in all a great place to stay only a half hour from the airport.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buccij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my 3 kids and we all just loved the hotel. The rooms were always kept very clean as was the rest of the hotel building and the grounds. We all enjoyed walking in the amazing gardens and the food at the restaurant was great. The staff was very friendly to both me and my kids. Getting to and from the hotel was a bit confusing, but other than that I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurag1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Quite a big hotel and not a lot of atmosphere but the Reception staff were helpful. Beautiful extensive manicured gardens with a lot of birds and butterflies. Good swimming pool but no drinks bar. You can order drinks by telephone but it took over 30 mins just to deliver 2 soft drinks!
Big comfortable room with a good view onto the gardens. OK for a one night stop and close to the airport.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mike707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urbana, Illinois
Level Contributor
71 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

At the beginning and end of our tour of Costa Rica with Odyssey Tours we stayed at Hotel Bougainvillea. Transportation was provided to and from the airport and hotel, which is about a half hour drive. The rooms were quite comfortable and the customer service was excellent. The food for our breakfasts and one dinner was fresh and nicely presented. Our favorite part of our stay was wandering through the amazing tropical garden and grounds behind the hotel. What a beautiful introduction to the breathtaking beauty of Costa Rican plants and flowers.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allendale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

About a half hour ride from the San Jose airport, this was a great place to relax after our flight before moving on the next morning.
The room was large, very clean and everything worked well. There was a balcony big enough to sit on, overlooking the lovely garden. We got a good night's sleep, very quiet.
We spent a pleasant afternoon wandering the spacious garden, seeing the flowers and plantings, and quite a number of birds.
We had lunch, dinner and breakfast, all of which were tasty (especially the ceviche appetizer). The lunch and dnner were reasonably priced.

Room Tip: get a room up and in back so you look over the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraMike68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Great rooms, comfortable beds, the very best sheets, good food, but the showers are the worst I have experienced; oscillating back and forth between hot & cold continuously (two rooms, 3 days, all the same)

Room Tip: If you have a choice pick a room on the garden side away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santo Domingo de Heredia
16.5 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,252 reviews
10.6 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
833 reviews
5.2 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 76 in San Jose
2,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
6.6 mi away
Hotel Chalet Tirol
Hotel Chalet Tirol
#2 of 7 in Heredia
237 reviews
6.8 mi away
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bougainvillea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bougainvillea

Property: Hotel Bougainvillea
Address: Oeste de la Escuela Publica de Santo Tomas 100 m, Santo Domingo de Heredia 40301, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Santo Domingo de Heredia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santo Domingo de Heredia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Bougainvillea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 20 min from the airport / A hotel inside a garden. 10 acres of the most beautiful gardens in Costa Rica. Experience Costa Rica: Come stroll in our beautiful tropical gardens; enjoy the fragrance of Costa Rica's refreshing air. Relax in our cozy rooms and facilities where our friendly staff will be happy to assist you! Enjoy our country, stay at Bougainvillea: A hotel inside a garden. Restaurant, bar/lounge. Indulge your appetite at our restaurant and bar, which offers a delicious fusion of international and local cuisine. The tasteful decoration of our restaurant compliments our personalized service. Enjoy a view of our gardens which sets the perfect backdrop for an enjoyable breakfast, lunch, dinner, or afternoon tea. Other amenities include complimentary wireless internet access and free parking. Balconies: Take a moment to notice all the beautiful details that the nature offers to you in our balconies with a mountain or garden view. Green mountains, colored tropical flowers and energetic hummingbirds will welcome you to Costa Rica! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bougainvillea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bougainvillea Hotel
Hotel Bougainvillea Costa Rica/Province Of Heredia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing