We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Catalina Hotel & Suites
Reviewed 31 March 2010

He had a romantic getaway with my boyfriend, we stayed here for 1 night. Since we are locals it was not really hard to get there by bus even being this the first time we were on this town, the only thing was that we had to take a "pirata" in Birri since there are no official taxis and this scared me a bit but it was ok.

We arrived at 3pm and checked in, we payed for the President King Suite and were more than pleased, I mean we had the whole floor for ourselves! Although now you think about it, this hotel is more like a big mansion than a hotel per se.

Anyways, we went down to have dinner and there was no one in the kitchen or so, we waited for about 10 mins before we actually had to go over the kitchen and ask for service, but the food was really tasty, it was a large amount and it was really cheap so we can't complain.

After that we went to sleep, the only thing that really bothered me, since we did not have A/C the mosquitoes were killing me! And it was quite hot but not enough to sleep without sheets (beside the mosquito fact).

The next morning we had a traditional breakfast which included "gallo pinto", eggs (fried or scrambled), coffee and tortillas. It was ok, the "pinto" could be best and adding sour cream would be a nice plus.

They kindly called a "taxi" for us who drove us to Santa Barbara and then we returned to the city. In general this trip was really good, we enjoyed it a lot, would love to stay anytime soon. I would recommend it if you are not looking for a typical hotel with cold rooms, this is definitely unique and really cozy.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 35 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2010

I usually don,t write reviews.But after reading chapdelaine 4,I have to wonder if he was at the same place as me.I found LaCatalina to have great rooms,excellent food,nice staff,breathtaking views and the most incredible woodwork I,ve ever seen.I was told it was built as a custom mansion that had been turned into a hotel with 2 pools,tennis courts,hot tub,flower gardens,fruit trees,lots of different birds and butterflies.6 acres of manicured paradise.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowman4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2010

Two nights ago, we took the long, difficult drive to find this isolated hotel. After reading the reviews, I was absolutely flabbergasted to find this broken down, nearly deserted hotel at the end of the long difficult journey.

The hotel was in such a state of disrepair, it looked like it was nearly abandoned. We were sent to a "room" with a key that didn't work. The area that we could get into had only a disgusting bed with no sheets or blankets on it. There were also someone else's things in it.

There was some sort of partial construction going on, but everywhere, there were things broken down, or construction debris. It looks like the hotel had been nice at one time, but it has been left totally unattended, only as a sham for people to pay up front for and then lose their money when they realize they can't stay there.

The overall effect was of the weirdest, creepiest place we have ever been. Given the fact that someone else's things were in our supposed "room," we just did not feel safe to stay here with out two young children. We ended up leaving and were not refunded any of our $115.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chapdelaine4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john0123, Manager at La Catalina Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2010

We are an adult only hotel for those 18 years or older.When this guest booked his accommodations for 1 night,he did it all through an outside web site including his 1 night payment.This guest stated he was the only one staying and made no mention of his wife and kids.The guest is correct that the first key given to him was the wrong key.The receptionist returned with the correct key to the room with the guest and let the guest in.There was no other person's things in the room and the beds were all made up with proper sheets and blankets on it.This is contrary to the guests allegations.When the guest said he was uphappy with the room we offered the guest another room but he did not want to look at any other room.The guest spent about 20 minutes at the hotel and did not want to see the bar,restaurant,Mansion,the other swimming pool etc.The hotel was not deserted as alleged.The hotel is a large property and the accommodations are spread out over 6 acres.The hotel is not broken down nor in a state of disrepair as alleged,but we do have workers at the hotel constantly upgrading it.We do not understand the guests reference to at the end of a long difficult journey.The guests did make reference to the receptionist that they were looking for a compact hotel like a Hampton Inn and did not like that our hotel was all spread out.Thats what guests like about our hotel that it is spread out and very romantic.Couples can be themselves.We are sorry that this guest did not take the time to explore the hotel property he may have changed his mind about leaving.Some consumers though only feel safe if they are surrounded by other persons.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2010

LaCatalina Hotel and Suites is a magical place, an intimate boutique hotel set in the lush highlands of the San Jose valley about 20 minutes from the airport. From this vantage point you can see the lights of San Jose, the volcanoes in the mountains and a sliver of the ocean. The hotel itself is set amongst 6 or so acres of varied topography, with an incredible range of flowers, foliage and native birds - seems there are poinsettias everywhere! There are two pools, one being converted to a clothing optional pool and the other with a sit down bar, a fitness center with outdoors table tennis (with an incredible vista view) and a full size tennis court.

The hotel property looks and feels like an estate, and there are three other villas on the property in addition to the Main House, all secluded from each other as if in their own world. The Main House is where the restaurant is located with a fine variety of items on the menu, which seemed to go on and on (but make sure you order before 10 or the kitchen closes without notice!). The lounge and dining area, along with the wicker rocking chairs on the veranda, harken back to the cozy hotels of the turn of the previous century, where conversations are struck with those at the next table and everyone ends upon knowing each other by the end of the night. The setting is conducive to sharing one’s travel experiences and other stories. The cozy atmosphere, with stocked library and rich wood everywhere made me feel comfortable and at home. The suite I stayed in had old world carvings, walkout balcony, immense bathroom with bidet, and a huge king size bed.

This hotel is in a good location for striking out to see and enjoy what Costa Rica has to offer - day trips are available to downtown San Jose, both coasts, the volcanoes, ecoforersts, zip line and white water rafting tours - which worked well for me. The hotel is a welcome sight after going into San Jose to see the sights, with the crowds, traffic and environments of a big city. Staff were courteous and helpful, but you have to be patient with their English. I will definitely return here as a welcome start to future trips to Costa Rica.

Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
Thank RanchTechDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2009

The staff is outstanding: very helpful and friendly. The food is very good. We had a comfortable apt. on the second and third floor with beautiful views of the valley.
(Some units overlook one of the 2 pools, including a lap pool.) The kitchen had a stove/oven, frig, microwave, and coffee maker. Although driving is ot easy in C.R.,
renting a car did give us freedom and economy. La Catalina is 20 minutes from San Jose airport via San Joaquin and Santa Barbara. However, if you choose not to rent a vewhicle, the hotel will provide trours and transportation to/from the airport.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank recollet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2009

Excellent service, comfortable & relaxing Suites.
Playground for the kids, pools,& spa, the food & natural juices were awesome.
I really recommend this place.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2009

After Stay at the copacabana in Jaco, we stay At La Catalina for 3 nights,
This hotel is amazing, the rooms are great an amazing view from SaN JOse Valley.
The Restaurant has Great Food , Good wine, and the massages an treatments are perfect. They have lots of tours, This two hotel are a great combinations.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SolCancun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to La Catalina Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Catalina Hotel & Suites

Address: beside Cetal LaCatalina, Birri, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Birri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Birri
Price Range: £80 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Catalina Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Catalina Hotel & Suites is an adult couples only, majestic private, gated resort, located a few miles just outside the City of Heredia which is just outside the Capital City of San Jose, on 6 lush acres inhabited by tropical flowers, trees, ponds and other gracious amenities like tennis court,gym,billiards,jacuzzi and 2 swimming pools.One swimming pool is nude and the other up to topless. Fully furnished hotel rooms, suites and villas are offered - studios, one or two bedrooms, and even romantic private villa enclaves ready for your enjoyment.Some weeks in the year are totally clothing optional.La Catalina has the best food in the area from North American to South American to Asian to Seafood.La Catalina has a great weekly entertainment program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your La Catalina Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Catalina Hotel And Suites
La Catalina Hotel Birri
Hotel La Catalina
La Catalina Hotel & Suites Costa Rica/Birri, Province Of Heredia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing