We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TJ Ranch
Nearby Hotels
US$118
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$244
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parador Villas Sotomayor(Adjuntas)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$290
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$262
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveller rating
110
13
1
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
13
1
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoqui frogswonderful hostspuerto ricoget away from it allenjoying naturescreened windowscreole saucetropical fruitplace to staylimestone cliffsjuanitacasitacabinforestbirdersbeaches
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 126 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2012

TJ Ranch is simply amazing. Tony and Joan are very welcoming and by the time you leave, tears fill up in your eyes bc you feel like part of the family. We stayed in the yellow casita and immediately fell in love. The coquinas singing to you at night make the best sleep ever!! Our 7 year old daughter was with us and wanted to move in! Joan put Elmo sheets on her bed which was so thoughtful! Tony is the best cook ever!! If you want amazing local food prepared Puerto Rican style, Tony is your man! We stayed in Puerto Rico for 8 days total and hands down - Tony's is the best! We will visit TJ Ranch again hopefully sooner than later. We love this place!
Tonia, Mike & Abby

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We had so much fun here, and the best part was the food! Tony is an amazing chef - he's like the Rain Man of food! The property is beautiful and the drive out there is incredible. I want to go back for more of Tony's incredible cooking! You won't need to go anywhere for dinner while you're staying here because this is the best cooking in Puerto Rico.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We found TJ Ranch online because we were searching for a place to stay near Utuado due to the fact that we had booked an adventure ziplining tour there. We originally found another place to stay but it was all booked up. The lady who owned the B&B recommended that we try to see if TJ Ranch had any openings. We called and thankfully they had a spot for us (we were booking only a few days before leaving for our trip)! Juanita was kind enough to put the room on hold for us for one night while we decided if we were going to book the room.
Once we booked the room, Juanita sent us very easy to follow and detailed directions to the ranch. We drove from Fajardo and the drive was about two hours long and she called us on our way to make sure we were doing okay! The drive was beautiful. Once we finally arrived at the ranch, we were pleasantly surprised that the place was literally in the middle of the jungle. We met Juanita and Tony is the restaurant and we were served a delicious cocunut shot! They let us get settled and then we met the rest of the guests. Besides the location, food, and cute casitas, the other best part about the ranch was interacting with the rest of the guests. Besides us, there were a total of five other guests staying at the ranch. We spent the rest of the night talking and eating a delicious dinner prepared by Tony. They also have a sweet dog named Camilla! Tony and Juanita make sure to interact with each guest and they really do make you feel like family. They are also very accomadating to needs. We were leaving very early in the morning to drive to our tour and instead of missing breakfast, Juanita offered to make us breakfast sandwiches to go so that we would be able to eat on our way.
The casita itself was the perfect size for us and we could even fit more people if we wanted to. The casita was charming, cute, and comfy. It was also very clean.
The only drawback for us was that you are basically forced to eat at the restaurant at the ranch. The food is delicious however for travelers on a budget, the food is expensive. A dinner for two of us, (we shared an entree) costs 80 dollars!
Overall, it was a great stay! Thank you Juanita and Tony!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ariel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joan k, Owner at TJ Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Thank you Ariel for your wonderful review, but I do want to clarify one thing. I thought I had made a mistake with your food bill of $80.
You and Phillip shared a one and half (11/2) pound porterhouse steak: $35
3 glasses of wine 21
mojito 6
flan 3.50
___________
$65.50
tax 4.50
___________
$70.00
tip 10.00
__________
$80.00

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

This small Puerto Rico jungle hideaway is one of the gems of Puerto Rico.
Nestled in the rugged highland jungle of central Puerto Rico, TJ's was a fine spot for my family to slow down, relax, enjoy the pool, the sun, the cottages , the quiet, the nature, and the superb quality food prepared by Tony the master chef.
The food was the best that we had anywhere in Puerto Rico. After a busy vacation, a few days at TJ's was paradise. This is tops
Our list of reccomended Puerto Rico destinations.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed or stay at the TJ Ranch! Situated up in the hilly rainforest area, we had the pleasure of being serenaded by the area's Coqui frogs each evening. Very cool indeed! We also had several occasions to see the little guys up close and personal! Tony's cooking was superb - be sure to try the lamb chops - delicious! Juanita is an excellent host and took great care to be sure everything was fine. Our cabin was very clean and up to date. If you go, be prepared for a journey through the back country and up into the hilltop area. Use the directions Juanita will provide you and follow them carefully to avoid getting lost. GPS does not work here!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Onthego1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews