We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's an oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Bougainvillea
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“It's an oasis”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

The hotel is not in central San Jose, but it's not far either. What this hotel has going for it is a breathtaking garden. It's immense. You can spend an hour wander through the garden paths, finding things like bird-watching platforms and water gardens.
Our room was well-appointed and comfortable and the hotel breakfast was very good.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank craighdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    721
    214
    26
    6
    0
See reviews for
212
314
39
162
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

I have been to this hotel both times I have travelled to Costa Rica (once for fun and once for work) and both times, I loved it. The pool area is a great way to relax in the hot CR sun and the ground are amazing to walk in and get lost taking photos. The staff is super friendly and the concierge will book all your side trips with a smile. The food is good and has a good mix of local fare and American usuals. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Get one that faces the backside of the hotel for optimal views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

In a suburb of San Jose, but great for stay over night before heading out to rest of CR. Beautiful gardens (very large) even better than many botanical gardens. This is a gorgeous and relaxing place to stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank HowardWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, FL
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed here on the first night of our 8 day birding adventure. The room was wonderful and I had the best sleep of my trip on the comfortable mattress and excellent pillows. We did not spend much time in the room as we spent the afternoon birding the incredible gardens at the hotel and left early in the morning for our next destination.

The hotel is truly beautiful. Art work, sculpture, lush landscaping and amazing birds on the grounds.

We had dinner and breakfast in the hotel restaurant. Excellent. Be sure to sit by the windows so you can watch the birds visiting the feeders and birdbaths.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms on the backside have good views of the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

My wife and daughter and I stayed here the night we arrived in Costa Rica, because it wasn't more than a 20 minute drive from the San Jose airport, and it seemed like a good place to get our bearings. The room was comfortable if not anything special, while the breakfast buffet excellent, and the staff very friendly.

While those attributes alone would have made for a good first night stay, the extensive gardens were a really enjoyable bonus that made our stay memorable. We spent much of the morning walking the grounds and becoming familiar with the native and exotic plants, and, because of the all the greenery, quite a few birds. The gardens were a very easy and comfortable introduction to the great natural beauty that draws so many of us to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John-Patrick7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I loved this place. It really is a beautiful hotel with wonderful staff. The restaurant is especially good and is surprisingly good value for money. At first I thought the prices might be a bit steep, as I had nothing with which to compare it, but having eaten in San Jose in fairly ordinary places, I would recommend eating in the hotel as much as possible as the prices are very competitive. Lovely breakfasts, beautiful gardens, amazing birdsong.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alchemy1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menton, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Lovely hotel, charming staff and probably the nicest garden hotel and pool area I've seen in a long time. Would recommend it. The restaurant and indoor bar were very colonnial, but service was good, prices correct, and quality more than correct

Room Tip: Choose with a garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilGalloway0712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santo Domingo de Heredia
16.5 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 9 in Heredia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
10.6 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Chalet Tirol
Hotel Chalet Tirol
#2 of 9 in Heredia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#4 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,354 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
6.7 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 9 in San Antonio De Belen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bougainvillea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bougainvillea

Property: Hotel Bougainvillea
Address: Oeste de la Escuela Publica de Santo Tomas 100 m, Santo Domingo de Heredia 40301, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Santo Domingo de Heredia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santo Domingo de Heredia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Bougainvillea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 20 min from the airport / A hotel inside a garden. 10 acres of the most beautiful gardens in Costa Rica. Experience Costa Rica: Come stroll in our beautiful tropical gardens; enjoy the fragrance of Costa Rica's refreshing air. Relax in our cozy rooms and facilities where our friendly staff will be happy to assist you! Enjoy our country, stay at Bougainvillea: A hotel inside a garden. Restaurant, bar/lounge. Indulge your appetite at our restaurant and bar, which offers a delicious fusion of international and local cuisine. The tasteful decoration of our restaurant compliments our personalized service. Enjoy a view of our gardens which sets the perfect backdrop for an enjoyable breakfast, lunch, dinner, or afternoon tea. Other amenities include complimentary wireless internet access and free parking. Balconies: Take a moment to notice all the beautiful details that the nature offers to you in our balconies with a mountain or garden view. Green mountains, colored tropical flowers and energetic hummingbirds will welcome you to Costa Rica! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bougainvillea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bougainvillea Hotel
Hotel Bougainvillea Costa Rica/Province Of Heredia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing