We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive & untended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Catalina Hotel & Suites
Mainz, Germany
Level Contributor
127 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Expensive & untended”
Reviewed 10 January 2012

very high prices (169-199$ per night), average quality, not very clean, everything looks a little untended, location very outside, personal very friendly

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jx7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john0123, Manager at La Catalina Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 19 February 2012
The reviewer was not honest and lied. Tthey never stayed with us as alleged.The reviewer made a reservation at our agreed price,showed up to checkin and found out they did not have their passports with them,so they left to get their passports.No money changed hands and the reviewer never saw all the hotel property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    21
    7
    6
    10
See reviews for
6
47
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

Perfect location outside the city, la Catalina is a couples only hotel which was perfect for us! We only stayed one night (our last night in CR) but we are definitely going back to spend more time!
The staff was really nice with us and the food was delicious.
We booked a presidente suite and they gave us an upgrade to the honeymoon suite which was beautiful with amazing views to the central valley!
The property is really big with lots of things to do, they also have a tennis court and a small gym for people to get in shape!
The main house is decorated with all types of wood and make the hotel really romantic, this hotel is perfect for people on their honeymoon, anniversary or just people looking for romance!

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite with the views to the central valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Austincole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 December 2011

The Catalina is a good choice for travelers seeking romance, relaxation and good entertainment at night.
we went for only two nights and we were amazed at how big and luxurious, the main house is decorated in different types of wood with a restaurant and cozy bar.
From our room we could see all the lights in the central valley which made it very romantic our stay.
the receptionists were very friendly from the start.
a good choice was to go to Poas Volcano and La Paz Waterfalls that are just 40 minutes away.
massage were done by a professional masseuse and also gave us the option of making them in the room with beautiful view of the central valley.
in the pool have a very comfortable beds for sunbathing and there is also a waiter that runs every 10 minutes offering you drinks.
I just want to recommend a different hotel, welcoming and full of romance near the airport.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eduardogol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

La Catalina Hotel and Suites Costa Rica is situated in the mountain area, on 6 acres of lush, green, tropical land, with coffee and banana plantations on either side.

There are many outbuildings for your privacy and seclusion, two pools, a hot tub, tennis court, spa and much more. From the veranda of the stately main building you look out over the San Jose Valley with miles of lush green vegetation and breathtaking vista. Inside you will find ornately hand carved pillars, book cases and handrails all done by local artisans of the time. This would be a great setting for weddings, private parties, or corporate retreats. La Catalina Hotel and Suites offers lots of activities too, canopy tours, horse back riding, ATV’s, zip lining, and so much more. The food was great; the party we attended was fun, and the people so warm and friendly. Both management and staff of La Catalina Hotel and Suites deserve acknowledgement and thanks for the courteous, helpful and warm reception we received from them. We can’t wait to go back to Costa Rica; and stay at La Catalina Hotel and Suites.We have already talked to friends about joining us on our next trip. Woo-hoo let the fun begin!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msf001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

http://www.hoteldesirecostarica.com/ These 2 hotels are the same place. I give this place a poor rating for lack of transparency. I didn't know from these reviews or from the external site I used to book the accommodation. "A clothing-optional resort for open minded people" is the sort of thing you need to know before you book.

As others have said, this place is super-secluded. The gardens are nice. The service is reasonable. The accommodations are not luxurious but are clean, though quite expensive for what you get. (although probably quite reasonable for a clothes-off hotel, I wouldn't know). There are no phones or internet in the rooms but you can get internet in the main reception building. Service was friendly and attentive.

Lastly I'd also be wary of the manager's responses to the negative reviews (they seem full of strange details to me). If the manager chooses to respond to this review, that's great, but to my knowledge I didn't speak to the manager during my trip, and he has no idea who I am, so I'm not sure what he can add here.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Travis-Travels2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john0123, Manager at La Catalina Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 8 September 2011
We are sorry if the guest believes that we are responsible for the lack of transparency.This alleged lack of transparency is not because of us.If we could find out how the guest booked their room with us,then we could investigate whom is misleading.But we can not find any record of this guest staying with us in May,2011.
Several years ago we were a family hotel,but changed to an adult only hotel catering to couples only.Halve of the 6 acres of the hotel is clothing and the other halve is for the nudist.Whatever of our web sites in either name the consumer chooses to go to couples only is stated.If couples are offended by nudity then they should not go into the nude area.
Every hotel has the problem of rogue hotel booking sites that refuse to update their booking site information on a hotel or take years to update the information.Sometimes these sites funnel their bookings through other sites like the major booking sites,so unless you have the co-operation of the guest it is almost impossible to find the misleading site to attempt to correct the matter.
We appreciate the compliments by the guest on the gardens,our service and cleaning.
All rooms have phones unless there is some problem with the phone lines to the room.Free high speed wireless Internet is available over about 1/2 of the property.We would sure like to know what room number the guest allegelly stayed in so the issue of the phone could be better addressed.
We do not understand the attack on our prior responces to guests.
We wish that guests that have issues to address bring it to the attention of the management while staying with us,so we can take care of any issues immediately.
Hopefully this alleged guest sends an email to the hotel so we can attempt to correct on the internet whom has the hotel information wrong.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, New Jersey
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2011

Secluded getaway with excellent views close to the airport but totally out of the way. Don't rely on GPS to get you there, follow the signs to Birri and La Catalina or use their shuttle or a taxi but its better if you have your own transportation. They would deserve an excellent review but for a few deficiencies. The hot water was luke warm at best and without much presssure. It took awhile to fill the jacuzzi with chilly water. Rain water leaked into the closet and fire alarm causing a false alarm one night. You do have to find someone to get your breakfast order on weekdays during the low season. However breakfast and dinner are excellent and reasonably priced. There are two pools (one is clothing optional) but you are on a mountain so expect the water to be cold. Walking about and enjoying the views, fauna and wildlife is very relaxing. Attractions such as Poas Volcano and Zoo Ave are near enough for a day trip.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vzeeihht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
151 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2010

My family and I stayed at La Catalina Hotel in the 2-bedroom, 1 bath apartment.
The rooms were clean and the beds in the bedrooms were comfortable. (The pull out couch bed was not that comfortable though.)

ALL of the staff were VERY friendly and helpful.

The grounds are beautiful and well-kept. At night, the sounds of the birds, frogs, chicadas, water fountains were soothing - like being in the middle of a rain forest.

The restaurant is open from 7am-10pm and offers a large selection of items. Gallo Pinto or toast and fruit with juice is offered as the free breakfast meal but there are many other items to choose from (not included in the free breakfast though). There is an extensive lunch/dinner/fast food/dessert menu and the food was all prepared fresh and was delicious!

There is an excercise room and two pools.

There is free Wi-Fi and a telephone in the reception area that can be used to place free calls.

We secured a driver (Geovani was WONDERFUL) to take us around the city/tours. The fee for this service is very reasonable. There is free pick up one-way other to or from the airport. We arranged all of our tours right through the hotel and Geovani would arrive at the designated hour on the dot!

The hotel is located about 30 minutes from the airport and is in a secluded (and safe) area. If you were driving to the location on your own, it may be difficult to find.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birri
0.3 mi away
Hotel Monte Campana
Hotel Monte Campana
#1 of 1 in Birri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
4.4 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Chalet Tirol
Hotel Chalet Tirol
#2 of 9 in Heredia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#4 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.4 mi away
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn
4.2 mi away
Tacacori EcoLodge
Tacacori EcoLodge
#8 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Catalina Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Catalina Hotel & Suites

Property: La Catalina Hotel & Suites
Address: beside Cetal LaCatalina, Birri, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Birri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Birri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Catalina Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Catalina Hotel & Suites is an adult couples only, majestic private, gated resort, located a few miles just outside the City of Heredia which is just outside the Capital City of San Jose, on 6 lush acres inhabited by tropical flowers, trees, ponds and other gracious amenities like tennis court,gym,billiards,jacuzzi and 2 swimming pools.One swimming pool is nude and the other up to topless. Fully furnished hotel rooms, suites and villas are offered - studios, one or two bedrooms, and even romantic private villa enclaves ready for your enjoyment.Some weeks in the year are totally clothing optional.La Catalina has the best food in the area from North American to South American to Asian to Seafood.La Catalina has a great weekly entertainment program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Catalina Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Catalina Hotel Birri
La Catalina Hotel And Suites
Hotel La Catalina
La Catalina Hotel & Suites Costa Rica/Birri, Province Of Heredia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing